NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeUSAW

NCAA announces at-large selections for 2023 Division I Wrestling Championships

by Liz Wacienga, NCAA

Wrestling mat with the NCAA logo on it

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA announced the 47 at-large selections for the 2023 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships in Tulsa.

The at-large selections, listed in alphabetical order in each weight class, join the 283 student-athletes that qualified through their conference tournament finishes over the weekend.

The at-large selections were made by the NCAA Division I Wrestling Committee using the following selection criteria: head-to-head competition, quality wins, results against common opponents, winning percentage, ratings percentage index, coaches ranking and conference tournament finish.

Seeding and brackets for this year’s event will be revealed tomorrow, March 8, during the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships Selection Show on at 8 p.m. ET.

Visit for more information about this year’s championship.

Here are the at-large selections

125 Maryland Braxton Brown Big Ten

125 West Virginia Killian Cardinale Big 12

125 South Dakota St. Tanner Jordan Big 12

125 Stanford Nico Provo Pac 12

125 North Carolina Jack Wagner ACC

133 Lehigh Connor McGonagle EIWA

133 Air Force Cody Phippen Big 12

133 Bucknell Kurtis Phipps EIWA

133 CSU Bakersfield Chance Rich Pac 12

141 Rider McKenzie Bell MAC

141 SIUE Saul Ervin MAC

141 UNI Cael Happel Big 12

141 Michigan Cole Mattin Big Ten

149 Wisconsin Austin Gomez Big Ten

149 Air Force Dylan Martinez Big 12

149 SIUE Caleb Tyus MAC

149 Penn Doug Zapf EIWA

157 Columbia Cesar Alvan EIWA

157 Ohio St. Paddy Gallagher Big Ten

157 UNI Derek Holschlag Big 12

157 Missouri Jarrett Jacques Big 12

157 Northern Colo. Vinny Zerban Big 12

165 Drexel Evan Barczak EIWA

165 Michigan St. Caleb Fish Big Ten

165 App State Will Formato SoCon

165 Oklahoma St. Wyatt Sheets Big 12

165 Minnesota Andrew Sparks Big Ten

174 Stanford Tyler Eischens Pac 12

174 Northwestern Troy Fisher Big Ten

174 Penn Nick Incontrera EIWA

174 Drexel Mickey O'Malley EIWA

174 Indiana Donnell Washington Big Ten

184 Gardner-Webb Jha'Quan Anderson SoCon

184 West Virginia Anthony Carman Big 12

184 Hofstra Jacob Ferreira EIWA

184 Buffalo Giuseppe Hoose MAC

184 South Dakota St. Cade King Big 12

184 North Dakota St. Deanthony Parker Jr. Big 12

184 Chattanooga Matthew Waddell SoCon

197 West Virginia Austin Cooley Big 12

197 Ohio St. Gavin Hoffman Big Ten

197 North Carolina Max Shaw ACC

197 Penn Cole Urbas EIWA

285 Minnesota Garrett Joles Big Ten

285 Maryland Jaron Smith Big Ten

285 Princeton Travis Stefanik EIWA

285 Cal Poly Trevor Tinker Pac 12

You can download a .PDF of the entire field here.

USA Wrestling Logo Secondary Stroke

Follow us


  • Accessibility
  • Site Map
  • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
  • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab
  • Ombuds , opens in a new tab

© 2024 USA Wrestling. All Rights Reserved.