Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Dake receives ESPY nomination for Best Male College Athlete; Fans can vote for Dake online

Four-time NCAA Champion Kyle Dake has been nominated for an ESPY, the prestigious sports awards presented by ESPN.

The 2013 Hodge Trophy winner for Cornell was nominated for Best Male College Athlete after becoming the first wrestler ever to win four NCAA Division I championships at four different weight classes. He posted a record of 137-4 while wrestling at Cornell.

Other candidates for the award are Michigan basketball standout Trey Burke, Texas A&M Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel and St. Cloud State University hockey star Drew LeBlanc.

Dake’s nomination comes two months after he was named the inaugural Sports Illustrated Male College Athlete of the Year and was featured in the May 27 issue of the magazine.

The recent Cornell graduate strung together a remarkable run at the 2013 World Team Trials at which he defeated past NCAA Champions Trent Paulson, David Taylor and Andrew Howe on his way to the final series against Jordan Burroughs. After dropping the first match, Dake took the 2012 Olympic gold medalist into overtime in the second match before eventually losing.

Voting for the ESPY’s has commenced and will remain open until July 17. Let’s help Kyle win the ESPY!

Click HERE to cast your vote!

The ESPY’s will air on ESPN on July 17 at 9 p.m., hosted by actor Jon Hamm.

Past wrestlers who won ESPY Awards
2011 – Anthony Robles – Jimmy V Perseverance Award
and Best Male College Athlete Award
2004 – Kyle Maynard – Best Athlete with a Disability
2002 – Cael Sanderson – Best Male College Athlete
2001 – Rulon Gardner – Best Male USA Olympic Athlete
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.