NewsUSA WrestlingInternationalCollegeUSAW

Boykin repeats as Senior Greco-Roman National champion, Provisor, Nowry, Tuma, Roberts are past champs to win again

by Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling

Ben Provisor scores a takedown in the Senior Nationals finalsBen Provisor takes down Peyton Walsh in the Senior Nationals finals. Photo by Sam Janicki.

CORALVILLE, Iowa – Nick Boykin of the Sunkist Kids was the only repeat champion at the Senior Nationals in Greco-Roman, which completed on Friday night at the Xtream Arena.

Boykin, who competes for Ohio State, was trailing James Souza of Army WCAP, 7-0, before he was able to secure a pin in 1:48 to win his second straight Senior National title.

Boykin was joined by former Senior National champions Max Nowry of the U.S. Army (55 kg), Dalton Roberts of the U.S. Army (60 kg), Hayden Tuma of Suples WC (67 kg) and Ben Provisor of the New York AC (82 kg) among those who won their weight classes.

The top five in each weight class has qualified for the 2021 Senior World Team Trials in September, which will determine the 2021 U.S. Senior World Team that will compete in Oslo, Norway.

Nowry, who was fifth in the 2019 World Championships, won his third Senior Nationals title with a 1-1 decision over Brady Koontz of Titan Mercury/Ohio RTC in the finals. It was a rematch of their 2109 Final X series, also won by Nowry.

Roberts, a 2018 Senior Nationals champion and World Team member, defeated Dylan Koontz (Brady’s twin brother) in an 8-0 technical fall in the championship finals.

Tuma, who won a Senior title in 2016, secured a 10-1 technical fall over 2019 Junior World bronze medalist Alston Nutter of the Sunkist Kids, 10-1 in the finals.

Provisor, a two-time Olympian, claimed his fourth Senior Nationals crown in a 6-3 victory over 2021 U.S. Olympic Team Trials runner-up Peyton Walsh of the U.S. Marines, 6-3. He avenged a loss to Walsh at the U.S. Olympic Team Trials a few weeks ago in Fort Worth, Texas. Provisor, 30, announced yesterday that he had signed to compete in college for NAIA power Grand View, which is located in Iowa.

The other five champions this evening won their first Senior National titles.

In a battle of past Senior National Team members from the U.S. Marines, Xavier Johnson defeated Jamel Johnson in an 8-0 technical fall in 45 seconds to claim the title. Xavier Johnson was named Outstanding Wrestler in the tournament.

It was a great day for the U.S. Marine Corps, which won the team title, defeating longtime rival Army WCAP, which finished second in the tournament.

Other first-time Senior National champions were Randon Miranda of Rise RTC (63 kg), Alec Ortiz of the Minnesota Storm (77 kg), Spencer Woods of Army WCAP (87 kg) and Malcom Allen of South Dakota (130 kg).

Miranda secured a 9-0 technical fall over David Stepanian of the New York AC in the finals. Ortiz edged Minnesota Storm teammate Ryan Epps in the finals, 2-1.

Woods, a past Senior Nationals runner-up, won his first title with a 9-3 win over Tommy Brackett of Tennessee. Allen stopped a past Senior Nationals champion, Daniel Miller of the Marines, in the finals by a 5-2 margin.

At Coralville, Iowa, April 30, 2021

Greco-Roman results

55 KG
1st Max Nowry (Army (WCAP)) dec. Brady Koontz (TMWC/ Ohio Regional Training Center), 1-1
3rd Jacob Cochran (Florida) tech fall Dalton Duffield (Army (WCAP)), 12-4 1:41
5th Gabriel Gray (Texas Panhandle Wrestling Club) tech fall Cole Smith (Army (WCAP)), 10-0 1:40
7th Dane Durlacher (Illinois Regional Training Center/Illini WC) forfeit Elijah Varona (Viking Wrestling Club (IA))

60 KG
1st Dalton Roberts (Army (WCAP)) tech. fall Dylan Koontz (TMWC/ Ohio Regional Training Center), 8-0 1:10
3rd Alex Thomsen (Nebraska Wrestling Training Center) tech. fall King Sandoval (Bandits Wrestling Club), 8-0 1:06
5th Kevon Powell (Louisiana) tech. fall Thomas Hicks (Tennessee), 8-0 1:30
7th Nelson Baker (Northern Illinois RTC)

