NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeUSAW

Pre-Seeds and brackets set for 2023 ACC Wrestling Championship

by ACC

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( — The Atlantic Coast Conference has announced pre-seeds and brackets for the 2023 ACC Wrestling Championship, which will be held this Sunday (March 5) at NC State’s Valvano Arena at Reynolds Coliseum.

Pitt leads with four No. 1 seeds in their respective weight class brackets, including defending champions Cole Matthews at 141 pounds and Nino Bonaccorsi at 197.

Four-time defending ACC champion NC State and Virginia Tech each boast two No. 1 seeds, while Duke and North Carolina have one each.

Other defending champions in this year’s field include NC State’s Ed Scott (157) and Trent Hidlay (184), and Virginia Tech’s Mekhi Lewis (174). Lewis won the 2019 NCAA title at 165 pounds and North Carolina’s Austin O’Connor – seeded No. 1 at 157 in this year’s field – was the 2021 NCAA champion at 149.

ACC pre-seeds for this year’s tournament were generated by

Complete 2023 ACC Wrestling Brackets 

Each weight class champion and runner-up at the 2023 ACC Championship will earn All-ACC recognition. In addition to ACC honors, student-athletes will be vying for berths and seeding in the 2023 NCAA Wrestling Championships, which will be held March 16-18 at BOK Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma. The ACC has been allotted 33 automatic berths and is hopeful of earning several more at-large selections.

NC State finished the regular season ranked No. 3 in the NWCA Coaches Poll, with Virginia Tech at No. 10 and Pitt at No. 15. Those three teams shared the ACC 2022-23 regular-season dual meet championship, as each finished 4-1 in conference matches.

Tickets are now on sale for Sunday’s all-day championship, and all seats are general admission.. Tickets are priced at $10 for adults (ages 19 and older; ACC students get in free with school ID) and $7 for youth ages 18 and under. Group sales (15 or more) are priced at $5 – please contact the NC State ticket office directly for group sales. Tickets may be purchased online at

First-round action kicks off Sunday’s Championship at 11 a.m. The semifinals are set for 1 p.m., followed by the consolation semifinals at 3:30 p.m. and the consolation finals at 5 p.m. Championship matches begin at 7 p.m., followed by the awards presentation.

ACC Network and ACC Network Extra plan nearly 10 hours of live coverage from 11 a.m. through 9 p.m. ACC Network Extra will stream the early and consolations rounds from both Mat 1 and Mat 2, with the 7 p.m. finals set for live linear broadcast on ACC Network. Watch links for all rounds are listed below.

Pre-seeds for the 2023 ACC Wrestling Championship are listed below. Entries are subject to change until noon on Saturday.

125 Pounds

1. Jarrett Trombley, NC State

2. Eddie Ventresca, Virginia Tech

3. Jack Wagner, North Carolina

4. Colton Camacho, Pitt

5. Patrick McCormick, Virginia

6. Ethan Grimminger, Duke

133 Pounds

1. Micky Phillippi, Pitt

2. Sam Latona, Virginia Tech

3. Kai Orine, NC State

4. Jace Palmer, North Carolina

5. Marlon Yarbrough II, Virginia

6. Logan Agin, Duke

141 Pounds

1. Cole Matthews, Pitt*

2. Ryan Jack, NC State

3. Lachlan McNeil, North Carolina

4. Tom Crook, Virginia Tech

5. Dylan Cedeno, Virginia

6. Jarred Papscy, Duke

149 Pounds

1. Caleb Henson, Virginia Tech

2. Jackson Arrington, NC State

3. Jarod Verkleeren, Virginia

4. Tyler Badgett, Pitt

5. Zach Sherman, North Carolina

6. Patrick Rowland, Duke

157 Pounds

1. Austin O’Connor, North Carolina

2. Bryce Andonian, Virginia Tech

3. Ed Scott, NC State*

4. Dazjon Casto, Pitt

5. Jake Keating, Virginia

6. Logan Ferrero, Duke

165 Pounds

1. Holden Heller, Pitt

2. Justin McCoy, Virginia

3. Matthew Singleton, NC State

4. Connor Brady, Virginia Tech

5. Joey Mazzara, North Carolina

6. Gabe Dinette, Duke

174 Pounds

1. Mekhi Lewis, Virginia Tech*

2. Alex Faison, NC State

3. Luca Augustine, Pitt

4. Michael Goldfeder, North Carolina

5. Victor Marcelli, Virginia


184 Pounds

1. Trent Hidlay, NC State*

2. Hunter Bolen, Virginia Tech

3. Gavin Kane, North Carolina

4. Neil Antrassian, Virginia

5. Reece Heller, Pitt

6. Luke Chakonis, Duke

197 Pounds

1. Nino Bonaccorsi, Pitt*

2. Andy Smith, Virginia Tech

3. Isaac Trumble, NC State

4. Michael Battista, Virginia

5. Vincent Baker, Duke

6. Max Shaw, North Carolina

285 Pounds

1. Jonah Niesenbaum, Duke

2. Owen Trephan, NC State

3. Hunter Catka, Virginia Tech

4. Jacob Slinger, Pitt

5. Brandon Whitman, North Carolina

6. Ethan Weatherspoon, Virginia

* - Defending ACC champion

ACC Brackets

Live Results