NewsUSA WrestlingUSAW

Missouri wins team title at 2022 Southern Scuffle; Maryland’s Cochran wins 184-pound bracket with standout performance

by Joe Wedra, USA Wrestling

Photo of 165-pound champion Keegan O’Toole by Sam Janicki

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. --- Dominant weekend-long performances from members of the Missouri Tigers helped lead the squad to a team title at the 2022 Southern Scuffle, which officially wrapped up on Sunday night. All of the finals matches were completed, featuring five Missouri finalists and a pair of Tiger champions.

Missouri finished with a total of 175.5 team points. North Dakota State finished in second place with 109.5 points, while Michigan State rounded out the top three with 94.5 team points.

Both Keegan O’Toole (165 pounds) and Rocky Elam (197) won individual titles for the Tigers. O’Toole impressed with a major decision win in the finals over West Virginia’s Peyton Hall, who is ranked No. 12 by FloWrestling. Elam won via injury default against Michael Beard of Penn State.

Perhaps the standout individual performance of the tournament came from the 184-pound champion, Kyle Cochran of Maryland. Cochran defeated Cornell’s Jonathan Loew in the finals, 4-1. Earlier in the day, he knocked off Virginia Tech’s Hunter Bolen, a 6-4 semifinal bout. Bolen and Loew are ranked eighth and 12th by FloWrestling respectively.

The 125-pound final was a medical forfeit, as Minnesota’s Pat McKee won the title over West Virginia’s Killian Cardinale. McKee defeated Iowa’s freshman Drake Ayala in the semis – Ayala defeated Missouri’s Noah Surtin for the second time this weekend to take third.

Michigan State posted a champion at 133 pounds when Rayvon Foley defeated Minnesota’s Aaron Nagao, a 2-0 shutout.

At 141 pounds, Real Woods of Stanford looked dominant in his finals match against Missouri’s Allan Hart, picking up a convincing 4-0 decision.

Duke, which had multiple standout performers this weekend, got a champion at 149 pounds when Josh Finesilver won an exciting back-and-forth matchup against Josh Edmond of Missouri.

At 157 pounds, North Dakota State’s Jared Franek won a very talented bracket with a finals victory over Michigan State’s Chase Saldate. At 174, it was South Dakota State taking the title with Cade Devos, who knocked off Missouri’s Peyton Mocco in a tight 3-2 contest.

Air Force standout Wyatt Hendrickson wrapped up the night winning his Southern Scuffle crown, pinning Cornell’s Lewis Fernandes in the first period of the finals bout.

Full results from the tournament can be found on FloArena.

Finals results


First-place match: Pat McKee (Minnesota) MFF Killian Cardinale (West Virginia)

Third-place match: Drake Ayala (Iowa) dec. Noah Surtin (Missouri), 14-10

Fifth-place match: Caleb Smith (Appalachian State) MFF Fabian Gutierrez (Chattanooga)

Seventh-place match: Greg Diakomihalis (Cornell) dec. Eddie Ventresca (Virginia Tech), 5-3 SV


First-place match: Rayvon Foley (Michigan State) dec. Aaron Nagao (Minnesota), 2-0

Third-place match: Brayden Palmer (Chattanooga) dec. Cullan Schriever (Iowa), 4-2 SV

Fifth-place match: Trey Crawford (Missouri) dec. Codi Russell (Appalachian State), 9-7 SV

Seventh-place match: Ethan Fernandez (Spartan Combat RTC) maj. dec. Ethan Oakley (Appalachian State), 16-4


First-place match: Real Woods (Stanford) dec. Allan Hart (Missouri), 4-0

Third-place match: Andrew Alirez (Northern Colorado) MFF Clay Carlson (South Dakota State)

Fifth-place match: Wyatt Henson (Iowa) MFF Vince Cornella (Spartan Combat RTC)

Seventh-place match: Quinn Kinner (Rider) MFF Josh Saunders (Cornell)


First-place match: Josh Finesilver (Duke) dec. Josh Edmond (Missouri), 11-10

Third-place: Victor Voinovich (Oklahoma State) inj. def. Gaven Sax (North Dakota State)

Fifth-place match: Chris Sandoval (Northern Colorado) MFF Alex Madrigal (George Mason)

Seventh-place match: John Arceri (Buffalo) dec. Jeff Boyd (West Virginia), 3-1 SV


First-place match: Jared Franek (North Dakota State) dec. Chase Saldate (Michigan State), 6-3

Third-place match: Jarrett Jacques (Missouri) dec. Hunter Richard (Cornell), 6-4

Fifth-place match: Brock Mauller (Missouri) dec. Aj Kovacs (NC State), 8-4

Seventh-place match: Jalin Harper (Oklahoma State) dec. Alex Hornfeck (West Virginia), 2-1


First-place match: Keegan O’Toole (Missouri) maj. dec. Peyton Hall (West Virginia), 13-4

Third-place match: Cael Carlson (Minnesota) fall Will Formato (Appalachian State), 6:15

Fifth-place match: Luke Weber (North Dakota State) MFF Patrick Kennedy (Iowa)

Seventh-place match: RJ Mosley (Gardner-Webb) MFF Thomas Bullard (NC State)


First-place match: Cade Devos (South Dakota State) dec. Peyton Mocco (Missouri), 3-2

Third-place match: Bailee O’Reilly (Minnesota) dec. Austin Brenner (North Dakota State), 5-4

Fifth-place match: Matt Finesilver (Duke) maj. dec. Brennan Swafford (Iowa), 14-0

Seventh-place match: Andrew Berreyesa (Cornell) MFF Tyler Eischens (Stanford)


First-place match: Kyle Cochran (Maryland) dec. Jonathan Loew (Cornell), 4-1

Third-place match: Hunter Bolen (Virginia Tech) dec. Jeremiah Kent (Missouri), 9-5 SV

Fifth-place match: Layne Malczewski (Michigan State) MFF Isaiah Salazar (Minnesota)

Seventh-place match: Gavin Sitka (Oklahoma State) dec. DJ Parker Jr. (North Dakota St.), 7-3


First-place match: Rocky Elam (Missouri) inj. def. Michael Beard (Penn State)

Third-place match: Cam Caffey (Michigan State) dec. Tanner Sloan (South Dakota State), 8-6

Fifth-place match: Andy Smith (Virginia Tech) MFF Alan Clothier (Appalachian State)

Seventh-place match: Jaron Smith (Maryland) fall Garrett Joles (Minnesota), 1:31


First-place match: Wyatt Hendrickson (Air Force) fall Lewis Fernandes (Cornell), 1:33

Third-place match: Brandon Metz (North Dakota State) dec. Aaron Costello (Iowa), 4-1

Fifth-place match: Tyrie Houghton (NC State) dec. Owen Trephan (NC State), 2-2 TB2

Seventh-place match: Austin Harris (Oklahoma State) dec. Michael McAleacey (Citadel), 8-1

Final team scores

1. Missouri, 175.5

2. North Dakota State, 109.5

3. Michigan State, 94.5

4. Minnesota, 85.5

5. Cornell, 85

6. South Dakota State, 76

7. West Virginia, 69.5

8. Appalachian State, 56.5

9. Duke, 48.5

10. Northern Colorado, 48

11. Stanford, 47.5

12. Chattanooga, 45.5

13. Maryland, 43

14. Virginia Tech, 38.5

15. North Carolina State, 32.5

16. Penn State, 32

17. Rider, 30

18. Iowa, 29.5

19. (tie) Buffalo and Oklahoma State, 22.5