Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

UPDATED: Hesener, McMann and Marano defend titles at Women's Universities

Hesener, McMann and Marano defend their titles at the 2000 Women's University National Championships in Evanston, Ill., April 9

Angela Hesener (Ann Arbor, Mich./Dave Schultz WC), Sara McMann (Lock Haven, Pa./Sunkist Kids) and Kristie Marano (Schenectady, N.Y./HUCC) defended their titles at the 2000 Women's University National Championships in Evanston, Ill., April 9.

Hesener pinned Chrystal Brown (Colorado Springs, Colo./OTC) at 101.25 pounds in 2:13 to win the title. Hesener won the title at 112.25 pounds in 1999.

McMann won by a technical fall over Tina Arnds (Marshall, Mo./Viking WC), 11-0, at 136.5 pounds. McMann won the title in 1999 at 123.25 pounds.

Marano pinned Toccara Montgomery (Cleveland, Ohio/Ohio WC) in 5:24 to win the title at 149.75 pounds. Marano won the 165.25-pound title in 1999.

Other champions include: Julie Harris (Alberta, Canada/Calgary) at 112.25 pounds, Tina George-Wilson (Colorado Springs, Colo./Sunkist Kids) at 123.25 pounds and Iris Smith (Colorado Springs, Colo./Cookies & Cream) at 165.25 pounds.

The Outstanding wrestler of the tournament was George-Wilson. Missouri Valley College won the team trophy with 80 points.


Final Results

at Evanston, Ill., April 9

46 kg/101.25 lbs. - 1st - Angela Hesener, Ann Arbor, Mich. (Dave Schultz WC) pinned Chrystal Brown, Colorado Springs, Colo. (OTC), 2:13; 3rd - Clarissa Chun, Marshall, Mo. (Viking WC ) won by tech. fall over Jennifer Donahoe, Morris, Minn. (UM-Morris), 10-0

51 kg/112.25 lbs. - 1st - Julie Harris, Calgary, Alberta, Canada (Univ. of Calgary) dec. Jenny Wong, Stillwater, Minn. (Minnesota Storm), 5-1; 3rd - Shelley-Ann Tomita, Honolulu, Hi. (Viking WC) dec. Amy Alvaro, Marshall, Mo. (Viking WC), 4-3; 5th - Casey Baranoski, Comstock Park, Mi. (Viking WC) dec. Janelle Curtis, Galesburg, Ill. (Knox College), 11-5

56 kg/123.25 lbs. - 1st - Tina George-Wilson, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Sunkist Kids) won by tech. fall over Carrie Birge, Marshall, Mo. (Viking WC), 13-3; 3rd - Malissa Sherwood, Rocklin, Calif. (Dave Schultz WC) won by tech. fall over Aimee McNab, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Dave Schultz WC), 10-0; 5th - Cheryl New, Marshall, Mo. (Viking WC) won by dft. over Sarah Hayes, Aurora, Co. (Cumberland College)

62 kg/136.5 lbs. - 1st - Sara McMann, Lock Haven, Pa. (Sunkist Kids) won by tech. fall over Tina Arnds, Marshall, Mo. (Viking WC), 11-0; 3rd - Meg Dolan, St. Catherines, Ontario, Canada (Brock Univ.) pinned Lauwa'e Smith, Marshall, Mo. (Viking WC), 5:45; 5th - Sally Roberts, Morris, Minn. (UM-Morris) dec. Kate Zeitler, Morris, Minn. (UM-Morris), 11-5

68 kg/149.75 lbs. - 1st - Kristie Marano, Schenectady, N.Y. (HUCC) pinned Toccara Montgomery, Cleveland, Ohio (Ohio), 5:24 ; 3rd -Laura Jones, St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada (Brock Univ.) pinned Elena Mena, St. Paul, Minn. (Minnesota Storm), 2:52 ; 5th - Ronica Froese, Marshall, Mo. (Viking Wc) won by inj. dft. over Chandell Knox, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm)

75 kg/165.25 lbs. - 1st - Iris Smith, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Cookies & Cream WC) pinned Alicia Mena, St. Paul, Minn. (Minnesota Storm), 1:47; 3rd - Donell Bradley, Marshall, Mo. (Viking WC) pinned Ann Gerlach, Andover, Minn. (Minnesota Storm), 4:23; 5th - Samantha Branka, Lincoln Park, Mich. (UM-Morris) pinned Wendy Hunter, Cleveland, Ohio (Ohio WC), 0:25

Outstanding Wrestler - Tina George-Wilson

Team Standings: 1. Missouri Valley College - 80 pts.; 2. Minnesota Storm - 37 pts.; 3. Dave Schultz WC - 25 pts.; 4. UM-Morris - 24 pts.

Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.