NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeUSAW

No. 17 Willits shocks No. 1 Carr in Session II at NCAA Championships; Penn State holds lead with Arizona State in second

by Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling

Hunter Willits of Oregon State against David Carr of Iowa State at NCAA Championships. Photo by Larry Slater.

DETROIT, Mich. – After the first session of the 2022 NCAA Div. I. Championships, there were no really big upsets in Little Caesars Arena. Not so the second session, where some athletes made big names for themselves with stunning victories in overtime.

2021 NCAA champion and No. 1 seed David Carr of Iowa State was defeated in overtime by No. 17 Hunter Willits of Oregon State, in tiebreaker 1, 2-1. Carr could not ride Willits, but Willits rode him out for the huge win that fired up the crowd.

Four-time All-American and No. 2 seed Jaydin Eierman of Iowa was defeated by No. 15 Kizhan Clarke of North Carolina, 4-2 in sudden victory at 141 pounds.

However, there still are very few of the highest seeds who have been defeated after day one, as 37 of the 40 wrestlers seeded in the top four have reached the quarterfinals.

Except for Carr, the other seven returning NCAA champions have reached the quarterfinals: Nick Suriano (125, Michigan), Roman Bravo-Young (133, Penn State), Nick Lee (141, Penn State), David Carr (157, Iowa State), Shane Griffith (165, Stanford), Carter Starocci (174, Penn State), Aaron Brooks (184, Penn State) and Gable Steveson (285, Minnesota).

The team race remains very competitive, with No. 1 ranked Penn State maintaining its lead from the morning session with 27.5 points. The top five teams are within 7.5 points of each other. Arizona State is 5.5 points behind Penn State with 22 points. NC State is next with 21.5 points, with Michigan in fourth with 21 points and Iowa in fifth with 20.5 points.

Penn State has six in quarterfinals, all seeded in the top four: No. 1 Roman Bravo-Young (133) , No. 1 Nick Lee (141), No. 1 Carter Starocci (174), No. 2 Aaron Brooks (184) , No. 1 Max Dean (197) and No. 4 Greg Kerkvliet (285). Penn State has scored 13.5 bonus points during day one, which has helped them keep their lead.

Arizona State has five competing in the quarterfinals: No. 4 Brandon Courtney (125), No. 3 Michael McGee (133), No. 5 Kyle Parco (149), No, 3 Jacori Teemer (157) and No. 2 Cohlton Schultz (285) and two in the consolations.

NC State has four in the quarterfinals, but all six of their other wrestlers in the consolations. The Wolfpack athletes in the quarterfinals are No. 2 Tariq Wilson (149), No. 4 Ed Scott (157), No. 4 Hayden Hidlay (174) and No. 3 Trent Hidlay (NC State)

Michigan has the most wrestlers in the quarterfinals with seven: No. 1 Nick Suriano (125) , No. 6 Dylan Ragusin (133), No. 8 Will Lewan (157), No. 6 Cameron Amine (165) , No. 3 Logan Massa (174), No. 1 Myles Amine (184) and No. 7 Mason Parris (285). The Wolverines have two others in the consolations.

Defending champion Iowa also punched six into the quarterfinals: No. 5 Austin DeSanto (133), No. 9 Max Murin (149), No. 3 Alex Marinelli (165) , No. 5 Michael Kemerer (174) , No. 6 Jacob Warner (197) and No. 3 Tony Cassioppi (285).. Like NC State, Iowa still has all 10 wrestlers still alive after day one.

The surprise team of the tournament so far has been Pac-12 runner-up Oregon State, which has put four wrestlers into the quarterfinals: No. 11 Brandon Kaylor (125), No. 8 Grant Willits (141), No. 17 Hunter Willits (157) and No. 6 Trey Munoz (184). The Willits twins, from Pueblo, Colo., are making a great run here at the same time.

The third session begins at 11:00 a.m. ET.


