NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeUSAW

Friday night’s star-studded quarterfinal pairings set for 2021 Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational

by Joe Wedra, USA Wrestling

Photo of Pat Glory by Sam Janicki
Quarterfinal pairings are set at the 2021 Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational as wrestling kicked off this morning at the Las Vegas Convention Center. The night’s quarterfinal matches will begin at 6:00 p.m. pacific time.
Ohio State leads the way going into the quarterfinals with eight wrestlers still in their respective championship brackets. The Buckeyes are led by No. 1 seed Tate Orndorff (285 pounds) and No. 2 seeds Sammy Sasso (149) and Ethan Smith (174).
Nebraska, which had a standout showing in the day’s first session, will send seven wrestlers to the quarterfinals. The Huskers are led by No. 1 seed at 174 pounds Michael Labriola.
A pair of former NCAA champions will wrestle tonight, looking to claim CKLV titles this weekend. Cornell’s No. 1 Yianni Diakomihalis (149) will wrestle Minnesota’s No. 9 Michael Blockhus, while Stanford’s No. 2 Shane Griffith (165) will match up against No. 10 Joshua Ogunsanya of Columbia. Evan Wick (Cal Poly) is the top seed at 165 pounds.
In total, 39 of the 40 wrestlers ranked as the No. 1 through No. 4 seeds at each weight are still wrestling through the front side. Perhaps the biggest upset of the day came at 174 pounds, when Cal Poly’s No. 14 Adam Kemp knocked off Cornell’s No. 3 Chris Foca, 3-2, in the Round of 16. Kemp is the son of Lee Kemp, a three-time World champion for the U.S.
Three wrestlers who did not enter the tournament with pre-seeds have made it into tonight’s quarterfinals, two competing at 133 pounds. Columbia’s Mason Clarke and Navy’s Joshua Koderhandt will wrestle tonight, looking for a berth into the semifinals at 133.
Koderhandt knocked off Purdue’s sixth-seeded Matt Ramos, 7-2, in the opening round to set the tone for his tournament. He pinned Kent State’s Brandon Fenton in the Round of 16 to make it into the quarters. Clarke defeated Priceton’s Nick Masters in the Round of 16 – Masters knocked off Northern Colorado’s fifth-seeded Mosha Schwartz in the first round.
Tonight’s session begins at 6:00 p.m. pacific time and will feature the quarterfinal bouts as well as consolation matches. Fans can watch all of the action live on FloWrestling.
The quarterfinal pairings can be found below.

