NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeUSAW

Clackamas CC, seeking fourth straight team title, takes lead over Iowa Central on day one of NJCAA Nationals

by Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling

Returning national champion Christian Minto (NIACC) locks up Mirzo Khayitov (Ellsworth CC) at 165 pounds. Photo by Johnnie Johnson.

COUNCIL BLUFFS, Iowa - Led by seven semifinals, Clackamas CC took a 12.5 point lead over Iowa Central after day one of the NJCAA Nationals on Friday. Clackamas is seeking its fourth straight NCJAA team title.

Clackamas wrestlers in the semifinals are Nicolas Aguilar (125), Justin Mejia (133), Marckis Branford (141), Victor Jacinto (149), Alex Ramirez (157), Steele Starren (165) and Trent Silva (174). Branford, Jacinto and Ramirez are all No. 1 seeds at their weight class. Clackamas scored 99 team points on day one.

Silva, the No. 9 seed, knocked off No. 1 seed Christian Smoot of Western Wyoming in the quarterfinals in a 15-6 major decision at 174. Smoot was the only No. 1 seed to lose on Friday.

Iowa Central, with 86.5 points, has placed three in the semifinals, Nolan Miller-Johnston (157), Jose Rodriguez (174) and Jorden Pryor (285). Rodriguez, a returning national champion, and Pryor both came in as No. 1 seeds.

Northeastern Oklahoma A&M is only 1.5 points behind Iowa Central in third place, with four semifinalists, Dalen Moore (133), Dylan Brown (149), Jackson White (184) and Dan Baker (285).

There are three 2021 NJCAA national champions who have reached the semifinals, Iowa Central’s Rodriguez, Christian Minto of North Iowa Area CC (165) and Cloud County’s Zach Ferris (197).

Western Wyoming, with three semifinalists, are fourth with 80.5 points, with North Idaho, with one semifinalist, is fifth with 70 points.

The event concludes on Saturday, with live broadcast on FloWrestling and live brackets on FloArena.


At Council Bluffs, Iowa

Semifinal pairings


Garrett Ricks (Western Wyoming) vs. Nicolas Aguilar (Clackamas)

Jett Strickenberger (North Idaho) vs. Jakason Burks (Iowa Western)


Caleb Meekins (Indian Hills) vs. Justin Mejia (Clackamas)

Dalen Moore (Northeast Oklahoma A&M) vs. Jovan Garcia (Southwestern Oregon)


Marckis Branford (Clackamas) vs. Parker Dobrocky (Rochester Community & Technical College)

Caleb Nathan (Western Wyoming) vs. Jacob Mitchell (Pratt)


Victor Jacinto (Clackamas) vs. Jake Beeson (Pratt)

Dylan Brown (Northeast Oklahoma A&M) vs. Keaton Geerts (Iowa Central) 1:37


Alex Ramirez (Clackamas) vs. William Vonruden (Rochester Community & Technical College)

Fabian Padilla (Iowa Western) vs. Nolan Miller-Johnston (Iowa Central)


Christian Minto (Niacc) vs. Ledger Petracek (North Idaho)

Damn Ashworth (Minnesota West Community & Technical College) vs. Steele Starren (Clackamas)


Trent Silva (Clackamas) vs. Josh Kenny (Muskegon)

Ein Carlos (Niacc) vs. Jose Rodriguez (Iowa Central)


Deron Pulliam (Indian Hills) vs. Tyce Raddon (Western Wyoming)

Josh Mcfarland (Iowa Western) vs. Jackson White (Northeast Oklahoma A&M)


Jose Valdez (Niacc) vs. Zach Ferris (Cloud County)

Massoma Endene (Iowa Lakes) vs. Demarco Lee (Harper)


Jorden Pryor (Iowa Central) vs. Shane Whitney (Camden County)

Devon Dawson (Pratt) vs. Dan Baker (Northeast Oklahoma A&M)

