NewsUSA WrestlingInternationalUSAW

Men's freestyle seeds released for Olympic Team Trials

by Taylor Miller, USA Wrestling

The seeds for the men’s freestyle division of the 2021 Olympic Team Trials have been released. The Trials will take place April 2-3 at the Dickies Arena in Fort Worth, Texas.

Receiving No. 1 seeds are Thomas Gilman (57 kg), Zain Retherford (65 kg), Jason Nolf** (74 kg), David Taylor (86 kg), Kollin Moore (97 kg) and Nick Gwiazdowski (125 kg).

There are four athletes—Jordan Burroughs (74 kg), Kyle Dake (74 kg), Kyle Snyder (97 kg), J’den Cox (97 kg)—, who did not receive seeds as they are sitting until either the semifinals or the best-of-three finals based on their 2019 World Championships medal performances. Learn more about the sit-out procedures in the Team Selection Criteria.

The Greco-Roman and women’s freestyle seeds will be released later today upon the conclusion of their respective seeding meetings. Brackets for all three styles will be released Friday after weigh-ins.

Fans can watch all of this weekend’s action on NBC and its platforms.

**New update: As of Monday, March 29, Isaiah Martinez has pulled out the tournament. He was originally the No. 1 seed at 74 kg. He has been taken out of the seeding and everyone has moved up accordingly. 


57 kg
1. Thomas Gilman (Nittany Lion WC/TMWC)
2. Daton Fix (Cowboy RTC/TMWC)
3. Vitali Arujau (Spartan Combat RTC/TMWC)
4. Seth Gross (Wisconsin RTC/Sunkist Kids)
5. Joe Colon (Cyclone RTC/TMWC)
6. Nathan Tomasello (TMWC)
7. Sean Russell (Gopher WC RTC)
8. Zane Richards (Illinois RTC)
9. Zach Sanders (Gopher WC RTC)

65 kg
1. Zain Retherford (Nittany Lion WC/TMWC)
2. Yianni Diakomihalis (Spartan Combat RTC/TMWC)
3. Jordan Oliver (Tar Heel WC/Sunkist Kids)
4. James Green (SERTC/TMWC)
5. Joey McKenna (Pennsylvania RTC/TMWC)
6. Nick Lee (Nittany Lion WC/TMWC)
7. Frank Molinaro (Sunkist Kids WC/TMWC)
8. Anthony Ashnault (New Jersey RTC/NYAC)
9. Nahshon Garrett (SERTC/TMWC)
10. Evan Henderson (Spartan Combat RTC/TMWC)
11. Mitch McKee (Gopher WC RTC)

74 kg
Jordan Burroughs (Nebraska WTC/Sunkist Kids) – sitting to best-of-three finals
Kyle Dake (Spartan Combat RTC/TMWC) – sitting to challenge tournament semifinals

1. Jason Nolf (Nittany Lion WC/TMWC)
2. Chance Marsteller (TMWC)
3. Thomas Gantt (Wolfpack RTC/ TMWC)
4. Logan Massa (Cliff Keen WC/NYAC)
5. David Carr (Cyclone RTC/TMWC)
6. Evan Wick (Wisconsin RTC/TMWC)
Vincenzo Joseph (Nittany Lion WC/TMWC)

86 kg
1. David Taylor (Nittany Lion WC/TMWC)
2. Zahid Valencia (Sunkist Kids)
3. Pat Downey (Unattached)
4. Myles Martin (Ohio RTC/TMWC)
5. Gabe Dean (Spartan Combat RTC/TMWC)
6. Bo Nickal (Nittany Lion WC/TMWC)
7. Nate Jackson (New Jersey RTC/NYAC)
8. Sam Brooks (Hawkeye WC/NYAC)
9. Brett Pfarr (Gopher WC RTC)
10. Aaron Brooks (Nittany Lion WC/TMWC)
11. Carter Starocci (Nittany Lion WC/TMWC)

97 kg
Kyle Snyder (Nittany Lion WC/TMWC) – sitting to best-of-three finals
J’den Cox (USOPTC/TMWC) – sitting to challenge tournament semifinals

1. Kollin Moore (Ohio RTC/TMWC)
2. Hayden Zillmer (Gopher WC RTC)
3. Mike Macchiavello (Wolfpack RTC/TMWC)
4. Kyven Gadson (Sunkist Kids)
5. Ty Walz (SERTC/TMWC)
6. AJ Ferrari (Cowboy RTC/TMWC)
7. Ben Honis (Pennsylvania RTC/TMWC)
8. Braxton Amos (Wisconsin RTC)

125 kg
1. Nick Gwiazdowski (Wolfpack RTC/TMWC)
2. Gable Steveson (Gopher WC RTC)
3. Mason Parris (Cliff Keen WC)
4. Dom Bradley (Tiger Style RTC/Sunkist Kids)
5. Anthony Nelson (Gopher WC RTC)
6. Daniel Kerkvliet (Nittany Lion WC/TMWC)
7. Tanner Hall (Sunkist Kids)
8. Garrett Ryan (Sunkist Kids)
9. Jordan Wood (Lehigh Valley RTC)