Christian Moody, University of Oklahoma
Richard Immel


Oklahoma to remain in Big 12 Conference as affiliate member

by Josh Poteet, University of Oklahoma Athletics

NORMAN, Okla. – The University of Oklahoma Athletics Department announced Thursday that upon the university's move to the Southeastern Conference on July 1, 2024, OU's wrestling program will remain in the Big 12 Conference as an affiliate member.

The announcement followed a vote by the Big 12 Conference's governance group, which consists of university presidents and athletics directors.

The seven-time national champion Sooner wrestling program has won 24 conference championships, including three in the Big 12 era (1996-present). Oklahoma has produced 35 individual Big 12 champions in addition to its 64 All-Americans and eight individual national champions since the league was established.

Starting July 1, 2024, in addition to OU, the Big 12's wrestling membership will include legacy programs Iowa State, Oklahoma State and West Virginia, and affiliate programs Air Force, Northern Colorado, North Dakota State, Northern Iowa, South Dakota State, Utah Valley and Wyoming, as well 2024 conference newcomer Arizona State. 

"We're thrilled to remain in the Big 12 Conference as an affiliate member starting in the 2024-25 season," first-year OU head coach Roger Kish said. "We have a tremendous amount of respect for the Big 12 and are enthusiastic about the opportunity to continue contributing to the conference's wrestling success on a national scale. This opportunity affords our program and student-athletes the chance to compete against top-tier wrestling programs every week as we strive to compete for championships at Oklahoma."

Oklahoma's Crimson and Cream intrasquad dual will be held at historic McCasland Field House on Nov. 1. The Sooners start the regular season Nov. 9 in a dual at Central Michigan.