63 KG
1st Randon Miranda (Rise RTC) tech fall David Stepanian (New York Athletic Club), 9-0 3:50
3rd We Rachal IL (Illinois Regional Training Center/Illini WC) dec. Corbin Nirschl NE (MWC Wrestling Academy), 6-5
5th Mason Lewis (Pennsylvania) forfeit Lillashawn Coleman CO (Army (WCAP))
7th Jack Huffman (MWC Wrestling Academy) dec. Raffaele Masi (Curby 3 Style Wrestling Club), 7-6

67 KG
1st Hayden Tuma (Suples Wrestling Club) tech..fall Alston Nutter (Sunkist Kids Wrestling Club), 10-1 2:16
3rd Nolan Baker (New York Athletic Club) forfeit Jessy Williams (New York Athletic Club)
5th Morgan Flaharty (New York Athletic Club) dec. Colton Rasche (Marines), 7-2
7th Timothy Nevarez (California) tech fall Ty Lydic (Westmoreland County Wrestling Club), 11-0 0:23

72 KG
1st Xavier Johnson (Marines) tech fall Jamel Johnson (Marines), 8-0 0:45
3rd Michael Hooker (Army (WCAP)) forfeit Griffin Parriott (Minnesota)
5th Justin Koethe (Ubasa Wrestling Academy) tech fall Hunter Murphy (Olivet Wrestling Club), 8-0 0:29
7th Ryan Ojeda (California) pin Micah Arakawa (Grapplers HI), 3:17

77 KG
1st Alec Ortiz (Minnesota Storm) dec. Ryan Epps (Minnesota Storm), 2-1
3rd Chance Marsteller (Titan Mercury Wrestling Club (TMWC)) tech. fall Fritz Schierl (Titan Mercury Wrestling Club (TMWC)), 8-0 1:40
5th Britton Holmes (Colorado) forfeit Zachary Grimes (Colorado),
7th Eddie Smith (Dubuque Wrestling Club) tech fall Tony Raupp (Minot MatWrats Wrestling Club), 9-0 1:44

82 KG
1st Ben Provisor (New York Athletic Club) dec. Peyton Walsh (Marines), 6-3
3rd George Sikes (New York Athletic Club) dec. John Hagey (505 Wrestling Club), 3-1
5th Kyle Briggs (Iowa) dec. John Kent (Louisiana), 11-8
7th Jordan Lara (Texas Panhandle Wrestling Club) forfeit Austin Dohl-pantaleo (Team Tornado Wrestling Club)

87 KG
1st Spencer Woods (Army (WCAP)) dec. Tommy Brackett (Tennessee), 9-3
3rd Terrence Zaleski (Marines) tech fall Joel Nivar (Marines), 9-0 1:27
5th Dan Olsen (Combat W.C. School of Wrestling) pin Nick Reenan (TMWC/ Wolfpack Wrestling Club), 3:14
7th Timothy Young (Illinois) tech fall Job Ayala (Wisconsin), 13-5 2:25

97 KG
1st Nicholas Boykin (Sunkist Kids Wrestling Club) pin James Souza (Army (WCAP)), 1:48
3rd Vaughn Monreal-berner (Marines) forfeit Chad Porter (Sunkist Kids Wrestling Club)
5th Diante Cooper (Air Force Regional Training Center) tech fall Michael Rogers (TMWC/ Nittany Lion Wrestling Club), 10-0 2:42
7th Christian Rouleau (Minnesota Storm) pin Ben Hughes (Southern Oregon Regional Training Center), 0:19

130 KG
1st Malcolm Allen (South Dakota) dec. Daniel Miller (Marines), 5-2
3rd Brandon Metz (Bison Wrestling Club) dec. Thomas Helton (Southern Illinois Training Center), 6-0
5th Kaleb Reeves (Iowa) pin Courtney Freeman (Marines), 0:19
7th Lee Herrington (Nebraska Golden Eagles Wrestling Club) dec. Tom Foote (South Side Wrestling Club), 3-1

Team Champions – U.S. Marine Corps
Team Runners-up – Army WCAP
Outstanding Wrestler – Xavier Johnson (USMC), 72 kg
USA Wrestling Logo Secondary Stroke

Follow us


  • Accessibility
  • Site Map
  • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
  • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab
  • Ombuds , opens in a new tab

© 2023 USA Wrestling. All Rights Reserved.