NewsUSA WrestlingCollegeUSAW

Big Ten releases the 2022 Big Ten wrestling schedule

by Big Ten Conference

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference office announced the dates and opponents for the 2021-22 wrestling season Wednesday. The schedule features eight conference duals for each of the 14 Big Ten programs and concludes with the 2022 Big Ten Wrestling Championships, to be held over the first weekend in March at Nebraska.

All 14 teams will open Big Ten action Jan. 7-17. On opening night, Jan. 7, reigning Big Ten Champion Iowa will play host to Minnesota, while Big Ten Dual Meet Co-Champion Penn State will travel to Maryland. Indiana will open its conference slate against Rutgers in Piscataway, N.J., Northwestern will visit Wisconsin, and Purdue will travel to Nebraska. The following weekend (Jan. 14-17), Illinois and Michigan will make their conference season debuts by traveling to Rutgers and Ohio State, respectively.

The final regular-season dual will take place Feb. 20, with Nebraska hosting the defending Big Ten Dual Meet Co-Champion Iowa.

The 108th Big Ten Wrestling Championships will be held March 5-6, 2022, at Pinnacle Bank Arena in Lincoln, Neb., with Nebraska playing host to the event for the first time. All 14 conference schools will participate in the championships, which begins Saturday, March 5, with the first-round, quarterfinal, semifinal and wrestleback matches taking place during Sessions I and II. Action continues Sunday, March 6, with consolation semifinals and seventh-place matches getting underway during Session III and the first-, third- and fifth-place matches highlighting Session IV.

The 2021-22 Big Ten wrestling schedule can be found in the link above. Times and television designations will be announced at a later date.


Friday January 7
Minnesota at Iowa
Penn State at Maryland
Purdue at Nebraska
Indiana at Rutgers
Northwestern at Wisconsin

Sunday January 9
Purdue at Iowa
Northwestern at Minnesota
Indiana at Penn State
Rutgers at Wisconsin

TBD January 7-9
Ohio State at Michigan State

Friday January 14
Illinois at Rutgers
Iowa at Northwestern
Michigan at Ohio State
Nebraska at Minnesota

Saturday January 15
Michigan State at Purdue

Sunday January 16
Iowa at Illinois
Wisconsin at Minnesota
Rutgers at Penn State

Monday January 17
Michigan State at Indiana

Friday January 21
Maryland at Indiana
Penn State at Michigan
Rutgers at Michigan State
Iowa at Ohio State
Illinois at Purdue
Nebraska at Wisconsin

Sunday January 23
Rutgers at Michigan
Penn State at Michigan State
Nebraska at Northwestern
Maryland at Ohio State
Wisconsin at Purdue

Friday January 28
Penn State at Iowa
Wisconsin at Maryland
Minnesota at Michigan

Saturday January 29
Northwestern at Illinois
Purdue at Indiana

Sunday January 30
Michigan at Maryland

Friday February 4

Minnesota at Illinois
Michigan State at Maryland
Michigan at Nebraska
Ohio State at Penn State

Saturday February 5
Wisconsin at Iowa

Sunday February 6
Indiana at Illinois
Maryland at Northwestern
Minnesota at Purdue
Ohio State at Rutgers

TBD February 6 or 11
Nebraska at Penn State

Friday February 11
Michigan at Indiana
Northwestern at Michigan State
Ohio State at Minnesota
Illinois at Wisconsin

Saturday February 12
Maryland at Rutgers

Sunday February 13
Michigan State at Michigan
Illinois at Nebraska
Indiana at Ohio State

Saturday, February 19
Purdue at Northwestern

Sunday February 20
Iowa at Nebraska

NOTE: All dates subject to change
USA Wrestling Logo Secondary Stroke

Follow us


  • Accessibility
  • Site Map
  • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
  • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab
  • Ombuds , opens in a new tab

© 2023 USA Wrestling. All Rights Reserved.