NewsUSA WrestlingHigh School & YouthUSAW

2021 16U and Junior Folkstyle National champions are eligible to compete for USA Wrestling Triple Crowns in Fargo

by Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling

Aeoden Sinclair of Wisconsin, competing at the 15U Nationals. A 16U Folkstyle Nationals champion, Sinclair is eligible for the Triple Crown (Photo by Sam Janicki)

The USA Wrestling Triple Crown is given to any athlete who wins USA Wrestling Folkstyle, Greco-Roman and Freestyle national titles in the same year. This coveted award is available on the 10U, 12U, 14U, 16U and Junior levels.

The winners from the USA Wrestling Folkstyle National Championships in Iowa in April won the first leg of the Triple Crown. The final two legs of the 2021 Triple Crown at the 16U and Junior level will be at the U.S. Marine Corps Junior & 16U Nationals in Fargo, N.D., which starts this weekend.

There are 15 Junior and 17 16U athletes who enter Fargo still eligible for the Triple Crown.

Winning a Triple Crown at these age levels is difficult. Only 23 have won 16U Triple Crowns going back to when it began in 2003, while only seven have won Junior Triple Crowns since it started in 2007.

There has been only one two-time 16U Triple Crown winner, Taylor Massa of Michigan (2008, 2009). There has been two two-time Junior Triple Crown winners, Adam Coon of Michigan (2012, 2013) and Anthony Cassioppi of Illinois (2017, 2018).

There were no Triple Crown winners the last time the Junior and 16U Nationals was held in 2019.

(Remain eligible for 2021 USA Wrestling Triple Crown)

Junior champions
100 - Edwin Sierra (AZ/Extreme Heat Wrestling Club)
106 - Ray Ray Harris (CA/Greco-Roman Development)
113 - Camron Phetxoumphone (IA/Team Valley Wrestling Club)
120 - Raymond Lopez (California)
126 - Sergio Lemley (IN/Region Wrestling Academy)
132 - Greyson Clark (WI/Askren Wrestling Academy Lake Country)
138 - Jager Eisch (WI/Askren Wrestling Academy Lake Country)
145 - Hunter Garvin (IA/Big Game Wrestling Club)
152 - Luke Gayer (CA/Church Boyz Wrestling Club)
160 - Adam Thebeau (IL/Greenfield Wrestling Academy)
170 - Tate Naaktgeboren (IA/Big Game Wrestling Club)
182 - Jared Simma (Kansas)
195 - Ben Kueter (IA/Sebolt Wrestling Academy)
220 - Jack Darrah (MO/Xtreme Training)
285 - Juan Mora (California)

16U champions
88 - Griffin Rial (CO/Black Fox Wrestling Academy)
94 - Mack Mauger (Team Idaho)
100 - Chase Van Hoven (VA/Legacy Wrestling)
106 - Matthew Martino (Team Idaho)
113 - Dawson Johnson (WI/CrassTrained: Weigh In Club)
120 - Collin Guffey (CA/Granite Wrestling Club)
126 - Jason Mara (Team Idaho)
132 - Pierson Manville (Pennsylvania)
138 - Miguel Estrada (CA/Dethrone Wrestling Club)
145 - Zane Licht (WI/Askren Wrestling Academy Lake Country)
152 - Brett Back (WI/Rapids Wrestling Club
160 - Aeoden Sinclair (WI/Askren Wrestling Academy Lake Country)
170 - Brian Burburija (Florida)
182 - Jude Correa (NH/Massachusetts Wrestling Association)
195 - Noah Wenzel IL/(Izzy Style Wrestling)
220 - Koy Hopke (Wisconsin)
285 - Will Sather (MN/Pinnacle Wrestling Club)

USA Wrestling 16U Triple Crown winners
(24 winners from 2003-2019)

Taylor Moore of Missouri (189)

Zachary Sanders of Minnesota (105)

Hayden Zillmer of Minnesota (84)

Dylan Ness of Minnesota (130)
Taylor Massa of Michigan (140)

Taylor Massa of Michigan (152)
Jake Waste of Minnesota (160)
Devin Peterson of Wisconsin (171)

Mitch Sliga of Indiana (189)

Gannon Volk of Minnesota (91)

Hunter Marko of Wisconsin (94)
Aaron Pico of California (132)
Bo Nickal of Texas (160)
Lance Benick of Minnesota (195)

Daton Fix of Oklahoma (113)
Nick Reenan of Texas (152)
Mark Hall of Colorado (160)
Jacob Marnin of Iowa (285)

Beau Breske of Wisconsin (170)
Keegan Moore of Minnesota (182)

Moshe Schwartz of Colorado (88)

Travis Wittlake, Jr. of Oregon (170)

Ashton Sharp of Missouri (195)

Mason Gehloff of Minnesota (88/94)

Note: Years not listed had no 16U Triple Crown winners

USA Wrestling Junior Triple Crown winners
(9 winners from 2007-2019)

Jade Rauser of Montana (105)

Freddie Rodriguez of Michigan (105/112)

Nkosi Moody of Illinois (98)

Adam Coon of Michigan (285)

Adam Coon of Michigan (285)

Randon Miranda of California (100)
Danny Vega of Arizona (106)

Anthony Cassioppi of Illinois (285)

Anthony Cassioppi of Illinois (285)

Note: Years not listed had no Junior Triple Crown winners
USA Wrestling Logo Secondary Stroke

Follow us


  • Accessibility
  • Site Map
  • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
  • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab
  • Ombuds , opens in a new tab

© 2023 USA Wrestling. All Rights Reserved.