NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeUSAW

Cameron Drury wins the journalists picks contest from 2022 NCAA Championships in Detroit

by Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling

The 2022 NCAA Div. I individual champions. Photo by Tony Rotundo, Wrestlers Are Warriors.

Cameron Drury of Indiana Mat scored 36 points to win the 2022 journalist picks contest for the 2022 NCAA Div. I Championships in Detroit, Mich.

Participants received three points for every champion, two points for every runner-up and one point for a finalist in the wrong placement. This year, 39 journalists gave their picks for the contest. The tie-breaker (top five teams) was not needed this year to determine first place.

Drury had four weight classes exactly correct (133, 165, 174, 184) and picked nine of the 10 champions. He was the only person who got 165 correct with Keegan O’Toole (Missouri) over Shane Griffith (Stanford).

Second place went to Geoff Extrom of the Lincoln Journal-Star in Nebraska with 35 points. He chose three weight classes exactly correct (125, 133, 184) and had nine of the 10 champions.

Taking third were Larry Slater of Slater Photography, Mike Spilotros of True Wrestling and Johnnie Johnson, a photographer for Amateur Wrestling News, with 34 points.

All 39 journalists selected the correct winner at 285 pounds, Gable Steveson of Minnesota. All but one journalist picked the correct champion team, Penn State.

Greg Kaup of Kaup Photography was the only journalist to pick 149 pounds correctly, with Yianni Diakomihalis (Cornell) over Ridge Lovett (Nebraska).


36 – Cameron Drury (Indiana Mat),

35 – Geoff Extrom (Lincoln Journal-Star-NE),

34 – Larry Slater (Slater Photography), Mike Spilotros (True Wrestling), Johnnie Johnson (Amateur Wrestling News)

32 – Justin Basch (Basch Solutions), David Mirikitani (Weighing In/MatChat), Brad Wilson (Express-Times-PA)

31 – Richard Mann (Intermat)

30 – Greg Lapinski (Sports Radio 1400-NY)

29 – Gary Abbott (USA Wrestling), Joe Caprino (Indiana Mat), Jim Carlson (Harrisburg Patriot News-PA), Dan Fickell (Wrestling USA), Dave Peterson (Minnesota USA Wrestling),

28 – Jim Kalin (Amateur Wrestling News), Zach Miller (The Bergen Record-NJ)

27 – Greg Kaup (Kaup Photography), Willie Saylor (Mat Scouts)

26 – Nate Cobler (Centre Daily Times-PA), Gerry DiSimas (Connecticut Wrestling Online), Seth Preisler (Steelwood Radio-OH), Christian Pyles (FloWrestling), Bill Rudick (Digital 1st Media/PAWF), Lars Underbaake (IA Wrestle)

25 – Mike Finn (WIN Magazine),

24 – Cody Goodwin (Des Moines Register-IA), Mark Ostrander (Weighing In), Earl Smith (Intermat)

23 – Joe Letsche (Sports Radio 1310-TX), Edgar Sanchez (Ed Sanchez Sports Media)

22 – Ken Chertow (Chertow,com), Mark Lundy (Lutte Lens), Grant Turner (Weighing In)

21 – KJ Pilcher (The Gazette-IA)

19 – Andrew Hipps (Mat Boss), Jack Hurley (The Fight Site)

18 – Taylor Gregorio (USA Wrestling)

12 – Matt Levins (The Hawkeye-IA)

Click Here for all of the 2022 Journalist NCAA picks