NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeHigh School & YouthUSAW

Men’s freestyle champions crowned at the Last Chance World Team Trials Qualifier

by Koral Sugiyama, Special to

Photo of Nate Jackson at the 2021 Pan-Am Championship. Photo by Tony Rotundo/WrestlersAreWarriors


ATLANTIC CITY, N.J. The final champions were crowned at this weekend’s Last Chance World Team Trials Qualifier for men’s freestyle.

The regulations for this tournament specify “the highest placed USA athlete per weight category winning a medal who has yet to qualify will earn a spot in the 2022 World Team Trials Challenge Tournament.”

All three past US Open champions who entered the tournament championed their weight classes–Nate Jackson (NYAC), Shelton Mack (TMWC/NYC RTC), and Isaiah Martinez (TMWC/BDRTC).

Nate Jackson made quick work over Patrick Davis of the Cougar WC in the 92 kg final bout with a 10-0 technical fall in the first period.

Shelton Mack defeated 2021 Junior Fargo champion Nasir Bailey (Harvey Twisters) in the finals on criteria, 3-3.


At 79 kg, three-time US Senior National Open champion, Isaiah Martinez won via technical fall over Devin Skatzka, 13-3. This match-up previously happened at the 2021 Senior Nationals finals where Skatzka was beating Martinez 9-0 before Martinez took Skatzka to his back for the pin.


At 57 kg, Timothy Levine of New England RTC bested his eight-man bracket with two technical-falls and an 8-0 decision; his second tech was over New York City RTC’s Nichicolas Babin in the finals with a 10-0 score.


Past Cadet and Junior World Team member Josh Saunders (TMWC/SPAR) defeated Brock Zacherl (Clarion RTC) in the 65 kg final bout in a 7-6 decision.


Jarod Verkleeren of Cavalier WC wrestled Christian Monserrat of the NYAC and beat him 10-1 in the finals at 70 kg.


In a swift 35-second match, past NCAA runner-up Joey Lavallee (TMWC/LVWC) teched Elroy Perkin (TMWC), 11-0, for the 74 kg title.


The 86 kg final bout featured Andrew Morgan (TMWC/SPAR) versus Jonathan Loew where the two went back and forth for the six minutes. Morgan secured the win over Loew with a 9-8 decision.


At 97 kg, Jason Carter (MontCo WC) won his three-man round-robin with a 15-5 technical fall over Jaden Sonner (IN) and a forfeit from Ryan A. Law (Hurricane Wrestling Academy). Sonner defeated Law 10-0 in the first round of the day.


Past NCAA runner-up Derek White (TMWC/CKWC) defeated Lewis Fernandes (TMWC/SPAR), 4-1 in the final bout at 125 kg.



At Atlantic City, N.J., May 13


Men’s freestyle results


57 KG

1st - Timothy Levine CA (New England RTC) tech Nicholas Babin NJ (New York City RTC), 10-0

3rd - Dalton Henderson VA (Virginia) dec Antonio Mininno NJ (Pennsylvania RTC), 13-9


61 KG

1st - Shelton Mack NJ (NYC/TMWC) dec Nasir Bailey IL (Harvey Twisters), 3-3

3rd - Christian Gannone NY (Bearcat WC) tech Peter Hammer TX (Texas), 14-1


65 KG

1st - Joshua Saunders MO (SPAR/TMWC) dec Brock Zacherl PA (Clarion RTC), 7-6

3rd - Dylan Cedeno NJ (Cavalier WC) dec Kyle Hauserman PA (Pennsylvania RTC), 13-6


70 KG

1st - Jarod Verkleeren VA (Cavalier WC) dec Christian Monserrat MA (New York Athletic Club), 10-1

3rd - Ryan Anderson NJ (Bearcat WC) dec Jonathan Ross PA (State College Area High School Wrestling), 6-1

74 KG

1st - Joey Lavallee MO (LVWC/TMWC) tech Elroy Perkin WI (TMWC), 11-0

3rd - Michael Petite NJ (Bulls WC) tech Shawn Marchesano PA (MontCo WC), 10-0


79 KG

1st - Isaiah Martinez OR (BDRT/TMWC) tech Devin Skatzka MI (SPAR/TMWC), 13-3

3rd - Muhamed Mcbryde WV (New York Athletic Club) dec Michael O'malley NJ (Pennsylvania RTC), 6-5


86 KG

1st - Andrew Morgan NY (SPAR/TMWC) dec Jonathan Loew NY (SPAR/TMWC), 9-8

3rd - Christopher Foca NJ (SPAR/TMWC) pin Connor Strong MD (Pennsylvania RTC), 5:51


92 KG

1st - Nathan Jackson NJ (New York Athletic Club) tech Patrick Davis VA (Cougar WC), 10-0

3rd - Jacob Cardenas NJ (SPAR/TMWC) forfeit Eli Sheeren TX (Bulls WC)


97 KG

1st - Jason Carter (MontCo WC)

2nd - Jaden Sonner (Indiana)

3rd - Ryan A. Law (Hurricane Wrestling Academy)


125 KG

1st - Derek White OK (CKWC/TMWC) dec Lewis Fernandes NJ (SPAR/TMWC), 4-1

3rd - Jake Fernicola SC (South Carolina) dec Ryan Higgins MA (Massachusetts), 5-1