Top 20 Teams after Day One

1 Clackamas 99

2 Iowa Central 86.5

3 Northeast Oklahoma A&M 84

4 Western Wyoming 80.5

5 North Idaho 79

6 Iowa Western 71

7 Niacc 70.5

8 Indian Hills 67

9 Pratt 52

10 Harper 41.5 -

11 Ellsworth 40.5

12 Rochester Community & Technical College 38.5

13 Cowley 37.5

14 Nassau 34

15 Southwestern Oregon 30

16 Iowa Lakes 29.5

17 Muskegon 27

18 Niagara County 25.5

19 Cloud County 24.5

20 Triton 22.5

Quarterfinals results


Garrett Ricks (Western Wyoming) DEF Cruz Aguilar (Niacc), 12-6 4:54

Nicolas Aguilar (Clackamas) DEC Nick Digiacomo (Rowan College of South Jersey-Gloucester), 6-1

Jett Strickenberger (North Idaho) TF Luqman Masud (Joliet), 15-0 6:56

Jakason Burks (Iowa Western) TF Tony Kuhn (Niagara County), 16-0 3:50


Caleb Meekins (Indian Hills) DEC Clarence Lee-green (Niacc), 5-2

Justin Mejia (Clackamas) MD Ryan Smith (Cowley), 12-1

Dalen Moore (Northeast Oklahoma A&M) MD Joseph Mecham (Western Wyoming), 10-1

Jovan Garcia (Southwestern Oregon) DEC Elon Rodriguez (Triton), 3-1 SV


Marckis Branford (Clackamas) F Creighton Baughman (Iowa Western), 4:25

Parker Dobrocky (Rochester Community & Technical College) DEC Darnai Heard (Iowa Central), 4-1

Caleb Nathan (Western Wyoming) DEC Cooper Evans (Carl Albert), 4-2

acob Mitchell (Pratt) DEC Quentrevion Campbell (Niacc), 7-2


Victor Jacinto (Clackamas) DEC Jalin Conner (Bryant & Stratton), 6-5

Jake Beeson (Pratt) DEC Deville Dentis (Niacc), 6-0

Dylan Brown (Northeast Oklahoma A&M) F Jake Davis (Northland Community & Technical College), 6:43

Keaton Geerts (Iowa Central) F River Wardle (Western Wyoming), 1:37


Alex Ramirez (Clackamas) F Payton Clark (Colby), 5:24

William Vonruden (Rochester Community & Technical College) DEC Alfonso Martinez (North Idaho), 4-3

Fabian Padilla (Iowa Western) DEC Gage Shetley (Northeast Oklahoma A&M), 6-1

Nolan Miller-Johnston (Iowa Central) DEC Brenden Parks (Harper), 8-6


Christian Minto (Niacc) DEC Mirzo Khayitov (Ellsworth), 4-2 TB2

Ledger Petracek (North Idaho) M FOR Justin Mcdougald (Niagara County), 5-0 1:12

Damn Ashworth (Minnesota West Community & Technical College) MD Collin Smith (Western Wyoming), 10-0

Steele Starren (Clackamas) DEC Scott Radke (Pratt), 6-2


Trent Silva (Clackamas) MD Christian Smoot (Western Wyoming), 15-6

Josh Kenny (Muskegon) DEC Isaiah Alford (Iowa Western), 10-7

Ein Carlos (Niacc) DEC Dayton Fields (Northeast Oklahoma A&M), 6-4

Jose Rodriguez (Iowa Central) MD Navarro Nanpuya (North Idaho), 13-5


Deron Pulliam (Indian Hills) DEC Bronson Jewell (Muskegon), 9-3

Tyce Raddon (Western Wyoming) MD Deston Miller (Pratt), 13-5

Josh Mcfarland (Iowa Western) MD Jr Scott (Southwestern Oregon), 16-4

Jackson White (Northeast Oklahoma A&M) DEC Giovanni Jackson (Harper), 5-4 SV


Jose Valdez (Niacc) DEC Tyler Scheurn (Western Wyoming), 9-4

Zach Ferris (Cloud County) TF Ryker Blackburn (Northwest), 18-1 6:55

Massoma Endene (Iowa Lakes) DEC Seth Seago (Northeast Oklahoma A&M), 7-6

Demarco Lee (Harper) DEC Michael Gasper (Clackamas), 3-1 SV


Jorden Pryor (Iowa Central) F Jordan Williams (Harper), 2:03

Shane Whitney (Camden County) DEC Kyle Richards (Clackamas), 10-5

Devon Dawson (Pratt) DEC Cohle Feliciano (North Idaho), 6-4 SV

Dan Baker (Northeast Oklahoma A&M) MD Kawaun Deboe (Indian Hills), 11-2