Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Hageman wins 2000 Championship Belt Series on the Junior level

USA Wrestling has announced that Drew Hageman of Newberg, Ore. claimed the 2000 Championship Belt Series on the Junior level. USA Wrestling will be naming the winners of USA Wrestling's four age-group levels this week. The top point scorer in the series on the Cadet, Junior, FILA Junior World and University levels receives a handsome plaque. The top 10 point scorers in each age level are recognized. Athletes only receive points on the specific age level where they compete. Points can not transfer from one age level to another age level. Junior champion - Drew Hageman, Newberg, Ore. Drew Hageman of Newburg, Ore. won the Junior level Championship Belt Series with 186 points, defeating runner-up Brock Zollinger of Rexburg, Idaho by just two points. Junior wrestlers are athletes in grades 9-12. Hageman placed second in the Asics Tiger Junior Nationals in Greco-Roman and fifth at the Junior Nationals in freestyle at 178 pounds. He was the Western Regional and Northwest Regional champion in Greco-Roman. He also placed second in the Western Regionals in freestyle and third in the Northwest Regionals in freestyle. Hageman is a freshman this year at the Univ. of Minnesota. Zollinger placed second in the Asics Tiger Junior Nationals in freestyle at 98 pounds, and was sixth at the Junior Nationals in Greco-Roman. He was the Western freestyle champion and Rocky Mountain Greco-Roman champion. He was also second in Greco-Roman at the Western Regionals and second in freestyle at the Rocky Mountain Regionals. He is a junior at Sugar Salem High School. The Belt Series is based upon a point system, rewarding athletes for actual success in competition. Athletes who place in the major USA Wrestling events on the regional, national and international levels scored points in the series. Each event is weighed according to importance and difficulty, in order to determine the most successful wrestler during the season. A wrestler also receives points for receiving the Most Outstanding Wrestler award and Most Falls award at the events. On the age group levels, points scored in both freestyle and Greco-Roman are combined for the final standings. The Belt Series was created in 1990 to recognize America's most successful age-group athletes. Among the past age-group Belt Series winners are 2000 Olympic Champion Brandon Slay, 1999 World Champion Stephen Neal, 1998 World Champion and 2000 Olympic silver medalist Sammie Henson, 2000 Olympic silver medalist Matt Lindland and 1996 Olympic silver medalist Brandon Paulson. Seven former age-group Championship Belt winners claimed NCAA Div. I individual titles, as well. 2000 Junior Championship Belt Series Top Ten 1. Drew Hageman, Newburg, Ore., 186 pts. 2. Brock Zollinger, Rexburg, Idaho, 184 pts. 3. Alex Lammers, Huber Heights, Ohio, 180 pts. 4. Chris Fleeger, Trout Run, Pa., 170 pts. 5. Eric Stevenson, Newberg, Ore., 167 pts. 6. Casey Roddis, Bloomington, Ill., 165 pts. 7. Josh McLay, Hastings, Minn., 157 pts. 8. Mark Jayne, Elyria, Ohio, 155 pts. 9. K.C. Walsh, Tacoma, Wash., 150 pts. 10. Luke Smith, Chippewa Falls, Wis., 148 pts. Past Junior Level Belt Series Champions 2000 - Drew Hageman (OR) 1999 - Mark Jayne (OH) 1998 - Jacob Clark (MN) 1997 - Justin Ruiz (UT) 1996 - Brad Vering (NE) 1995 - Sean Hage (GA) 1994 - Sean Hage (GA) 1993 - Cody Sanderson (UT) 1992 - Jason Reitmeier (MN) 1991 - Reese Andy (MT) 1990 - Brandon Paulson (MN)
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.