NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeWomenUSAW

25th NCWA Nationals return to Allen, Texas, March 10-12, with Liberty (men) & Big Bend CC (women) ranked at No. 1

by Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling

Brandon Ahlemann of Liberty (149) celebrates a win at the NCWA National Duals. Photo courtesy of NCWA website.

The 25th NCWA National Championship Championships will return to the Allen Event Center in Allen, Texas, March 10-12. National team titles, individual titles and All-American honors will be earned in folkstyle for both men and women.

This is the annual championships for college non-varsity programs from across the nation. Athletes must qualify through regional events.

There was no 2021 NCWA season due to the pandemic shutdowns, but the organization has come back strong in 2022, with increased participation.

Going back to 2020, the last year the event was held, Liberty won the men’s team title, with Grays Harbor in second, Springfield Tech CC in third, the Apprentice School in fourth and East Carolina in fifth.

Current #1 ranked wrestlers in the Men's Division are as follows:

125 - Bruno Alves (So, The Apprentice School, 16-1, MAC Champion)

133 - Dillon Messick (Jr, The Apprentice School, 24-5, MAC Champion)

141 - Garrett Good (So, Liberty University, 25-9, MAC Champion)

149 - Ty'Rae Carter (Sr, Texas A&M University, 6-0, SWC Champion, 3x National Finalist, 2x National Champion and MOW)

157 - Zachery Snyder (So, University of Toledo, 11-7, GLC Champion)

165 - David Over (So, Liberty University, 15-7, MAC Champion)

174 - Grigol Khochlashvili (Fr, Temple University, 13-0, MEC Champion, 5th at 174 in 2020)

184 - Seth Konynenbelt (Jr, Grand Valley State University, 20-3, GLC Champion)

197 - Sione Halo (So, Grays Harbor College, 9-5, NWC Champion, 4th at 184 in 2020)

235 - Jeffrey Allen (Jr, Liberty University, 21-4, MAC Champion, 2x National Champion)

285 - Frederick Weaver (Jr, Liberty University, 18-1, MAC Champion, National Runner-up in 2020)

NCWA Men’s Div. I ranking

1 Liberty

2 Apprentice

3 Grand Valley State

4 Grays Harbor

5 Springfield Tech

5 Toledo

NCWA Men’s Div. II ranking

1 The Ohio State WC

2 Iowa State WC

3 Ottawa-Arizona

3 Texas A&M

5 East Carolina

Click for top 20 men's rankings

Back in 2020, Schreiner won the women’s team title, with Umpqua CC in second, Grays Harbor in third, Liberty in fourth and Big Bend CC in fifth.

Current #1 ranked wrestlers in the Women's Division are as follows:

101 - Hermelinda Mendoza (So, Ottawa University - Arizona, 6-2, WCC Champion)

109 - Sara Gayton (Fr, Ottawa University - Arizona, 10-8, WCC Champion)

116 - Kira Emma (Sr, University of Texas at Arlington, 3-2, SWC Champion, 2x NCWA All-American at 116)

123 - Erin (Aragon) Mosley (Sr, The Apprentice School, 7-1, MAC Champion, 2019 NCWA National Runner-up at 123)

130 - Serenity Thomas (So, University of Toledo, 5-2, GLC Champion, 2020 NCWA National Runner-up at 130)

136 - Grace Miller (So, Grays Harbor College, 15-7, NWC Champion, 2020 NCWA National Champion at 143)

143 - Jocelyn Fierro (Fr, Grays Harbor College, 24-12, NWC Champion)

155 - Avery Ackerman (So, Big Bend CC, 13-9, NWC Champion)

170 - Veronica Palmer (So, Ottawa University - Arizona, 10-5, WCC Champion)

191 - Sarah Sams (So, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 6-0, NEC Champion)

235 - Trinity Robinson (Fr, Ottawa University - Arizona, 9-2, WCC Champion)

NCWA Women’s Ranking

1. Big Bend CC

2. Ottawa - Arizona

3. Grays Harbor

4. Grand Canyon

5. Liberty

Click for women’s individual rankings

This year, the NCWA continued its annual National Duals event for men and added a women’s division. The NCWA Men's Duals Champion for men was Liberty and the NCWA Women's Duals Champion for women was Ottawa Arizona.

The brackets have been released and the tournament begins tomorrow. The event is being broadcast live on FloWrestling.

2022 NCWA Nationals Brackets

2020 NCWA Individual Champions (last time event was held)

Men's champions

125 - Cody Cabanban (Schreiner University)

133 - Rahsun Lawrence (East Carolina University)

141 - Marcos Mercado (Springfield Technical Community College)

149 - Ty'rae Carter (Texas A&M University)

157 - Chad Cantrell (Liberty University)

165 - Joe Scott (Liberty University)

174 - Clay Perry (University of Central Florida)

184 - Sam Karel (Liberty University)

197 - Austin Amos (Liberty University)

235 - Jeffrey Allen (Liberty University)

285 - Mervyn Penniston-John (Grays Harbor College)

Women's champions

101 - Katlin Wells (Springfield Technical Community College)

109 - Chelsea Wilson (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

116 - Kamile Begeal (Schreiner University)

123 - Allie Mahoe (Schreiner University)

130 - Serena Cervantes (Schreiner University)

136 - Aliyah Yates (Big Bend Community College)

143 - Grace Miller (Umpqua Community College)

155 - Cendall Manley (Liberty University)

170 - Monica Piper (Umpqua Community College)

191 - Kamila Montenegro (Grays Harbor College)

235 - Lavenia Fotu (Grays Harbor College)