Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Rowlands wins 2000 Championship Belt Series on the FILA Junior World level

USA Wrestling has announced that Tommy Rowlands of Columbus, Ohio claimed the 2000 Championship Belt Series on the FILA Junior World level. USA Wrestling will be naming the winners of USA Wrestling's four age-group levels this week. The top point scorer in the series on the Cadet, Junior, FILA Junior World and University levels receives a handsome plaque. The top 10 point scorers in each age level are recognized. Athletes only receive points on the specific age level where they compete. Points can not transfer from one age level to another age level. FILA Junior World champion - Tommy Rowlands, Columbus, Ohio Tommy Rowlands of Columbus, Ohio claimed the FILA Junior World Championship Belt Series with 182 points, defeating runner-up Jason Powell of Choctaw, Okla. by 20 points. FILA Junior World athletes are between the ages of 17-20 (this division was previously known as Espoir). Rowlands won a silver medal at the FILA Junior World Championships in freestyle at 213.75 pounds. He was also a double champion at the FILA Junior Nationals/World Team Trials, winning both the freestyle and Greco-Roman titles. He was named Outstanding Wrestler in freestyle. Rowlands is a red-shirt freshman at Ohio State and competes for the Ohio International WC. Powell won a silver medal at the FILA Junior World Championships in freestyle at 119 pounds. He was the FILA Junior National/World Team Trials champion in freestyle and placed third in Greco-Roman. He is a redshirt freshman at the Univ. of Nebraska and competes for the Husker WC. The Belt Series is based upon a point system, rewarding athletes for actual success in competition. Athletes who place in the major USA Wrestling events on the regional, national and international levels scored points in the series. Each event is weighed according to importance and difficulty, in order to determine the most successful wrestler during the season. A wrestler also receives points for receiving the Most Outstanding Wrestler award and Most Falls award at the events. On the age group levels, points scored in both freestyle and Greco-Roman are combined for the final standings. The Belt Series was created in 1990 to recognize America's most successful age-group athletes. Among the past age-group Belt Series winners are 2000 Olympic Champion Brandon Slay, 1999 World Champion Stephen Neal, 1998 World Champion and 2000 Olympic silver medalist Sammie Henson, 2000 Olympic silver medalist Matt Lindland and 1996 Olympic silver medalist Brandon Paulson. Seven former age-group Championship Belt winners claimed NCAA Div. I individual titles, as well. 2000 FILA Junior World Championship Belt Series Top Ten 1. Tommy Rowlands, Columbus, Ohio, 182 pts. 2. Jason Powell, Choctaw, Okla., 162 pts. 3. (tie) Andy Bowlby, Newberg, Ore., 122 pts. 3. (tie) Joe Privitere, Binghamton, N.Y., 122 pts. 3. (tie) T.J. Hill, Farmington, Mo., 122 pts. 6. Jared Lawrence, Sandpoint, Idaho, 114 pts. 7. (tie) Carl Fronhofer, Salem, N.Y., 95 pts. 7. (tie) Jake Clark, Quantico, Va., 95 pts. 7. (tie) Travis Harrison, Eugene, Ore., 95 pts. 10. Hector Torres, Tempe, Ariz., 90 pts. Past University Level Belt Series Champions 2000 - Tommy Rowlands (OH) 1999 - Jared Lawrence (ID) 1998 - Don Pritzlaff (NJ) 1997 - Shane Zajac (IL) 1996 - Leroy Vega (IN); Stephen Neal (CA); Casey Cunningham (MI) and Scott Schatzman (MO) 1995 - Jason Gleasman (NY) 1994 - Gordon Mobley (NC) and Nick Nutter (OH) 1993 - Jason Gleasman (NY) 1992 - Jason Klohs (MN) 1991 - Brandon Paulson (MN) 1990 - Sam Henson (MO)
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.