NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeUSAW

Clackamas CC wins fourth straight NJCAA National title, 9.5 points ahead of Iowa Central

by Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling

NJCAA National Champions Clackamas CC. Photo by Johnnie Johnson

COUNCIL BLUFFS, Iowa – With one champion, three runners-up and nine All-Americans, Clackamas CC won its fourth straight NAIA National Championships on Saturday.

The Clackamas champion was Alex Ramirez, who defeated Fabian Padilla of Iowa Western in the finals at 157 pounds by a 9-4 margin. Runners-up for Clackamas were Justin Mejia (133), Marckis Branford (141) and Steele Starren (165).

Clackamas scored 136.5 points, ahead of runner-up Iowa Central with 127 points. Northeastern Oklahoma A&M was third with 118 points, Western Wyoming was fourth with 116.5 points and NIACC was fifth with 109 points.

Iowa Central had a pair of individual champions, Keaton Geerts (149) and Jorden Pryor (285).

Christian Minto of North Iowa Area CC repeated as NJCAA champion at 165 pounds, defeating Clackamas’ Starren in the title match by major decision, 14-5.

At 174 pounds, Josh Kenny of Muskegon defeated 2021 NJCAA champion Jose Rodriguez of Iowa Central, with a pin in 4:53.

Other individual champions were Garrett Ricks of Western Wyoming (125), Jovan Garcia of Southwestern Oregon (133), Jacob Mitchell of Pratt (141), Josh Mcfarland of Iowa Western (184) and Jose Valdez of NIACC (197).


At Council Bluffs, Iowa


1st Garrett Ricks (Western Wyoming) DEC Jakason Burks (Iowa Western), 8-6 SV

3rd Jett Strickenberger (North Idaho) DQ Nicolas Aguilar (Clackamas)

5th Nick Digiacomo (Rowan College of South Jersey-Gloucester) FOR Riley Weir (Labette), 0-0

7th Braydon Mogle (Northeastern) DEC Kevin Lopez (Nassau), 5-0


1st Jovan Garcia (Southwestern Oregon) DEC Justin Mejia (Clackamas), 6-3

3rd Caleb Meekins (Indian Hills) F Dalen Moore (Northeast Oklahoma A&M), 0:25

5th Ryan Smith (Cowley) DEC Joseph Mecham (Western Wyoming), 7-4

7th Brant Porter (North Idaho) M FOR Clarence Lee-green (Niacc), 0-0 0:00


1st Jacob Mitchell (Pratt) DEC Marckis Branford (Clackamas), 15-8

3rd Creighton Baughman (Iowa Western) DEC Parker Dobrocky (Rochester Community & Technical College), 5-1

5th Quentrevion Campbell (Niacc) TF Caleb Nathan (Western Wyoming), 21-6 7:00

7th Darnai Heard (Iowa Central) M FOR Frankie Gissendanner (Niagara County), 0-0 0:00

149 LBS

1st Keaton Geerts (Iowa Central) MD Jake Beeson (Pratt), 9-0

3rd Victor Jacinto (Clackamas) DEC Dylan Brown (Northeast Oklahoma A&M), 6-4 SV

5th Nathan Lendt (Ellsworth) M FOR Deville Dentis (Niacc), 0-0 0:00

7th River Wardle (Western Wyoming) F Jalin Conner (Bryant & Stratton), 0:45


1st Alex Ramirez (Clackamas) DEC Fabian Padilla (Iowa Western), 9-4

3rd Nolan Miller-johnston (Iowa Central) DEC William Vonruden (Rochester Community & Technical College), 4-2

5th Alfonso Martinez (North Idaho) DEC Gage Shetley (Northeast Oklahoma A&M), 6-4

7th Destin Jones (Indian Hills) DEC Brenden Parks (Harper), 3-2


1st Christian Minto (Niacc) MD Steele Starren (Clackamas), 14-5

3rd Mirzo Khayitov (Ellsworth) F Ledger Petracek (North Idaho), 1:38

5th Damn Ashworth (Minnesota West Community & Technical College) NC Adam Busiello (Nassau)

7th Josh Ramirez (Iowa Central) DEC Grant Lyman (Iowa Western), 6-0


1st Josh Kenny (Muskegon) F Jose Rodriguez (Iowa Central), 4:52

3rd Christian Smoot (Western Wyoming) DEC Dayton Fields (Northeast Oklahoma A&M), 13-10

5th Ein Carlos (Niacc) M FOR Trent Silva (Clackamas), 0-0 0:00

7th Navarro Nanpuya (North Idaho) F Cayden Atkins (Pratt), 2:25


1st Josh Mcfarland (Iowa Western) DEC Deron Pulliam (Indian Hills), 3-2

3rd Tyce Raddon (Western Wyoming) DEC Devin Winston (North Idaho), 9-2

5th Jackson White (Northeast Oklahoma A&M) F Jr Scott (Southwestern Oregon), 2:42

7th Bronson Jewell (Muskegon) DEC Giovanni Jackson (Harper), 7-5


1st Jose Valdez (Niacc) DEC Massoma Endene (Iowa Lakes), 6-4 SV

3rd Zach Ferris (Cloud County) DEC Demarco Lee (Harper), 7-5

5th Michael Gasper (Clackamas) MD Khris Walton (Indian Hills), 11-2

7th Tyler Scheurn (Western Wyoming) DEC Seth Seago (Northeast Oklahoma A&M), 6-4


1st Jorden Pryor (Iowa Central) DEC Devon Dawson (Pratt), 10-3

3rd Dan Baker (Northeast Oklahoma A&M) F Cohle Feliciano (North Idaho), 2:07

5th Shane Whitney (Camden County) DEC Kyle Richards (Clackamas), 6-3

7th Kawaun Deboe (Indian Hills) DEC Jacob Rahn (Iowa Lakes), 6-0

Team Standings

1 Clackamas 136.5

2 Iowa Central 127

3 Northeast Oklahoma A&M 118

4 Western Wyoming 116.5

5 Niacc 109

6 Iowa Western 106

7 North Idaho 99.5

8 Indian Hills 88

9 Pratt 79

10 Ellsworth 59

11 Rochester Community & Technical College 45.5

12 Harper 45

13 Southwestern Oregon 44.5

14 Cowley 44

15 Muskegon 43

16 Nassau 37.5

17 Iowa Lakes 36.5

18 Cloud County 29

19 Niagara County 25.5

20 Triton 22.5

21 Northeastern 18