Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

UPDATE: Six wrestlers keep Triple Crown hopes alive by going unbeaten on Day 1 in Cadet Nationals Greco-Roman

California’s Jonjay Chavez looks to gain an advantage in the Cadet Nationals Greco-Roman competition. John Sachs photo.

FARGO, N.D. – Minnesota’s Gannon Volk was the lone Cadet wrestler to win USA Wrestling’s prestigious Triple Crown in 2011.

A number of top young stars are looking to increase that number this year.

Six wrestlers kept their Cadet Triple Crown hopes alive by going unbeaten on the first day of the Cadet Nationals Greco-Roman competition on Sunday at the Fargo Dome.

Those six won Cadet Nationals Folkstyle titles earlier this year in Cedar Falls, Iowa. The third leg of the Triple Crown will be the Cadet Nationals freestyle event, set for later this week.

The Cadet Nationals Folkstyle champs who are still unbeaten in the Cadet Nationals Greco-Roman tournament include:

Wisconsin’s Hunter Marko, who is 5-0 at 94 pounds
Minnesota’s Mitchell McKee, who is 6-0 at 100
California’s Aaron Pico, who is 6-0 at 132
Texas’ Bo Nickal, who is 4-0 at 152
Missouri’s Michael Pixley, who is 6-0 at 182
Minnesota’s Lance Benick, who is 4-0 at 195

Pico is looking to repeat as Cadet Greco champion. He also won Cadets in freestyle last year.

California’s Jonjay Chavez (138) and Washington’s Chandler Rogers (170) also went unbeaten Sunday to keep their quests alive to repeat as Cadet Greco champions.

Three wrestlers have already earned a spot in the championship finals by winning their pool competition: Devin Schnupp of Pennsylvania (84), Michael Pixley of Missouri (182) and Landon Pelham of Michigan (195).

Cadet Greco competition resumes at 9 a.m. on Monday with the finals scheduled for 2 p.m.

There were 778 entries in the Cadet Greco tournament, an increase of 32 from last year.

Day 3 of the Cadet and Junior Nationals is set for Monday in Fargo. The Junior Nationals Greco-Roman competition is set to begin at 9 a.m.

Remaining wrestlers by pool (with pool placement when available)

1 - Devin Schnupp (PA)
2 – Jeremy Nygard (WA)
3 – Kirk Johansen (IL)
4 – Michael Doetsch (MD)

84 B
Breandan Coughlin (MD)
Matt Schmitt (MO)
Louie Hayes (IL)
4 – Bryce Brimhall (UT)

Joey Prata (VA)
Hunter Marko (WI)
Tanner Cox (UT)
4 – Joseph Grass (WV)

Paul Fitterer (MN)
Chris Cuccolo (NY)
Jon Gabriel (PA)
4 – Adam Whitesell (MD)

Frankie Bruno (FL)
Ethan Koan (MO)
Kyle Bierdumpel (NJ)
4 – Taylor Ortiz (PA)

Mitchell McKeen (MN)
Josiah Seaton (KS)
DeVaughn Sapien (ID)
4 – Michael Murphy (TN)

Vincenzo Joseph (PA)
Perez Perez (CA)
Blane Tschida (MN)
Devin Brown (OH)

Doyle Trout (NE)
Kyle Norstrem (FL)
Kamden Krum (AZ)
4 – Sage Coy (IN)

Dante Rodriguez (NE)
Glenn Robertson (WA)
Maleek Williams (FL)
Coy Ozias (VA)
Adam Blees (ND)
Craig Delacruz (NJ)

Anthony Cefolo (NJ)
Drake Foster (ID)
Ryder Punke (IL)
Joshua Temple (NV)
Jake Drew (IL)

Matthew Floresca (WA)
Zech Bresser (OR)
Jonathan Marmolejo (IL)
Joshua Terao (HI)
Kent Lane (PA)
Griffin Parriott (MN)

Zahid Valencia (CA)
Matthew Iwicki (WA)
Joe Veliqette (MO)
Max Thomsen (IA)
Brian Burchett (WA)
Vincent Turk (IL)

Hunter Starner (VA)
Ryan Heiden (OK)
Cole Weaver (MI)
Luke Rowh (MN)

Cole Walter (PA)
Seth Gross (MN)
Larry Early (IL)
Jacob Rubio (TX)
Pernevlon Sheppard (IL)
Ben Brancale (MN)

John Kenyon (ID)
Sam Ward (NY)
Brady O’Keefe (NV)
Jesse Porter (NY)

Collbran Meeker (OR)
Nick Reenan (TX)
Aaron Pico (CA)
4 – Marshall Osborne (MO)

Joseph Nelson (WI)
Anthony Valencia (CA)
Colston DiBlasi (MO)
Andrew Milsap (KS)

Chris Weiler (PA)
Taylor Owens (ID)
Joey Gunther (IL)
Dayton Racer (MN)
Jonjay Chavez (CA)

Colby Winnett (OR)
Jacob Armstrong (UT)
Weston Dobler (ND)
Mason Manville (MN)

Michael Bryant (VA)
Dustin Williams (KS)
Logan Day (OH)
Chase Straw (IA)

Alexander Smythe (NY)
Bobby Reece (WA)
David Witczak (IL)
Bo Nickal (TX)
Chris Almony (MD)
Xavier Montalvo (IL)
Ricky Regas (TX)

Ethan Tursini (AZ)
Seth Decker (PA)
Travis Hettinga (WI)
Zach Carlson (MN)
Terry Mason (NV)
Keiffer Taylor (UT)
Dustin Gray (MO)

Billy Duffert (WI)
Kimball Bastain (UT)
Tyler McNutt (MO)
4 – Corey Hazel (PA)

Mason Reinhardt (WI)
Luke Kelvington (MN)
Nick Fiegner (CA)
4 – Kaden Campbell (UT)

Ryan Christensen (WA)
Terrell Fields (PA)
Dylan Wisman (VA)
Angus Arthur (MI)

Dontae McGee (FL)
Chandler Rogers (WA)
Nathan Marek (OK)
Tyler Wildmo (MI)

1 – Michael Pixley (MO)
2 – Justin Rivera (GA)
3 – Tevis Bartlett (WY)
4 – Justan Rivera (GA)

Nick Osowski (WI)
Samuel Colbray (OR)
3 – Tim Grote (IL)
4 – Benjamin Honis (NY)

1 – Landon Pellham (MI)
2 – Joe Hurda (PA)
3 – Matthew Welch (MT)
4 – Tyler Crow (MO)

Kyle Anderegg (OR)
Jovon Reyes (PA)
Lance Benick (MN)
4 – Matthew Olauson (MD)

220 A
Roy Nash (UT)
Christian Jenco (NJ)
3 – Kyler Childers (OK)
4 – Dylan Otis (PA)

220 B
Thomas Baker (OH)
Connor Tolley (IN)
Terrion Jones (IL)
4 – Dalton Campbell (AL)

Gavan Jolley-Little (IN)
Tanner Farmer (IL)
Dane Drimmer (CO)
4 – Xyah Ra (MO)

Jake Marnin (IA)
Wyatt Spears (OR)
Chris McDermand (IL)
Michael Hobbs (IL)

Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.