NewsUSA WrestlingInternationalCollegeHigh School & YouthUSAW

Who you got? Pat Smith or Sean Hage? 50th Junior Nationals fantasy bracket voting ends tonight

by Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling

It is coming down to the wire for interactive 32-athlete bracket featuring the best Men’s Junior Freestyle competitors of the last 50 years of the Junior Nationals.

There are only a few hours left for fans to vote on the finals matchup between Sean Hage of Georgia, a three-time Junior Nationals freestyle champion, and Pat Smith of Oklahoma, a two-time Junior Nationals freestyle champion.

This voting is based upon their Junior National freestyle careers only, and should not reflect their successes in Greco-Roman, nor how well they did in college and the international levels.

USA Wrestling fans can cast their vote for the finals by going to:
50th Junior Freestyle Nationals - Fantasy Bracket

Sean Hage (Kennesaw, Ga.)


191.5 pounds

1. Sean Hage (Georgia)

2. Mark Bodo (Pennsylvania)

3. Doug Joseph (Pennsylvania)

4. Jon White (Kansas)

5. Donny Rider (California)

6. Jay Davisson (Montana)

7. Aaron Stark (Oregon)

8. Rob Knott (Oregon)


191.5 pounds

1. Sean Hage (Georgia)

2. Lee Fullhart (Iowa)

3. Casey Strand (California)

4. Michael French (California)

5. Gage Short (Pennsylvania)

6. Kevin Stroh (Missouri).

7. Josh Hendricks (Ohio)

8. A.J. Johnson (Florida)


191.5 pounds

1. Sean Hage (Georgia)

2. Craig Fenstermaker (Pennsylvania)

3. Shane Zajac (Illinois)

4. Shaun Carter (Illinois)

5. Joe DeGain (Michigan)

6. Avery Zerkle (Ohio)

7. Chad Stears (Michigan)

8. Pete Herold. (Nevada)

Pat Smith (Del City, Okla.)

1988 Junior Nationals freestyle placewinners

154 pounds

1. Pat Smith (Oklahoma)

2. Matt Johnson (Colorado)

3. Lenny Klinglesmith (Colorado)

4. Tom Onorato (Pennsylvania)

5. Torrae Jackson (Michigan)

6. Jamie Byrne (Iowa)

7. Brendan Matthew (South Dakota)

8. J.J. Stanbro (New York)

1989 Junior Nationals freestyle placewinners

154 pounds

1. Pat Smith (Oklahoma)

2. Sean Bormet (Illinois)

3. J.J. Stanbro (New York)

4. Heath Sims (California)

5. Gino Choinard (Michigan)

6. Erik Rolfstad (Iowa)

7. James St. John (New York)

8. Willy Short (Minnesota)

The first USA Wrestling Junior Nationals was held in the Fieldhouse at the University of Iowa in 1971, and contested only in men’s freestyle. With the 2020 event cancelled due to the pandemic, this year’s version will be the 50th time our nation’s best high school wrestlers have come together to battle for national titles and All-American honors. Numerous World and Olympic champions and medalists have competed in this prestigious event.

The 2021 USA Wrestling USMC Junior and 16U National Championships will be held at the FargoDome in Fargo, N.D., July 16-23, with competition in men’s freestyle, Greco-Roman and women’s freestyle.


50th Junior Freestyle Nationals - Fantasy Bracket

When you click, you will see the bracket. To vote, click the “Cast Vote Now” button on the top of the bracket. You will be taken to a screen where you see each pairing and you can click a box to vote on the winner. You must enter your email to vote. If you need some additional information on any athlete, click the link for each athlete’s name and a graphic with a photo of the athlete and additional data on their Junior National freestyle career will appear.