NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeUSAW

2023 Hodge Trophy finalists announced; Fan vote open through March 24

by WIN Magazine

2023 Hodge Trophy finalists

Voting for the 2023 WIN Magazine/Culture House Dan Hodge Trophy has begun. Fans are invited to participate in the official voting for the award — widely considered the “Heisman Trophy of wrestling” — by going to to cast their ballot between March 21 and March 24 at 5 pm CST.

The winner of the Hodge Trophy Fan Vote will receive five official first-place ballots. They will be combined with the votes of the Hodge Trophy Voting Committee, which is made up of past winners of the award, select national wrestling media members, a retired college coach from each region and a representative of several national wrestling organizations.

Presented by ASICS, the Hodge is awarded to the most dominant collegiate wrestler each year. Criteria for the award are record, dominance/bonus-point percentage, quality of competition and sportsmanship. In addition to an opportunity for a write-in Hodge finalist from fans or Hodge Committee members, the Division I finalists for the 2023 Hodge are each of the ten NCAA Division I champions:

125 Pat Glory,  Princeton

133 Vito Arujau,  Cornell

141 Andrew Alirez,  Northern Colorado

149 Yianni Diakomihalis, Cornell

157 Austin O’Connor, North Carolina

165 Keegan O’Toole, Missouri

174 Carter Starocci, Penn State

184 Aaron Brooks,  Penn State

197 Nino Bonaccorsi, Pittsburgh

Hwt Mason Parris,   Michigan

The Hodge winner will be announced at 12:00 pm CST on Monday, March 27. The award is named after the late Dan Hodge, a three-time NCAA champion for the University of Oklahoma (1955-1957). Hodge had a collegiate career record of 46-0 with 36 pins and is still the only wrestler ever featured on a cover of Sports Illustrated.

For more information on the Hodge Trophy and a list of all past winners and release stories, go to