NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeUSAW

Big Ten Session Three Wrap: Michigan widens lead over Penn State and Iowa; great third place bouts now set

by Tony Black, USA Wrestling

Image of Greg Kerkvliet, Penn State, by Sam Janicki.

Coming into session 3 with 7 team points separating the top three teams at the 2022 Big Ten Wrestling Championships,

On the strength of going 4-0 in the consolation semifinals, the University of Michigan widened its lead over Penn State and Iowa. Following session 3, which also included 7th place matches, Michigan is in first with 132 points, trailed next by Iowa with 122.5 and Penn State with 121.5.

The third place match at 125 will feature the seventh and eighth seeded wrestlers, Michael DeAugustino from Northwestern and Minnesota’s Patrick McKee. DeAugustino defeated Malik Heinselman from Ohio State, and McKee won by forfeit in the other consolation semifinals.

In consolation semifinals at 133 pounds, returning All-American Lucas Byrd from Illinois defeated 2019 All-American from Michigan State, Rayvon Foley. Michigan’s Dylan Ragusin became the first Wolverine to make the third-place match with his victory over Chris Cannon from Northwestern.

Fellow Michigan wrestler, Stevan Micic, advanced to the third place match via forfeit. Micic will take on Minneosta’s Jakob Bergeland, as Bergeland narrowly defeated Dylan D’Emilio from Ohio State 4-3.

Nebraska fans cheered loudly when 149 pounder Ridge Lovett defeated Michael Blockhus from Minnesota in the consolation semifinals. Lovett will face Iowa’s Max Murin, as Murin defeated Mike Van Brill from Rutgers.

In consolation semifinals action at 157 pounds, many fans were tuned in to watch the match between Kaleb Young from Iowa and Nebraska’s Peyton Robb. Iowa fans in attendance were loud when Young iced the match with a late takedown and 4-point nearfall at the buzzer to win 8-1. For third place, Young will wrestle Brady Berge from Penn State, who pinned Kendall Coleman from Purdue. Berge knocked off the second-seeded Young yesterday in the quarterfinals.

At 165 pounds, top seeded Carson Kharchla easily defeated David Ferrante from Northwestern. The Buckeye will face Wisconsin’s Dean Hamiti, who similarly had a relatively easy consolation semifinal victory over Caleb Fish from Michigan State. The third place match between the two super freshmen is sure to be exciting.

In the only consolation semifinals match to take place at 174 pounds, Ohio State’s Kaleb Smith outlasted Mikey Labriola from Nebraska, 4-2 in overtime. Smith will take on Northwestern’s Troy Fisher, who received a forfeit to advance to the third place match.

After an opening round loss at 184 pounds, Zac Braunagel from Illinois has reeled off four straight victories to reach the third place match. In the consolation semifinals, Braunagel defeated Nebraska’s Taylor Venz. In the other consolation semifinals match, Ohio State’s Kaleb Romero knocked off Maryland’s Kyle Cochran, 5-2.

The third place match at 197 will be a quarterfinals rematch between Patrick Brucki, Michigan, and Jacob Warner from Iowa. Brucki advanced with a victory over Purdue’s Thomas Penola while Warner knocked off the third seeded wrestler, Cameron Caffey from Michigan State.

In arguably the deepest 285 pound class in Big Ten history, Greg Kerkvliet from Penn State down Northwestern’s Lucas Davison by score of 5-3. Kerkvliet will take on returning Big Ten and NCAA runner-up, Michigan’s Mason Parris for third place. Parris controlled Luke Luffman from Illinois on the way to an 8-2 victory.

7th Place Matches

125 – Dylan Shawver (Rutgers) def. Drake Ayala (Iowa) by medical forfeit

133 – Matt Ramos (Purdue) dec. Jake Gliva (Minnesota) 3-2

141 – Frankie Tal-Shahar (Northwestern) dec. Parker Filius (Purdue) 11-6

149 – Beau Bartlett (Penn State) dec. Kanen Storr (Michigan) 3-1

157 – Garrett Model (Wisconsin) dec. Chase Saldate (Michigan State) 7-0

165 – Cael Carlson (Minnesota) def. Caleb Fish (Michigan State) by fall (2:41)

174 – Dominic Solis (Maryland) dec. Connor ONeill (Rutgers) 10-4

184 – Abe Assad (Iowa) def. Isaiah Salazar (Minnesota) by medical forfeit

197 – Greg Bulsak (Rutgers) dec. Gavin Hoffman (Ohio State) 6-1

285 – Christian Lance (Nebraska) dec. Tate Orndorff (Ohio State) 3-2

There were five weight classes where the Big Ten earned more than 8 automatic qualifiers, thus a secondary tournament took place with the six wrestlers who were eliminated from scoring to determine placing beyond 8. Ten wrestlers earned automatic bids to the NCAAs at 125 and 133 pounds, 12 earned automatic bids at 184 pounds, while 11 and nine wrestlers earned bids at 197 and 285 pounds, respectively.

Below are the wrestlers who placed beyond 8th in these weight classes:

125 – Jack Cardani (Illinois)

125 – Drew Hildebrandt (Penn State)

133 – Joe Olivieri (Rutgers)

133 – Brock Hudkins (Indiana)

184 – John Poznanski (Rutgers)

184 – Layne Malczewski (Michigan State)

184 – Jack Jessen (Northwestern)

184 – Christopher Weiler (Wisconsin)

197 – Andrew Davison (Northwestern)

197 – Braxton Amos (Wisconsin)

197 – Michial Foy (Minnesota)

285 – Trent Hillger (Wisconsin)