At Detroit, Mich., March 17

Quarterfinal pairings


No. 1 Nick Suriano (Michigan) vs. No. 24 Sam Latona (Virginia Tech)

No. 5 Killian Cardinale (West Virginia) vs. No. 4 Brandon Courtney (Arizona State)

No. 3 Pat Glory (Princeton) vs. No. 11 Brandon Kaylor (Oregon State)

No. 10 Michael DeAugustino (Northwestern) vs. No. 2 Vito Arujau (Cornell)


No. 1 Roman Bravo-Young (Penn State) vs. No. 25 Brian Courtney (Virginia)

No. 5 Austin DeSanto (Iowa) vs. No. 4 Korbin Myers (Virginia Tech)

No. 3 Michael McGee (Arizona State) vs. No. 6 Dylan Ragusin (Michigan)

No. 10 Chris Cannon (Northwestern) vs. No. 2 Daton Fix (Oklahoma State)


No. 1 Nick Lee (Penn State) vs. No. 8 Grant Willits (Oregon State)

No. 12 CJ Composto (Pennsylvania) vs. No. 4 Real Woods (Stanford)

No. 3 Sebastian Rivera (Rutgers) vs. No. 6 Cole Matthews (Pittsburgh)

No. 10 Jakob Bergeland (Minnesota) vs. No. 15 Kizhan Clarke (North Carolina)


No. 1 Yianni Diakomihalis (Cornell) vs. No. 9 Max Murin (Iowa)

No. 5 Kyle Parco (Arizona State) vs. No. 4 Sammy Sasso (Ohio State)

No. 3 Austin Gomez (Wisconsin) vs. No. 11 Bryce Andonian (Virginia Tech)

No. 10 Ridge Lovett (Nebraska) vs. No. 2 Tariq Wilson (NC State)


No. 17 Hunter Willits (Oregon State) vs. No. 8 Will Lewan (Michigan)

No. 5 Quincy Monday (Princeton) vs. No. 4 Ed Scott (NC State)

No, 3 Jacori Teemer (Arizona State) vs. No. 6 Jared Franek (North Dakota State)

No. 7 Josh Humphreys (Lehigh) vs. No. 2 Ryan Deakin (Northwestern)


No. 1 Evan Wick (Cal Poly) vs. No. 9 Peyton Hall (West Virginia)

No. 5 Shane Griffith (Stanford) vs. No. 4 Dean Hamiti (Wisconsin)

No. 3 Alex Marinelli (Iowa) vs. No. 6 Cameron Amine (Michigan)

No. 7 Carson Kharchla (Ohio State) vs. No. 2 Keegan O`Toole (Missouri)


No. 1 Carter Starocci (Penn State) vs. No. 9 Mikey Labriola (Nebraska)

No. 5 Michael Kemerer (Iowa) vs. No. 4 Hayden Hidlay (NC State)

No. 3 Logan Massa (Michigan) vs. No. 6 Dustin Plott (Oklahoma State)

No. 10 Clay Lautt (North Carolina) vs. No. 2 Mekhi Lewis (Virginia Tech)


No. 1 Myles Amine (Michigan) vs. No. 9 Zach Braunagel (Illinois)

No. 5 Bernie Truax (Cal Poly) vs. No. 4 Parker Keckeisen (Northern Iowa)

No. 3 Trent Hidlay (NC State) vs. No. 6 Trey Munoz (Oregon State)

No. 7 Kaleb Romero (Ohio State) vs. No. 2 Aaron Brooks (Penn State)


No. 1 Max Dean (Penn State) vs. No. 8 Lou Deprez (Binghamton)

No. 21 Gavin Hoffman (Ohio State) vs. No. 13 Jake Woodley (Oklahoma)

No. 3 Eric Schultz (Nebraska) vs. No. 6 Jacob Warner (Iowa)

No. 7 Rocky Elam (Missouri) vs. No. 2 Stephen Buchanan (Wyoming)


No. 1 Gable Steveson (Minnesota) vs. No. 9 Lucas Davison (Northwestern)

No. 12 Christian Lance (Nebraska) vs. No. 4 Greg Kerkvliet (Penn State)

No. 3 Tony Cassioppi (Iowa) vs. No. 6 Jordan Wood (Lehigh)

No. 7 Mason Parris (Michigan) vs. No. 2 Cohlton Schultz (Arizona State)

Team Standings after day one

1 Penn State, 27.5

2 Arizona State, 22.0

3 NC State, 21.5

4 Michigan, 21.0

5 Iowa, 20.5

6 Northern Iowa, 15.0

7 (tie) Nebraska, 14.5

7 (tie) Virginia Tech, 14.5

9 (tie) Cornell, 14.0

9 (tie) Oregon State, 14.0