NewsUSA WrestlingUSAW

Greco-Roman seeds set for Senior World Team Trials Challenge Tournament

by Richard Immel, USA Wrestling

Adam Coon entrance at the 2023 U.S. Open. Photo by Tony Rotundo,

Photo: 2018 World silver medalist Adam Coon, pictured at the 2023 U.S. Open, is the No. 1 seed at 130 kg at the Senior World team Trials Challenge Tournament. (Tony Rotundo/

The Greco-Roman seeds for the 2023 Senior World Team Trials Challenge Tournament have been finalized ahead of this weekend’s competition in Colorado Springs, Colo.

A panel of coaches representing the athletes determined the final seeding based on an agreed upon set of seeding criteria that included head-to-head results, tournament placements, and common opponents.

The only adjustments that will be made to the seeds will be if a wrestler drops out of the field. In that case, the wrestler in question will be removed from the list and every wrestler underneath him will bump up to the next seed.

Among those receiving a No. 1 seed include 2018 World silver medalist Adam Coon at 125 kg, 2009 World bronze medalist and two-time Olympian Aliaksandr Kikiniou at 77 kg, plus Olympians Ildar Hafizov at 60 kg, Jesse Thielke at 67 kg, Ben Provisor at 82 kg and John Stefanowicz at 87 kg.

The Greco-Roman tournament will take place Saturday, May 20, at Discovery Canyon High School. Action will begin at 10 a.m. (MT) with finals scheduled for 4:30 p.m. (MT).

Single day and all session ticket options are available to purchase online through the USA Wrestling. Those unable to attend the event can stream every match from Colorado Springs live on

2023 Senior World Team Trials Challenge Tournament

At Discovery Canyon High School, Colorado Springs, Colo., May 20-21

Senior Greco-Roman Tournament Seeding
55 kg

1. Dalton Duffield, Army WCAP

2. Camden Russell, MWC Wrestling Academy/New York AC

3. Billy Sullivan, Army WCAP

4. Jacob Cochran, Army WCAP

5. Tirso Lara, Top Gun WC

60 kg

1. Ildar Hafizov, Army WCAP

2. Leslie Fuenffinger, Army WCAP

3. Max Black, NMU-National Training Center

4. Dylan Koontz, Dubuque RTC/Titan Mercury WC

5. Jonathan Gurule, NMU-National Training Center

6. Randon Miranda, Rise RTC

7. Phillip Moomey, Spartan Combat RTC

63 kg

1. Sammy Jones, Sunkist Kids WC

2. Dylan Gregerson, Brunson UVRTC

3. Xavier Johnson, Army WCAP

4. Savion Haywood, Iguana WC

5. Corbin Nirschl, MWC Wrestling Academy/New York AC

67 kg

1. Jesse Thielke, Army WCAP

2. Alejandro Sancho, Army WCAP

3. Chayse La Joie, California RTC

4. David Stepanian, New York AC

5. Joel Adams, The Best Wrestler

6. Nicholas Leonetti, Suples WC

72 kg

1. Patrick Smith, Minnesota Storm

2. Noah Wachsmuth, New York AC

3. Jack Ervien, Viking WC

4. Michael Hooker, Army WCAP

77 kg

1. Aliaksandr Kikiniou, California

2. Payton Jacobson, Sunkist Kids WC

3. Burke Paddock, New York AC

4. Jesse Porter, New York AC

5. RaVaughn Perkins, New York AC

82 kg

1. Ben Provisor, New York AC

2. Andrew Berreyesa, New York AC

3. Johanner Correa, North Carolina

4. Tommy Brackett, New York AC

5. Kendrick Sanders, New York AC

6. Tyler Cunningham, New York AC

7. Barrett Stanghill, Minnesota Storm

8. Ryan Epps, Minnesota

87 kg

1. John Stefanowicz, Navy WC

2. Zachary Braunagel, Illinois RTC/Illini WC

3. Timothy Young, Army WCAP

4. Jordan Lara, Texas RTC

5. Richard Carlson, Minnesota Storm

97 kg

1. Nicholas Boykin, Sunkist Kids WC

2. Christian DuLaney, Minnesota Storm

3. Brandon Marshall, Big Game WC

4. Cade Lautt, Tar Heel WC

130 kg

1. Adam Coon, Cliff Keen WC/New York AC

2. Tanner Farmer, New York AC

3. Donny Longendyke, Minnesota Storm

4. Brandon Metz, North Dakota

5. Darryl Aiello, Dubuque RTC