NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeUSAW

With three champions, Cornell wins EIWA Championships, 10 points ahead of runner-up Penn

by Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling

2022 EIWA Champions, Cornell University. Photo courtesy of the EIWA.

ITHACA, N.Y. – A year ago, the Ivy League cancelled the wrestling season, and Ivy League schools did not compete at the EIWA Championships or the NCAA Championships.

In 2022, the Ivy League came back in a strong way, winning the top three team trophies and claiming seven of the 10 individual gold medalists.

Cornell returned as EIWA team champion, led by three individual champions, scoring 153 points. Penn, with one champion, placed second with 143 points. Princeton was third with one champion and 120.5 points.

Cornell champions were Vitali Arujau (125), Yianni Diakomihalis (149) and Jonathan Loew (184).

Arujau stopped No. 1 seed Patrick Glory of Princeton in a 19-6 major decision. Glory had beaten Arujau earlier in the season. Glory had also beaten Arujau in the finals of the 2020 EIWA Championships. Arujau was named Outstanding Wrestler.

Diakomihalis, a two-time NCAA champion, won his third EIWA title with an 11-2 major decision over Anthony Artalona of Penn.

Loew won his first EIWA title, after placing fifth as a freshman. He defeated Travis Stefanik of Princeton, 12-5 in the final.

Penn’s individual champion was Michael Colaiocco, who claimed the 133-pound title with an 8-4 win over

Josh Koderhandt of Navy. Penn had three runners-up.

Princeton was led by 157-pound champions Quincy Monday, who stopped Andrew Cerniglia of Navy, 9-4 for the title. Princeton also had three runners-up.

The other individual EIWA champions from Ivy League schools were Matt Kazimir of Columbia (141) and Philip Conigliaro of Harvard (174).

Lehigh, which was fourth with 11 points, was led by Jordan Wood (285), who made history as the first five-time EIWA champion. Wood received an extra year when the NCAA did not count the 2020-21 season towards eligibility due to the pandemic. Wood beat Lewis Fernandes of Cornell, 2-0 in the finals.

Other individual champions were Mickey O’Malley of Drexel at 174 and Lou DePrez of Binghamton at 197. It was a third EIWA title for DePrez, while O’Malley won his first.

The EIWA had 42 NCAA Pre-Allocation Spots for the NCAA Championships, the third most of any conference.


At Ithaca, N.Y., March 5-6

125 LBS (4 NCAA qualifiers)

1st Vitali Arujau (Cornell) MD Patrick Glory (Princeton), 19-6

3rd Ryan Miller (Penn) MD Joe Manchio (Columbia), 10-2

5th Beau Bayless (Harvard) M FOR Sheldon Seymour (Lehigh)

7th Brandon Seidman (Bucknell) DEC Reese Fry (Brown), 9-4

133 LBS (2 NCAA qualifiers)

1st Michael Colaiocco (Penn) DEC Josh Koderhandt (Navy), 8-4

3rd Dom Lajoie (Cornell) DEC Jack Maida (American), 4-0

5th Richard Treanor (Army) DEC Nick Kayal (Princeton), 9-8

7th Jaxon Maroney (Drexel) DEC Nicky Cabanillas (Brown), 7-5 SV

141 LBS (4 NCAA qualifiers)

1st Matt Kazimir (Columbia) DEC Cj Composto (Penn), 6-4

3rd Wil Gil (Franklin & Marshall) DEC Connor Mcgonagle (Lehigh), 10-5

5th Darren Miller (Bucknell) DEC Ryan Anderson (Binghamton), 2-1 TB2

7th Danny Coles (Princeton) DEC Justin Hoyle (Hofstra), 11-4

149 LBS (4 NCAA qualifiers)

1st Yianni Diakomihalis (Cornell) MD Anthony Artalona (Penn), 11-2

3rd Max Brignola (Lehigh) DEC Marshall Keller (Princeton), 5-3

5th Danny Fongaro (Columbia) M FOR Pj Ogunsanya (Army)

7th Lukus Stricker (Harvard) DEC Nick Lombard (Binghamton), 8-2

157 LBS (5 NCAA qualifiers)

1st Quincy Monday (Princeton) DEC Andrew Cerniglia (Navy), 9-4

3rd Josh Humphreys (Lehigh) MD Markus Hartman (Army), 10-0

5th Doug Zapf (Penn) DEC Hunter Richard (Cornell), 5-3

7th Nick Delp (Bucknell) DEC Trevor Tarsi (Harvard), 3-1

165 LBS (7 NCAA qualifiers)

1st Philip Conigliaro (Harvard) DEC Joshua Ogunsanya (Columbia), 8-3

3rd Zach Hartman (Bucknell) MD Julian Ramirez (Cornell), 16-3

5th Brevin Cassella (Binghamton) DEC Lucas Revano (Penn), 3-2

7th Evan Barczak (Drexel) DEC Val Park (Navy), 5-0

174 LBS (4 NCAA qualifiers)

1st Mickey O'malley (Drexel) DEC Nick Incontrera (Penn), 1-1 TB2

3rd Ben Pasiuk (Army) DEC Jacob Nolan (Binghamton), 3-1 SV

5th Jake Logan (Lehigh) M FOR Chris Foca (Cornell)

7th Nick Fine (Columbia) F Nate Dugan (Princeton), 6:24

184 LBS (3 NCAA qualifiers)

1st Jonathan Loew (Cornell) DEC Travis Stefanik (Princeton), 12-5

3rd Aj Burkhart (Lehigh) DEC Charles Small (Hofstra), 3-2

5th Neil Antrassian (Penn) DEC Bryan Mclaughlin (Drexel), 13-8

7th Brian Bonino (Columbia) DEC Cory Day (Binghamton), 3-2

197 LBS (5 NCAA qualifiers)

1st Lou Deprez (Binghamton) DEC Luke Stout (Princeton), 10-4

3rd Jacob Koser (Navy) MD Cole Urbas (Penn), 9-0

5th Jacob Cardenas (Cornell) DEC Jt Davis (Lehigh), 4-1

7th Jt Brown (Army) DEC Sam Wustefeld (Columbia), 4-1

285 LBS (4 NCAA qualifiers)

1st Jordan Wood (Lehigh) DEC Lewis Fernandes (Cornell), 2-0

3rd Joe Doyle (Binghamton) DEC Ben Goldin (Penn), 4-0

5th Matt Cover (Princeton) DEC Zachary Knighton-ward (Hofstra), 3-1

7th Cenzo Pelusi (Franklin & Marshall) DEC Daniel Conley (Columbia), 3-1 SV

Team Standings

1 Cornell 153

2 Penn 143

3 Princeton 120.5

4 Lehigh 111

5 Columbia 84.5

6 Binghamton 79.5

7 Navy 63.5

8 Army 57

9 Harvard 49

10 Drexel 47

11 Bucknell 39.5

12 Hofstra 36

13 Franklin & Marshall 29 -

14 Brown 26.5

15 American 25.5

16 Sacred Heart 5

17 Long Island U. 3

Women's exhibitions

116 - Caitlyn Walker (Columbia) dec. Chloe Ayres (Princeton), 7-6

123 - Destiny Garcia (Cornell) pin Dorothea West (Drexel), 4-2 1:29

145 - Maya Letona (Columbia) tech. fall Annie Hua (Columbia), 14-3 5:55