NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeUSAW

Finals pairings set for tonight’s 2022 Southern Scuffle medal match session, multiple No. 1 seeds upset in semis

by Joe Wedra, USA Wrestling

Photo of Keegan O’Toole by Sam Janicki
CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. --- Tonight’s finals are officially set for the 2022 Southern Scuffle after Sunday afternoon featured plenty of entertaining semifinal action. Missouri has five wrestlers in the finals.
Four schools have a pair of wrestlers in tonight’s finals: Cornell, Michigan State, Minnesota and West Virginia.
Missouri holds a commanding lead in the team race with 148 points. The Tigers are followed by North Dakota State (94.5) and Michigan State (83).
At 133 pounds, unseeded Aaron Nagao of Minnesota continued his dominant run in Chattanooga to advance to the finals. He knocked off Appalachian State’s Codi Russell, 5-2 in the semis, to advance to a finals bout against Michigan State’s top-seeded Rayvon Foley. Nagao has surrendered just those two points throughout the entire tournament.
The first No. 1 seed of the tournament was knocked out when fourth-seeded Allan Hart of Missouri defeated top-seeded Clay Carlson of South Dakota State, 2-0. Hart will face Stanford’s Real Woods in the finals in a championship bout that should be filled with fireworks.
In the next weight class, Michigan State’s fourth-seeded Chase Saldate knocked off top-seeded Brock Mauller of Missouri. Saldate will see North Dakota State’s Jared Franek in the finals; Franek knocked off another Missouri standout, Jarrett Jacques.
Another top seed went down at 174 pounds when Missouri’s Peyton Mocco pinned Duke’s Matt Finesilver late in the second period. Mocco will face Cade DeVos of South Dakota State in the finals. 

For Missouri, top-seeded Keegan O'Toole at 165 pounds also advanced to tonight's finals via fall.
Maryland has a finalist in tonight’s action – Kyle Cochran at 184 pounds. Cochran defeated second-ranked Hunter Bolen (Virginia Tech) in the semifinals. That win came after he knocked off Missouri’s Jeremiah Kent, 5-0, in the quarters. Cochran will wrestle Cornell’s Jonathan Loew in the finals.
The finals and medal matches will begin at 7:00 p.m. eastern time and can be watched live on FloWrestling.
All results can be found on FloArena.

At Chattanooga, Tennessee • Jan. 2

Finals pairings

Killian Cardinale (West Virginia) vs. Pat McKee (Minnesota)
Rayvon Foley (Michigan State) vs. Aaron Nagao (Minnesota)
Allan Hart (Missouri) vs. Real Woods (Stanford)
Josh Finesilver (Duke) vs. Josh Edmond (Missouri)
Chase Saldate (Michigan State) vs. Jared Franek (North Dakota State)
Keegan O’Toole (Missouri) vs. Peyton Hall (West Virginia)
Peyton Mocco (Missouri) vs. Cade DeVos (South Dakota State)
Jonathan Loew (Cornell) vs. Kyle Cochran (Maryland)
Rocky Elam (Missouri) vs. Michael Beard (Penn State)
Wyatt Hendrickson (Air Force) vs. Lewis Fernandes (Cornell)
Semifinal results
Killian Cardinale (West Virginia) dec. Fabian Gutierrez (Chattanooga), 9-4
Pat McKee (Minnesota) dec. Drake Ayala (Iowa), 6-5
Rayvon Foley (Michigan State) dec. Cullan Schriever (Iowa), 10-5
Aaron Nagao (Minnesota) dec. Codi Russell (App State), 5-2
Allan Hart (Missouri) dec. Clay Carlson (South Dakota State), 2-0
Real Woods (Stanford) dec. Andrew Alirez (Northern Colorado), 5-4
Josh Finesilver (Duke) dec. Victor Voinovich (Oklahoma State), 7-0
Josh Edmond (Missouri) dec. Alex Madrigal (George Mason), 9-3
Chase Saldate (Michigan State) dec. Brock Mauller (Missouri), 3-1
Jared Franek (North Dakota State) dec. Jarrett Jacques (Missouri), 2-1 TB1
Keegan O’Toole (Missouri) fall Will Formato (Appalachian State), 2:49
Peyton Hall (West Virginia) maj. dec. Luke Weber (North Dakota State), 13-5
Peyton Mocco (Missouri) fall Matt Finesilver (Duke), 4:35
Cade DeVos (South Dakota State) dec. Brennan Swafford (Iowa), 6-2
Jonathan Loew (Cornell) maj. dec. Isaiah Salazar (Minnesota), 10-2
Kyle Cochran (Maryland) dec. Hunter Bolen (Virginia Tech), 6-4
Rocky Elam (Missouri) dec. Tanner Sloan (South Dakota State), 10-4
Michael Beard (Penn State) dec. Cam Caffey (Michigan State), 6-2
Wyatt Hendrickson (Air Force) maj. dec. Brandon Metz (North Dakota State), 11-2
Lewis Fernandes (Cornell) maj. dec. Aaron Costello (Iowa), 9-0
Team scores after the semifinals
1. Missouri, 148
2. North Dakota State, 94.5
3. Michigan State, 83
4. Cornell, 77.5
5. West Virginia, 69.5
6. Minnesota, 68.5
7. South Dakota State, 65
8. Appalachian State, 50
9. Stanford, 43.5
10. Duke, 42.5
11. Chattanooga, 41
12. Northern Colorado, 38.5
13. Maryland, 36
14. Penn State, 32
15. North Carolina State, 30.5