Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Nowry places third in voting for USOC Male Athlete of the Month for October

2012 University World Greco-Roman champion Max Nowry (Wheeling, Ill./USOEC/New York AC) placed third in the voting for the U.S. Olympic Committee Male Athlete of the Month.

Nowry won a gold medal at the 2012 University World Championships at 55 kg/121 lbs. in Greco-Roman in Kourtane, Finland on October 5.

Nowry downed Dzmitry Brychak of Belarus 6-0, 1-0 in the gold-medal match.

Nowry opened with a 1-0, 2-0 win over Poland’s Marcin Kunysz before pinning Turkey’s Seref Kilic in the semifinals. Kunysz placed fifth in the 2010 University Worlds and Kilic placed fifth in the 2012 Junior World Championships.

Nowry, who trains at the U.S. Olympic Education Center at Northern Michigan, was second at the 2012 U.S. Olympic Team Trials.

Alpine Skiier Ted Ligety won the voting, with track and field athlete Dathan Ritzenhein placed second ahead of Nowry.

Paratriathlete Melissa Stockwell, alpine skier Ted Ligety, men's doubles tennis team of Bob and Mike Bryan earn U.S. Olympic Committee's October honors

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Top performances throughout October boosted paratriathlete Melissa Stockwell (Chicago) and alpine skier Ted Ligety (Park City, Utah) to Athlete of the Month recognition, while the men's doubles tennis team of Bob Bryan (Sunny Isles Beach, Fla.) and Mike Bryan (Wesley Chapel, Fla.) received Team of the Month honors, the United States Olympic Committee announced today.

A 2008 Paralympian in swimming, Stockwell won her third-consecutive ITU Paratriathlon World Championships title in the TRI-2 category Oct. 22 in Auckland, New Zealand. Stockwell won in convincing fashion, finishing more than four minutes clear of her closest competitor and covering the course in 1:22:14. Also a two-time national champion, Stockwell is one of only two paratriathletes with a current streak of three straight world titles.

Ligety powered through a raging blizzard to win the Audi FIS Alpine World Cup opening giant slalom in Soelden, Austria, by a historic 2.75 seconds. It was the largest magnitude of victory in a giant slalom race in 34 years when the legendary Swede Ingemark Stenmark posted two separate margins of around four seconds. It was Ligety's 12th career world cup win and sixth-straight podium in Soelden, where he is now the two-time defending champion.

Olympic gold medalists Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan clinched the year-end No. 1 ranking in October and also won their third China Open title in four years. At the China Open in Beijing, which ran from Oct. 1-6, the top-seeded duo did not drop a single set the entire tournament en route to its seventh title of the year and 82nd title together. The win marked Mike Bryan's 84th career doubles title - an all-time record that overtook Australian Todd Woodbridge's mark of 83 doubles titles. On Oct. 22, the pair officially clinched the year-end No. 1 ATP doubles team ranking for a record eighth time and for the fourth-consecutive season.

Diving standout Gracia Leydon Mahoney (Newton, Mass.) and figure skater Ashley Wagner (Alexandria, Va.) earned second and third place in the female vote. On the men's side, track & field sensation Dathan Ritzenhein (Portland, Ore.) finished runner-up, while wrestler Max Nowry (Wheeling, Ill.) took third. The figure skating duo of Meryl Davis (West Bloomfield, Mich.) and Charlie White (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.) earned second in the team competition, while the para-rowing tandem of Rob Jones (Lovettsville, Va.) and Oksana Masters (Buffalo, N.Y.) rounded out the voting in third.

Each National Governing Body may nominate one female, one male and one team per discipline. A voting panel selects the winners from the pool of nominees with online fan voting via Twitter accounting for 10 percent of the total vote.

1. Melissa Stockwell, Paratriathlon
2. Gracia Leydon Mahoney, Diving
3. Ashley Wagner, Figure Skating

1. Ted Ligety, Alpine Skiing
2. Dathan Ritzenhein, Track & Field
3. Max Nowry, Wrestling

1. Bob and Mike Bryan, Tennis
2. Meryl Davis and Charlie White, Figure Skating
3. Rob Jones and Oksana Masters, Para-rowing
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.