Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Ensrud, Stark defend titles; Kim claims double title at Univ. Nationals

Ensrud and Stark defend titles; Kim claims double title at the 1999 University Freestyle National Championships at Northwestern Univ. in Evanston, Ill., April 11

Jeremy Ensrud and Aaron Stark defended their titles and Sean Kim claimed both Greco-Roman and freestyle titles at the 1999 University Nationals at Northwestern University in Evanston, Ill., April 11.

Kim claimed his titles at 110 pounds, while Ensrud won the freestyle title at 138.75 pounds and Stark at 213.75 pounds.

Other champions include: Skyler Holman (Chapel Hill, N.C./Tarheel WC) at 119 pounds, Cody Sanderson (Ames, Iowa/Cyclone WC) at 127.75 pounds, Yoshiyuki Nakamure (Philadelphia, Penn./Dave Schultz WC) at 152 pounds, Brandon Slay (Colorado Springs, Colo./Dave Schultz WC) at 167.5 pounds, Cael Sanderson (Ames, Iowa/Cyclone WC) at 187.25 pounds and Stephen Neal (Bakersfield, Calif./Dave Schultz WC) at 286.5 pounds.

This event was held alongside the 1999 Cadet World Team Trials for men. For the second year, a women's freestyle division was held at the University National Championships.


at Evanston, Ill., April 11

50 kg/110 lbs. - 1st - Sean Kim, Rosemead, Calif. (E. Los Angeles WC) won by tech. fall over Corey Taylor, Washington D.C. (Armed Forces/Marine Corp), 10-0

3rd -Ernesto Howard, Chicago, Ill. won by tech. fall over Daron Harvey, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Armed Forces/Army), 13-0

5th - Jon Lanning, Morris, Ill. (Illinois) pin Kedvin McLean, Plainfield, N.J. (Armed Forces/Marine Corp), 0:56

7th - Kris Scheppe, Sheboygan Falls, Wis. (UW-Stevens Point) pin Christopher Stone, Rensselair, Ind. (Rensselaer WC), 2:36

54 kg/119 lbs. -

1st - Skyler Holman, Chapel Hill, N.C. (Tarheel WC) dec. Michael Delaney, Corvallis, Ore. (Oregon St.), 10-8

3rd - Matt Ridings, Normon, Okla. (OU Excel) dec. Daniel Fell, Skokie, Ill. (Marquette), 11-10

5th - Toan Pham, Palatine, Ill. (NIU) dec. Chris Stuart, Oak Forest, Ill. (NIU), 9-3

7th - Mike Mercado, Blacksburg, Va. (Virginia Tech. WC) won by tech. fall over Malon Felton, De Kalb, Ill. (KWIK), 11-0

58 kg/127.75 lbs. - 1st - Cody Sanderson, Ames, Iowa (Cyclone WC) dec. Teague Moore, Stillwater, Okla. (Cowboy WC), 4-3, ot

3rd - Jeremy Hunter, State College, Penn. (Penn State) dec. Barrett Golyer, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm), 6-3

5th - Tim Mazzocchi, Quantico, Va. (Armed Forces/Marine Corp) pin Roman Fleszar, Newton, N.J., 2:26

7th - Juan Venturi, Princeton, N.J. (PFW) dec. Kelly Madden, Pekin, Ill., 12-5 63 kg/138.75 lbs. -

1st - Jeremy Ensrud, Eugene, Ore. (Dave Schultz WC) won by tech. fall over Reggie Wright, Stillwaterk, Okla. (Cowboy WC), 15-4

3rd - Mike Zadick, Coralville, Iowa, dec. Dwight Hinson, Ames, Iowa (Cyclone WC), 3-1

5th - Jamill Kelly, Stillwater, Okla. (Cowboy WC) won by def. over Mike Kulczycki, Niroyalton, Ohio (Cliff Keen)

7th - Ryan Bentley, Buffalo, N.Y. (Buffalo WC) dec. Jason Betz, State College, Penn. (Unattached), 11-9

69 kg/152 lbs. -

1st - Yoshiyuki Nakamure, Philadelphia, Penn. (Dave Schultz WC) dec. Dave Maldonado, Ames, Iowa (Cyclone WC), 8-5

3rd - Joey Clark, Woodbridge, Va.(Armed Forces/Marine Corp) won by inj. def. over Jared Frayer, Norman, Okla. (Excel OU)

5th - Shane Roller, Stillwater, Okla. (Cowboy WC) pin Glenn Pero, Tempe, Ariz. (Sunkist Kids), 2:23

7th -Jimmy Hawthorne, West Lafayette, Ind. (Purdue) dec. Luke Becker, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm), 4-2

76 kg/167.5 lbs. -

1st - Brandon Slay, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Dave Schultz WC) dec. Otto Olson, Ann Arbor, Mich. (Cliff Keen), 8-2

3rd - Joe Heskett, Ames, Iowa (Cyclone WC) won by tech. fall over Andy Varner, Bakersfield, Calif. (Dave Schultz WC), 12-1

5th - Hardell Moore, Stillwater Okla. (Cowboy WC) won by inj. def. over Byron Tucker, Norman, Okla. (Excel OU)

7th - Brad Pike, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm) dec. Ian Nelms, Bakersfield, Calif. (Runners), 6-3

85 kg/187.25 lbs. -

1st - Cael Sanderson, Ames, Iowa (Cyclone WC) won by tech. fall over Mark Munoz, Stillwater, Okla. (Cowboy WC), 12-0

3rd - Chael Sonnen, Tualatin, Ore. (Peninsula) pin Ed Mosley, Cambridge, Mass. (Dave Schultz WC), 1:04

5th - Pat Popolizio, Stillwater, Okla. (Cowboy WC) pin Gabriel Szerda, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Team Excel), 2:29

7th - Joe Degain (Cliff Keen) pin Scott Justus, Blacksburg, Va., 5:11 97 kg/213.75 lbs. -

1st - Aaron Stark, Madison, Wis. (NWO) dec. Orville Palmer, Norman, Okla. (Excel OU), 6-5

3rd - Zach Thompson, Ames, Iowa (Cyclone WC) won by ref. dec. over Rusty Cook, Boise, Idaho (Boise St.), 1-1

5th - Mike Fickell, Philadelphia, Penn. (Dave Schultz WC) won by inj. def. over Justin Ruiz, Lincoln, Neb. (Husker WC)

7th - Waymon May, Norman, Okla. (Excel OU) won by tech. fall over Clint Osborn, Chapel Hill, N.C. (Tarhell WC), 13-3

130 kg/286.5 lbs. -

1st - Stephen Neal, Bakersfield, Callif. (Dave Schultz WC) pin Airron Richardson, Cleveland, Ohio (Team Excel), 3:30

3rd - Tim Courtad, Athens, Ohio (Ohio) dec. John Lockhart, Champaign, Ill. (Illinois), 4-3

5th - David Anderton, Stillwater, Okla. (Cowboy WC) won by inj. def. over Trent Hynek, Ames, Iowa (Cyclone WC)

7th - Josh Saul, Evanston, Ill. (Wildcat WC) dec. Eric Webb, Eugene, Ore. (Oregon WC), 9-1

Outstanding Wrestler - Cody Sanderson, 127.75 pounds, Cyclone WC

Most Falls Award - Shane Roller, Cowboy WC, six falls in 13:28

Team Score - 1. Dave Schultz WC - 63 points, 2. Cyclone WC - 57 points

Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.