NewsUSA WrestlingInternationalHigh School & YouthUSAW

Greco-Roman dominates with 10 medals at U20 Pan American Championships

by Taylor Gregorio, USA Wrestling

OAXTEPEC, Mexico – The USA captured six gold, two silver and two bronze medals as well as the team title in Greco-Roman on the first day of the U20 Pan American Championships in Oaxtepec, Mexico, on Friday.

Overall, the USA dominated the field, going 26-5 against its opponents. Winning gold medals were Haiden Drury (63 kg), Richard Fedalen (72 kg), Michael Altomer (82 kg), Kodiak Stephens (87 kg), Robert Plympton (97 kg) and Aden Attao (130 kg).

Drury, Fedalen and Attao shut out their opponents with Drury and Attao each earning 9-0 wins and Fedalen scoring five unanswered points. Altomer also dominated in the finals, winning his gold by fall at 82 kg over Colombia’s Juan Cardozo Ibata.

Stephens edged out Carlos Salazar Gomez from Mexico in a 1-1 battle, and Plympton also defeated an opponent from Mexico, Juan Herrera de la Rosa, with a 5-2 decision.

Runner-up finishes came from Robert Perez (67 kg) and Manuel Gaitan (77 kg), while Jakason Burks (55 kg) and Max Black (60 kg) produced podium performances with bronze, bringing USA’s day one total to 10 medals.

The competition continues Saturday with women’s freestyle. Fans can watch live on FloWrestling.


July 8-10 | Oaxtepec, Mexico

U.S. Greco-Roman results
55 kg: Jakason Burks – BRONZE

WIN Esteban Morales Mayancha (Ecuador), 8-0

WIN Yan Landim Ribeiro (Brazil), 9-0

LOSS Hernan Almendra (Argentina), 9-1

LOSS Marco Garcia Alvarez (Mexico), 15-6

60 kg: Max Black – BRONZE

LOSS Ronaldo Sanchez Ramirez (Colombia), 9-1

WIN Victor Camarena Ascencio (Mexico), 11-0

63 kg: Haiden Drury – GOLD

WIN Alexis Vargas Ramirez (Mexico), 10-1

WIN Antonio Ruiz Mora (Ecuador), 9-1

WIN Wilfredo Lopez (Panama), injury default

WIN Marco Fernandez Cubas (Peru), fall

WIN Antonio Ruiz Mora (Ecuador), 9-0

67 kg: Robert Perez – SILVER

WIN Piero Cruces Panaifo (Peru), 7-1

WIN Uvaldo Camacho Diaz (Mexico), 9-0

LOSS Nestor Almanza Truyol (Chile), 5-5

72 kg: Richard Fedalen – GOLD

WIN Dario Cubas Castillo (Peru), 10-2

WIN Franco Gonzalez Palma (Chile), 8-0

WIN Manuel Brown (Panama), 10-1

WIN Elsi Martinez Ordonez (Mexico), 5-0

77 kg: Manuel Gaitan – SILVER

WIN Ricardo Montero Zuniga (Ecuador), 9-0

WIN Erick Martinez Mateo (Puerto Rico), 8-0

WIN Diego Macias Torres (Mexico), 10-2

LOSS Guilherme Barros de Arruda Porto (Brazil), 11-1

82 kg: Michael Altomer – GOLD

WIN Christian Medina Nunez (Mexico), fall

WIN Juan Cardozo Ibata (Colombia), fall

87 kg: Kodiak Stephens – GOLD

WIN Jose Jourdan Calderon (Puerto Rico), 8-0

WIN Ricardo Gomez (Argentina), fall

WIN Carlos Salazar Gomez (Mexico), 1-1

97 kg: Robert Plympton – GOLD

WIN Jean Paul Nazareno (Ecuador), fall

WIN Juan Herrera de la Rosa (Mexico), 5-2

130 kg: Aden Attao – GOLD

WIN Andre Do Amaral Viana (Brazil), forfeit

WIN Luis de la Rosa Arteaga (Mexico), 9-0


USA Wrestling Logo Secondary Stroke

Follow us


  • Accessibility
  • Site Map
  • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
  • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab
  • Ombuds , opens in a new tab

© 2023 USA Wrestling. All Rights Reserved.