NewsUSA WrestlingInternationalUSAW

Baumgartner, Burroughs, Zadick honored at first UWW Americas Awards Banquet, held in Acapulco, Mexico

by Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling

UWW Americas Award winners Bruce Baumgartner (with wife Linda), Jordan Burroughs and Bill Zadick are joined by members of the U.S. delegation and other supporters at the banquet in Acapulco, Mexico. Photo courtesy of Joe Russell.

Three American wrestling legends were among the honorees at the 1st Annual UWW America’s Awards Banquet, which was held alongside the Pan American Wrestling Championships in Acapulco, Mexico on Friday night.

Team USA honorees included Bruce Baumgartner (in the leader category), Jordan Burroughs (in the athlete category) and Bill Zadick (in the coach category).

UWW Americas is the Pan American Continental Council within United World Wrestling (UWW). Francisco Lee Lopez of Honduras serves as president of UWW Americas, and has championed the creation of this new awards program.

Baumgartner currently serves as president of USA Wrestling, his second stint in this volunteer post which leads USA Wrestling’s Board of Directors. He conducts USA Wrestling’s monthly Executive Committee meetings and serves on numerous other committees within the organization. He has been active in international wrestling circles within United World Wrestling in recent years.

As an athlete, Baumgartner won two Olympic titles and four Olympic medals, with golds in 1984 and 1992, a silver in 1988 and a bronze in 1996. Baumgarter was the U.S. flagbearer at the Opening Ceremony of the 1996 Atlanta Centennial Games. He won three World titles (1986, 1993, 1995) and nine World Championships medals. He won three Pan American Games titles and four Pan American Championships titles.

Burroughs was a 1992 Olympic champion and has won five Senior World titles (2011, 2013, 2015, 2017, 2021) and three World bronze medals. Burroughs was also a member of the 2016 U.S. Olympic Team. He has won three Pan American Games titles (2011, 2015, 2019) and four Pan American Championships titles. Burroughs will compete in the 2022 Pan American Championships at 79 kg for the United States.

Zadick became USA Wrestling’s Freestyle National Coach in 2017, and led the United States to the World Team title at the 2017 Senior World Championships in Paris, France. It was the third U.S. Senior World Freestyle Team title in history and the first in 32 years. Zadick led the U.S. team at the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, with all five of the U.S. men’s freestyle athletes winning a medal, including Olympic champions David Taylor and Gable Steveson. The USA has won each of the Pan American team titles during his tenure. Prior to becoming National Team Coach, Zadick served as an Assistant National Coach and Developmental Coach, leading Team USA to numerous age -group medal performance. As an athlete, Zadick was a 2006 World gold medalist and also competed in the 2001 World Championships.

The UWW Americas Awards Banquet was sponsored by USA Wrestling and the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Committee.