Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

USA Wrestling Freestyle & Greco Events

USA Wrestling sponsors Men's Freestyle, Women's Freestyle, and Greco-Roman wrestling.

Men's Freestyle has a very proud tradition in its 100-plus years of existence. Beginning with the 1904 Olympic Games in St. Louis when the U.S. crowned seven Olympic champions, and most recently at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing with Henry Cejudo, the U.S. has amassed 47 Olympic champions.

Since becoming an Olympic sport in 2004 the women's wrestling movement has grown in numbers and support at a breakneck speed. Women's freestyle has earned three Olympic medals in the last two Olympic Games, Sara McMann and Patricia Miranda won silver and bronze in Athens in 2004, respectively, and Randi Miller won bronze in Beijing in 2008. The U.S. Women's Freestyle Team has also earned eight individual world championships, with four won by Patricia Saunders.

Greco-Roman wrestling has been contested at every modern Olympic Games, beginning in 1896 in Athens. Over the last 25 years, the United States Greco-Roman program has improved dramatically and has secured their place among the elite Greco-Roman teams in the world. The U.S. has produced five individual world champions, and were recently crowned team champions in 2007. The U.S. team also has three Olympic gold medalists: Steve Fraser and Jeff Blatnick in Los Angeles in 1984, and Rulon Gardner in Sydney in 2000.

USA Wrestling promotes the development of youth Freestyle and Greco-Roman through the state club level and a series of regional tournaments for all age groups. Wrestlers who compete in Freestyle and Greco-Roman events throughout the year will accumulate points towards the U.S. Future Olympian Rankings. The Freestyle and Greco-Roman season culminates for kids 14 years of age and younger with the Kids Freestyle & Greco-Roman Nationals in Orem, UT in June. For wrestlers 15 and older, the Junior and Cadet Freestyle & Greco-Roman National Champions are held in Fargo, ND in July.

Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.