Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Hall of Fame Honors Week underway Wednesday and Thursday in Stillwater, Okla.

STILLWATER, Okla. – The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Honors week begins today and will conclude on Thursday with the 35th induction banquet.

The Distinguished Members being inducted this weekend include Cael Sanderson, Dennis Hall, Dan Brand and Richard Delgado, posthumously.

The activities begin on Wednesday afternoon with the Hall of Fame State Chapter conference this afternoon. There will be a reception and the presentation of plaques to the Hall of Fame honorees this evening starting at 6:00 p.m.

On Thursday, the State Chapter conference continues, along with a Board of Governors meeting. A Hall of Fame luncheon is scheduled at noon. The evening is capped off with the 35th Honors Banquet at the OSU Alumni Center, with a reception at 6:00 p.m. and the banquet at 7:00 p.m.

Sanderson made history by becoming the first four-time undefeated NCAA Division I champion in collegiate history. The former Iowa State star went 159-0 from 1999 through 2002. He capped his career by winning a Gold Medal at the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, Greece.

Complete Cael Sanderson biography

Hall won the World Championships in 1995, becoming only the second wrestler in American history to win a World title in the Greco-Roman discipline. He placed third at the 1994 World Championships and won a silver medal at the 1996 Atlanta Olympics. He also won 10 U.S. National titles.

Complete Dennis Hall biography

Brand was a seven-time national champion in freestyle and Greco-Roman. He made two Olympic teams, placing fifth in 1960 and third in 1964 at 191.5 pounds. Brand was a member of both the 1961 Greco-Roman and Freestyle World Championship Teams finishing fifth in Greco-Roman and fourth in Freestyle, while earning a bronze medal at the 1962 World Championships.

Complete Dan Brand biography

Delgado was an NCAA champion for the University of Oklahoma in 1957 and in 1958, while claiming his second national collegiate title, he was selected the championship’s most outstanding wrestler. He was also a member of the 1956 Olympic team and the 1954 World team at 114.5 pounds.

Complete Richard Delgado biography

Four special award winners will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame. These recipients have contributed to the sport’s viability and success in uniquely different ways.

The Medal of Courage, given to a wrestler who has overcome insurmountable challenges, is being awarded to Bob McPhee. McPhee, a high school wrestler with a promising career ahead of him, was paralyzed during a football scrimmage leading into his senior year.

Complete Bob McPhee biography

Sonny Greenhalgh will receive the Order of Merit for his contributions to the advancement of wrestling. Greenhalgh’s involvement with the New York Athletic Club has produced 21 U.S. Olympians, 73 U.S. World Team members, and 28 National team championships.

Complete Sonny Greenhalgh biography

Mike McCormick will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement for Officials award. McCormick has officiated 16 NCAA Division I tournaments, including 13 championship finals.

Complete Mike McCormick biography

Morgan McIntosh of California is honored with the Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award, which recognizes excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, character, citizenship, and community service. He is a three-time California state champion and a Junior Nationals freestyle champion.

Complete Morgan McIntosh biography

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame has recognized the sport’s greatest for 35 years and is considered one of the best Halls of Fame within the Olympic sports community.

All-time National Wrestling Hall of Fame Distinguished Members and Award Honorees

The busy wrestling week in Oklahoma continues this weekend with the World Team Trials being held in Oklahoma City on June 11-12.

Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.