Helen Maroulis runs with the American flag after winning the 2021 World Championships.
Tony Rotundo, Wrestlers Are Warriors

Helen Maroulis runs with the American flag after winning the 2021 World Championships.

2024 U.S. Olympic Team TrialsUSAWInternational

Women’s freestyle pre-seeds released for U.S. Olympic Team Trials – Wrestling

by Richard Immel, USA Wrestling

The women’s freestyle pre-seeds for the 2024 U.S. Olympic Team Trials – Wrestling have been finalized by the USA Wrestling National Coaching Staff ahead of this week’s much-anticipated event in State College, Pa.

Athletes awarded the No. 1 seed for the challenge tournament in each weight class are Audrey Jimenez at 50 kg, Vayle-Rae Baker at 53 kg, Xochitl Mota-Pettis at 57 kg, Mallory Velte at 62 kg, Forrest Molinari at 68 kg and Kennedy Blades at 76 kg.

Six athletes will forego the challenge tournament and advance directly to the best-of-three championship series set for Saturday night at Bryce Jordan Center—Sarah Hildebrandt at 50 kg, Dominique Parrish at 53 kg, Helen Maroulis at 57 kg, Kayla Miracle at 62 kg, Amit Elor at 68 kg and Adeline Gray at 76 kg. Hildebrandt, Maroulis and Gray earned automatic berths to the championship series by medaling at the 2023 World Championships. Parrish, Miracle and Elor find themselves in the championship series by making the finals at the Pan American Olympic Games Qualifier. All six women qualified their weight class for the Olympic Games in Paris, France.

Three athletes will advance directly to the challenge tournament semifinals courtesy of winning a medal at the 2023 World Championships in an adjacent weight class—Jacarra Winchester at 53 kg, Jennifer Page at 62 kg and Macey Kilty at 62 kg. Winchester will be placed in the bottom side semifinal of her bracket. Since Page and Kilty are entered in the same weight class, they will be split with Page in the top side semifinal and Kilty in the bottom side semifinal.

Seeding criteria considered in the building of these seeds include the USA Wrestling Performance Index (PIN), head-to-head results, common opponents and tournament placements at national and international events.

Challenge tournament seeding and athletes sitting out to the semifinals or best-of-three championship series is not final until the completion of weigh-ins. The tournament will be re-seeded as necessary post-weigh-ins.  

Fans looking to attend the U.S. Olympic Team Trials in person can still purchase all session tickets and single session tickets through Ticketmaster.

For those unable to grab a ticket, fear not—all the action from Bryce Jordan Center will be broadcast by NBC properties, April 19-20. The Friday and Saturday evening sessions will be televised on USA Network. NBC’s streaming platform Peacock will host live streams of each mat throughout the competition.

Complete brackets and live results for the U.S. Olympic Team Trials will be hosted on Trackwrestling.com. Fans can also follow @usawrestling on the various social media platforms for regular updates throughout the event.

For more information about the U.S. Olympic Team Trials, please visit usawrestlingevents.com.

2024 U.S. Olympic Team Trials Wrestling | April 19-20, Bryce Jordan Center, State College, Pa.

Women’s Freestyle Pre-Seeds

50 kg
Best-of-Three Championship Series

Sarah Hildebrandt (USOPTC/New York AC)

Challenge Tournament

1. Audrey Jimenez (Sunkist Kids WC)

2. Sage Mortimer (Titan Mercury WC)

3. Samara Chavez (Team Tornado WC)

4. Erin Golston (New York AC)

5. Kaelani Shufeldt (California)

6. Kendra Ryan (Cardinal WC)

7. Mia Palumbo (Illinois)

8. Ava Bayless (Iowa Women’s WC/Titan Mercury WC)

9. Nyla Valencia (Iowa Women’s WC/Titan Mercury WC)

10. Emilie Gonzalez (Iowa Women’s WC/Titan Mercury WC)

53 kg
Best-of-Three Championship Series

Dominique Parrish (Sunkist Kids WC)

Challenge Tournament Semifinal

Bottom – Jacarra Winchester (Cowboy WC/Titan Mercury WC)

Challenge Tournament

1. Vayle-Rae Baker (West Point WC)

2. Katie Gomez (Sunkist Kids WC)

3. Haley Augello (Izzy Style Wrestling)

4. Areana Villaescusa (U.S. Army WCAP)

5. Alisha Howk (Sunkist Kids WC)

6. Felicity Taylor (Iowa Women’s WC/Titan Mercury WC)

7. Brianna Gonzalez (Iowa Women’s WC/Titan Mercury WC)

8. Sydney Petzinger (Cardinal WC)

9. Amy Mason (Titan Mercury WC)

10. Juliana Diaz (Missouri Baptist WC)

57 kg
Best-of-Three Championship Series

Helen Maroulis (Sunkist Kids WC)

Challenge Tournament

1. Xochitl Mota-Pettis (Rise RTC)

2. Amanda Martinez (Cardinal WC/TMWC)

3. Abigail Nette (U.S. Army WCAP)

4. Bridgette Duty (Army WCAP)

5. Alexandra Hedrick (USOPTC/TMWC)

6. Amani Jones (Cardinal WC)

7. Cristelle Rodriguez (Tiger WC)

8. Shelby Moore (Bearcat WC)

9. Cameron Guerin (Bearcat WC/TMWC)

10. Alexis Janiak (Illinois)

11. Carolina Moreno (Southern Oregon)

62 kg
Best-of-Three Championship Series

Kayla Miracle (Sunkist Kids WC)

Challenge Tournament Semifinal

Top – Jennifer Page (Nittany Lion WC/Titan Mercury WC)

Bottom – Macey Kilty (Sunkist Kids WC)

Challenge Tournament

1. Mallory Velte (Beaver Dam WC/Titan Mercury WC)

2. Adaugo Nwachukwu (U.S. Army WCAP)

3. Katerina Lange (Minnesota Storm)

4. Ashlynn Ortega (New York AC)

5. Maya Letona (New York City RTC/Titan Mercury WC)

6. SaVannah Cosme (Sunkist Kids WC)

7. Lauren Louive (New York AC)

8. Claire DiCugno (King)

68 kg
Best-of-Three Championship Series

Amit Elor (New York City RTC/Titan Mercury WC)

Challenge Tournament

1. Forrest Molinari (Sunkist Kids WC)

2. Alexandria Glaude (Beaver Dam RTC /Titan Mercury WC)

3. Reese Larramendy (Iowa Women’s WC/Titan Mercury WC)

4. Aine Drury (California)

5. Alara Boyd (Cardinal WC)

6. Brooklyn Hays (Minnesota Gold WC)

7. Kaylynn Albrecht (USOPTC/Titan Mercury WC)

8. Solin Piearcy (Titan Mercury WC)

9. Chloe Ogden (Florida)

10. Caitlyn Davis (Southern Oregon)

76 kg
Best-of-Three Championship Series

Adeline Gray (New York AC)

Challenge Tournament

1. Kennedy Blades (Sunkist Kids WC)

2. Kylie Welker (Iowa Women’s WC/Titan Mercury WC)

3. Yelena Makoyed (Cardinal WC/Titan Mercury WC)

4. Dymond Guilford (USOPTC/Titan Mercury WC)

5. Tristan Kelly (U.S. Army WCAP)

6. Precious Wieser (Titan Mercury WC)

7. Marlynne Deede (Iowa Women’s WC)

8. Skylar Grote (USOPTC/Titan Mercury WC)

9. Rose Cassioppi (Iowa Women’s WC)

10. Madison Sandquist (Rise RTC)

11. Tavia Heidelberg-Tillotson (Menlo)