At Las Vegas, Nevada, December 3-4

Quarterfinal pairings

125 pounds
No. 1 Pat Glory (Princeton) vs. No. 9 Jace Koelzer (Northern Colorado)
No. 5 Joe Manchio (Columbia) vs. No. 4 Jack Medley (Michigan)
No. 3 Malik Heinselman (Ohio State) vs. No. 6 Brandon Kaylor (Oregon State)
No. 7 Jacob Allen (Navy) vs. No. 2 Devin Schroder (Purdue)
133 pounds
No. 1 Chris Cannon (Northwestern) vs. No. 9 Jake Gilva (Minnesota)
Mason Clarke (Columbia) vs. No. 4 Devan Turner (Oregon State)
No. 3 Dylan Ragusin (Michigan) vs. Joshua Koderhandt (Navy)
No. 7 Haiden Drury (Utah Valley) vs. No. 2 Chance Rich (Cal State-Bakersfield)
141 pounds
No. 1 Clay Carlson (South Dakota State) vs. No. 8 Jake Bergeland (Minnesota)
No. 5 Parker Filius (Purdue) vs. No. 4 Grant Willits (Oregon State)
No. 3 Chad Red (Nebraska) vs. No. 6 Dylan D’Emilio (Ohio State)
No. 7 Lawrence Saenz (Cal Poly) vs. No. 2 Andrew Alirez (Northern Colorado)
149 pounds
No. 1 Yianni Diakomihalis (Cornell) vs. No. 9 Michael Blockhus (Minnesota)
No. 5 Ridge Lovett (Nebraska) vs. No. 4 Jaden Abas (Stanford)
No. 3 Yahya Thomas (Northwestern) vs. No. 6 Legend Lamer (Cal Poly)
No. 7 Mitch Moore (Oklahoma) vs. No. 2 Sammy Sasso (Ohio State)
157 pounds
No. 1 Ryan Deakin (Northwestern) vs. No. 8 Hunter Willits (Oregon State)
No. 5 Jacob Wright (Wyoming) vs. No. 4 Kendall Coleman (Purdue)
No. 3 Peyton Robb (Nebraska) vs. No. 11 Dazjon Casto (Citadel)
No. 7 Will Lewan (Michigan) vs. No. 2 Quincy Monday (Princeton)
165 pounds
No. 1 Evan Wick (Cal Poly) vs. Matthew Malcom (Nebraska Kearney)
No. 5 Philip Conigliaro (Harvard) vs. No. 4 Cam Amine (Michigan)
No. 3 Carson Kharchla (Ohio State) vs. No. 6 Julian Ramirez (Cornell)
No. 10 Joshua Ogunsanya (Columbia) vs. No. 2 Shane Griffith (Stanford)
174 pounds
No. 1 Michael Labriola (Nebraska) vs. No. 8 Aaron Olmos (Oregon State)
No. 5 Cade Devos (South Dakota State) vs. No. 4 Hayden Hastings (Wyoming)
No. 14 Adam Kemp (Cal Poly) vs. No. 6 Troy Fisher (Northwestern)
No. 7 Gerrit Hijenhuis (Purdue) vs. No. 2 Ethan Smith (Ohio State)
184 pounds
No. 1 Tate Samuelson (Wyoming) vs. No. 8 David Key (Navy)
No. 5 Kaleb Romero (Ohio State) vs. No. 4 Darrien Roberts (Oklahoma)
No. 3 Jonathan Loew (Cornell) vs. No. 6 Max Lyon (Purdue)
No. 7 Travis Stefanik (Princeton) vs. No. 2 Taylor Venz (Nebraska)
197 pounds
No. 1 Jake Woodley (Oklahoma) vs. No. 8 Jacob Cardenas (Cornell)
No. 5 Lou Deprez (Binghampton) vs. No. 4 Eric Schultz (Nebraska)
No. 3 Stephen Buchanan (Wyoming) vs. No. 11 Alan Cothier (Northern Colorado)
No. 10 Gavin Hoffman (Ohio State) vs. No. 2 Patrick Brucki (Michigan)
285 pounds
No. 1 Tate Orndorff (Ohio State) vs. No. 8 Joe Doyle (Binghampton)
No. 5 Lucas Davison (Northwestern) vs. No. 4 Yaraslau Slavikouski (Harvard)
No. 3 Christian Lance (Nebraska) vs. No. 6 AJ Nevills (South Dakota State)
No. 10 Gary Traub (Oregon State) vs. No. 2 Brian Andrews (Wyoming)

Team scores after the first session
1: Ohio State, 32
2: Nebraska, 28.5
3: Wyoming, 24.5
4: Purdue, 24
5: Northwestern, 23
6: Oregon State, 22
7: Oklahoma, 21.5
8: (tie) Cornell and Utah Valley, 21
10: Navy, 20.5
11: Michigan, 18.5
12: Minnesota, 18
13: (tie) Cal Poly and Nebraska-Kearney, 17.5
15. Northern Colorado, 17
Competition schedule
All times listed are U.S. pacific time
Friday, December 3
6:00 p.m.: Quarterfinal and consolation rounds
Saturday, December 4
9:00 a.m.: Consolation rounds
10:00 a.m.: Championship semifinal round, consolation semifinal round, consolation 5th and 7th-place matches
3:00 p.m.: Championship finals and third-place matches