NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeUSAW

Pac-12 announces 2023 Wrestling Championship bracket

by Pac 12 Conference

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 has finalized its championship bracket for the 2023 Pac-12 Wrestling Championships on Sunday, March 5 at Maples Pavilion in Palo Alto, California.

Each of the 10 weight classes features six wrestlers, one from each of the conference’s wrestling programs. The top two seeds in each class will receive byes, while first-round matches will feature the No. 6 seed against the No. 3 seed, and the No. 5 seed against the No. 4 seed.

This year’s field features quality and quantity, as several weight classes will have multiple ranked wrestlers competing for the Pac-12 title. The 125-lb weight class includes Arizona State's No. 8 Brandon Courtney and Oregon State's No. 12 Brandon Kaylor as the 1 and 2 seeds, respectively. Four of the 6 wrestlers in the 133-lb weight class are ranked, with the highest being No. 4 Michael McGee, the 1-seed from Arizona State. Two former NCAA finalists will be wrestling this weekend as well. The No. 3 wrestler in the 165-lb weight class and 2021 NCAA champion Shane Griffith from Stanford looks to win the Pac-12 championship after taking second place in 2022, and Cohlton Schultz, the No. 5 Heavyweight and 2022 NCAA runner-up, looks to make it a three-peat in the Pac-12 championship.

The full bracket can be viewed here.

The No. 1 seeds for each weight class are as follows: Arizona State’s Brandon Courtney (125), Arizona State’s Michael McGee (133), Oregon State’s Cleveland Belton (141), Arizona State’s Kyle Parco (149), Stanford's Daniel Cardenas (157), Oregon State's Matthew Olguin (165), Oregon State's Mateo Olmos (174), Oregon State's Trey Munoz (184), Cal Poly's Bernie Truax (197) and Arizona State’s Cohlton Schultz (HwT).

First session matchups begin at 10:00 am PT from Maples Pavilion, while the second session will begin at 4:45pm PT. Both sessions will be available via Stanford's live stream platforms (Mat 1 and Mat 2) and on Championship finals will be broadcasted on Pac-12 Network and the Pac-12 Now App, with coverage beginning at 6:00 pm PT. For more information, click here.

For those looking to attend, tickets are on sale to the general public at