Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

REMINDER: Vote for USA-Russia Dual in Times Square as Best Amateur Sporting Event of Year

Scene from USA vs. Russia Dual meet in Times Square in New York City on May 5, 2011. This event is eligible for an Event of the Year award. Larry Slater photo

Wrestling fans are encouraged to vote for the 2011 USA Wrestling Beat the Streets Gala for a prestigious SportsTravel Award.

On the ballot, it is listed as the USA Wrestling Beat the Streets Gala and is located in the category of Best Single-Sport Event among Amateur Sporting Events.

Vote for Event of the Year

This USA vs. Russia Dual Meet was held outside in Times Square in New York City. It was the first sports event ever held in this historic setting, and was a huge success.

The Beat the Streets Gala in Times Square is the only wrestling event to make the final ballot for the awards program this year.

On May 5, the United States defeated Russia in freestyle wrestling, 5-2, on a mat placed in the Duffy Square location in historic Times Square. Thousands of people watched the match, with many thousands of others watching it on the large screens surrounding Times Square.

U.S. winners were Henry Cejudo, Brent Metcalf, Jordan Burroughs, Jake Varner and Tervel Dlagnev.

The match was featured in Sports Illustrated, broadcast on FOX College Sports, and webcast live on Coverage from the Associated Press brought the results to media outlets around the world.

There are nine categories which can be voted upon, three categories each for Amateur Sports, Professional Sports and New Sporting Events.

Voting closes at midnight on August 15.

Get your vote in today. Voting will take less than two minutes and will give you a voice in recognizing excellence in sporting-event production and management at the amateur, collegiate and professional levels.

The SportsTravel Awards are the leading peer-based awards program in the sports-event industry.

The 2011 SportsTravel Awards will be presented at TEAMS '11 in Las Vegas, Nev., October 3-6.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.