Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Vote Online For The U.S. Olympic Spirit Award Recipients

PROVO, Utah - For the first time in U.S. Olympic history, the American people have the opportunity to honor athletes who epitomize the "Spirit of the Games" by voting to determine the winners of the U.S. Olympic Spirit Award. A panel of U.S. Olympic Alumni has nominated three male and three female U.S. Olympic athletes who have shown extraordinary courage, commitment and perseverance in representing the United States during the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games. Now Americans can log on to or and vote for the male and female nominee they feel is most deserving of the U.S. Olympic Spirit Award. The nominees are as follows: Female nominees: * Misty Hyman, Gold Medalist, 200-Meter Butterfly - Just six months before the Sydney Games, Misty experienced serious respiratory problems that almost forced her to retire. Plus, in 1998 her unique underwater kick was banned, which meant she had to adapt to a new style. When this 21-year-old athlete touched the pool wall at 2:05:88 to win the gold, she not only beat the favored Susie O'Neill from Australia, but she also beat the odds in an inspiring way. * Tara Nott, Gold Medalist, Weightlifting - This 5-foot-1, 105 pound athlete became the first woman in the world to earn an Olympic gold medal in women's weightlifting, a first-time event at the Sydney Games. Lifting 225.75 pounds in the clean-and-jerk category, 28-year-old Tara proved that great strength comes in small packages. * Laura Wilkinson, Gold Medalist, Platform Diving - In addition to the fact that no American woman had won the platform diving gold medal in 36 years, Laura had other major obstacles to face. During pre-Olympic trial training, she broke three bones in her right foot, which did not heal correctly. The doctors said she needed surgery, but she opted to put it off until the end of the Olympic Games. Enduring much pain, her five final dives earned the gold medal. Male nominees: * Lance Armstrong, Bronze Medalist, Cycling - Two months after the 1996 Olympic Games, Lance was diagnosed with advanced cancer. Doctors gave him a 50 percent chance of survival. After undergoing 12 weeks of chemotherapy, Lance survived and was cancer free. He returned to cycling in convincing fashion by winning the Tour de France in 1999 and 2000. While training in August for the Sydney Games, he collided with a car, fracturing the vertebrae in his neck. Despite the injury, he won the bronze medal in Sydney. * Dain Blanton and Eric Fonoimoana, Gold Medalists, Beach Volleyball - The two Californians had not planned to compete in the 2000 Games, but when an opportunity for qualification presented itself, they vied for one of two U.S men's berths in the 2000 Games and won. They played their best volleyball during the Sydney Games, reaching the gold medal game against a heavily favored Brazilian team who had beat them four times before. The pair defied history and surprised the world as they beat Brazil and earned the gold medal. * Rulon Gardner, Gold Medalist, Wrestling - Growing up as the youngest of nine children on a farm in Afton, Wyoming helped this athlete master a work ethic that would spur him to Olympic history. Rulon, competing for the first time in the Olympic Games, faced "wrestler-of-the-century" Aleksandr Karelin in the finals. It was no small upset when Rulon won the gold medal, defeating the Russian wrestler who had not lost an international wrestling match. More in-depth profiles on each of the nominees can be found online and Americans can vote by accessing - the official website of the U.S. Olympic Committee - or - the website of Nu Skin Enterprises (NYSE: NUS), the Official Sponsor of the U.S. Olympic Spirit Award program. Those logging in through may enter a drawing for an all-expense-paid trip to the Salt Lake City 2002 Olympic Games. Each visitor will be able to vote once for a male nominee and a female nominee. The two athletes who receive the most votes by Jan. 31, 2001 will be selected as recipients of the U.S. Olympic Spirit Award. A similar procedure will be followed to award the U.S. Olympic Spirit Award to a male and female Paralympian. Nu Skin Enterprises will host the athlete nominees at an awards banquet in February 2001, where the Spirit Award recipients will be revealed. The company will make a donation to U.S. Olympic-related charities in each award recipient's name. "Through the U.S. Olympic Spirit Award, we can help the American people get involved in the Spirit of the Olympic Games," said Steven J. Lund, president and chief executive officer of Nu Skin Enterprises. "We encourage U.S. Olympic fans everywhere to vote and honor the U.S. Olympic athletes who, whether they won Olympic gold or not, captured our admiration and respect." Background on the U.S Olympic Spirit Award The U.S. Olympic Spirit Award recognizes U.S. athletes who best exemplify the spirit of Olympic competition through the courage, dedication and determination they demonstrate in the Olympic arena. Past U.S. Olympic Spirit Award recipients include Greg Louganis (1988), Gail Devers (1992), Dan Jansen (1994), Carl Lewis (1996) and Kerri Strug (1996). While former Spirit Award recipients were chosen by the media, Nu Skin Enterprises is offering the opportunity for all Americans to vote for the 2000 U.S. Olympic Spirit Award recipients. The athletes were nominated by a panel of 10 U.S. Olympic Alumni who closely watched the Games in Sydney. The panel was comprised of the following Olympic Alumni: Willie Banks - 1980, 1984 and 1988 Athletics (triple jump); Jeff Blatnick - 1984 Wrestling (Greco-Roman, gold medal); Willie Davenport - 1968 Athletics (110m hurdles, gold medal) and 1980 Bobsled; Trent Dimas - 1992 Gymnastics (gold medal); Russ Hodge - 1964 Athletics (decathlon); Dan Jansen - 1994 Speed Skating (gold medal) and 1994 U.S. Olympic Spirit Award recipient; Carol Lewis - 1980, 1984 and 1988 Athletics (long jump); John Nabor - 1976 Swimming (gold medal); Cindy Stinger - 1984, 1988, 1992 Team Handball; Kerri Strug - 1996 Gymnastics (gold medal) and 1996 U.S. Olympic Spirit Award recipient. The Company Nu Skin Enterprises, Inc. (NYSE: NUS) is one of the largest direct selling companies in the world, and its products are sold in more than 30 countries throughout the Americas, Europe and the Asia Pacific region. The company's stock is publicly traded on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol "NUS." Nu Skin Enterprises and its subsidiaries Nu Skin and Pharmanex are Official Sponsors of the 2002 Olympic Winter Games in Salt Lake City. They are also Official Sponsors of the U.S. Olympic Team in 2000, 2002 and 2004.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.