Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Kellen Russell advances with three wins in U.S. Open freestyle qualifying tournament

LAS VEGAS – Kellen Russell rolled to three straight victories during the U.S. Open freestyle qualifying tournament on Thursday at the Las Vegas Convention Center.

The two-time NCAA champion outscored his three opponents by a 36-2 margin at 66 kg/145.5 lbs. Russell capped his day by sweeping 2012 NCAA All-American Dylan Alton 6-0, 6-0 in the quarterfinals.

Once Russell reached the semifinals, he clinched a spot in the freestyle championship tournament on Friday.

The top eight in each weight class on Thursday advance to the championship tournament on Friday. They will be drawn in to face the top eight seeds during the competition on Friday.

Wrestlers were finished on Thursday once they clinched a spot in Friday’s tournament by either making the semifinals or the consolation semifinals.

Past NCAA champion Mike Pucillo advanced to the championship tournament at 84 kg/185 lbs.

Top 8

66 kg/145.5 lbs.
Josh Kindig (Auburn)
Kellen Russell (New York AC)
Michael Bailey (U.S. Army)
Kyle Borshoff (DCAC)
Dylan Alton (Nittany Lion WC)
Brett Robbins (Panther WC)
Kyle Ruschell (Badger WC)
Michael Mitchell (New York AC)

84 kg/185 lbs.
Jake Swartz (Bronco WC)
Enock Francois (West Point Wrestling)
Mike Pucillo (Titan Mercury WC)
Eric Lopez (Unattached)
Daniel Bedoy (Boiler Elite)
Kurt Brenner (Mountaineer WC)
Devin Hightower (Rocky Mountain Region)
Kevin Radford (Unattached)
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.