NewsUSA WrestlingInternationalUSAW

Several young talents among those that qualify for Olympic Team Trials in Greco-Roman and women’s freestyle

by Taylor Miller, USA Wrestling

Photo of Kennedy Blades by Justin Hoch,

FORT WORTH, Texas – After putting together top-two finishes at today’s Last Chance Qualifier, there are 24 new athletes that have earned bids to the 2021 Olympic Team Trials on April 2-3 at Dickies Arena in Fort Worth, Texas.


Today’s champions across the 12 weight classes are Travis Rice (GR 60 kg), Lenny Merkin (GR 67 kg), Austin Morrow (GR 77 kg), Alan Vera (GR 87 kg), Braxton Amos (GR 97 kg), Tanner Farmer (GR 130 kg), Sage Mortimer (WFS 50 kg), Melanie Mendoza (WFS 53 kg), Xochitl Mota-Pettis (WFS 57 kg), Michaela Beck (WFS 62 kg), Kennedy Blades (WFS 68 kg) and Jackie Cataline (WFS 76 kg).

There were six true-second matches contested with Randon Miranda (GR 60 kg), Jesse Porter (GR 77 kg), Thomas Helton (GR 130 kg), Charlotte Fowler (WFS 50 kg), Lauren Louive (WFS 57 kg) and Ana Luciano (WFS 62 kg) emerging victorious to qualify for the Trials.

Below are the finals and true-second match results. Visit FloWrestling for the complete brackets.

Action continues tomorrow with men’s freestyle competition. Wrestling begins at 10 a.m. CT live on FloWrestling.


60 kg
Travis Rice (Illinois RTC)
Randon Miranda (NYAC)

67 kg
Lenny Merkin (NYAC)
Benji Peak (Sunkist Kids)

77 kg
Austin Morrow (NYAC)
Jesse Porter (NYAC)

87 kg
Alan Vera (NYAC)
Christian DuLaney (Minnesota Storm)

97 kg
Braxton Amos (Wisconsin RTC)
Jake Clark (Minnesota Storm)

130 kg
Tanner Farmer (NYAC)
Thomas Helton (Southern Illinois TC)

Women’s freestyle
50 kg
Sage Mortimer (Utah)
Charlotte Fowler (River Valley WC)

53 kg
Melanie Mendoza (Team Tornado WC)
Marissa Gallegos (Colorado Mesa WC)

57 kg
Xochitl Mota-Pettis (Rise RTC)
Lauren Louive (NYAC)

62 kg
Michaela Beck (NYAC)
Ana Luciano (Team Tornado WC)

68 kg
Kennedy Blades (Sunkist Kids)
Kylie Welker (Team Nazar TC)

76 kg
Jackie Cataline (TMWC)
Marlynne Deede (Twin Cities RTC)


60 kg: Travis Rice (Illinois RTC) df. Randon Miranda (NYAC), 5-1
67 kg: Lenny Merkin (NYAC) df. Benji Peak (Sunkist Kids), injury default
77 kg: Austin Morrow (NYAC) df. Jesse Porter (NYAC), 10-2
87 kg: Alan Vera (NYAC) df. Christian DuLaney (Minnesota Storm), 8-0
97 kg: Braxton Amos (Wisconsin RTC) df. Jake Clark (Minnesota Storm), 5-3
130 kg: Tanner Farmer (NYAC) df. Thomas Helton (Southern Illinois TC), 9-1

Women’s freestyle
50 kg: Sage Mortimer (Utah) df. Charlotte Fowler (River Valley WC)
53 kg: Melanie Mendoza (Team Tornado WC) df. Marissa Gallegos (Colorado Mesa WC), 7-6
57 kg: Xochitl Mota-Pettis (Rise RTC) df. Lauren Louive (NYAC), 14-2
62 kg: Michaela Beck (NYAC) df. Alex Liles (Army WCAP), 11-0
68 kg: Kennedy Blades (Sunkist Kids) df. Kylie Welker (Team Nazar TC), 16-6
76 kg: Bracket winner – Jackie Cataline (TMWC) (round robin results)


60 kg: Randon Miranda (NYAC) df. Dylan Gregerson (Brunson UVRTC), 7-2
77 kg: Jesse Porter (NYAC) df. Britton Holmes (Army WCAP), 14-5
130 kg: Thomas Helton (Southern Illinois TC) df. Courtney Freeman (Marines), 8-0

Women’s freestyle
50 kg: Charlotte Fowler (River Valley WC) df. Kasey Banyon (Lion WC), fall 1:28
57 kg: Lauren Louive (NYAC) df. Lauren Mason (California), 5-4
62 kg: Ana Luciano (Team Tornado WC) df. Alex Liles (Army WCAP), fall 4:41