Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Blanc, Paulson fall short of medals at Ivan Yarygin Memorial in Russia; Saturday’s draw set

KRASNOYARSK, Russia – Competition has concluded on Friday at the Ivan Yarygin Memorial Grand Prix.

The U.S. had two wrestlers in the competition in the men’s division, and neither won a medal: 2010 U.S. World Team member Obe Blanc (Stillwater, Okla./Gator WC) at 55 kg/121 lbs. and 2009 U.S. World Team member Trent Paulson (Ames, Iowa/Sunkist Kids) at 74 kg/163 lbs.

Blanc won his opening match over Amarhuu Gaadan of Mongolia, 3-1, 4-0. In the second round, he defeated Nariman Israpilov of Russia, 0-6, 4-1, 5-0. Israpilov was a 2008 Junior World champion and 2009 European Senior champion.

He was defeated in the quarterfinals by Petr Sivtsev of Russia, 5-0, 1-2, 0-2. Sivtsev was the 2010 New York AC International champion. When Sivtsev lost to Alexandr Bogomoev of Russia in the semifinals and failed to reach the finals, Blanc was eliminated from the repechage rounds.

Paulson was defeated in his opening match by Islam Tsoroev of Russia, 5-7, 3-0, 0-6. When Tsoroev lost in the semifinals to eventual champion Saba Hubezhty of Russia and failed to reach the finals, Paulson was eliminated from the repechage rounds.

Both of the men’s champions on Friday were from Russia, Jamal Otarsultanov at 55 kg/121 lbs. and Saba Hubezhty at 74 kg/163 lbs.

Weigh-ins have been held and draws announced for the second day of the Ivan Yarygin Memorial Grand Prix.

Two U.S. men’s freestyle wrestlers will compete on Saturday, as competition will be held at 60 kg/132 lbs. and at 66 kg/145.5 lbs. Four women’s freestyle weight classes will also be contested, but the USA has no entries in the women’s divisions.

At 60 kg/132 lbs., 2009 U.S. World team member Shawn Bunch (Columbus, Ohio/Gator WC) opens with Kenichi Yumoto of Japan, a bronze medalist at the 2008 Olympic Games.

2010 U.S. World Team member Brent Metcalf (Iowa City, Iowa/New York AC) faces Elydar Majmutdinov of Russia in his opening bout at 66 kg/145.5 lbs.

The competition began on Friday, with two men’s weight classes and three women’s weight classes. Results from Friday’s action at 55 kg/121 lbs. and 74 kg/163 lbs. will be posted when available.

The Russian Wrestling Federation has provided a webcast the Ivan Yarygin Memorial Grand Prix at the following link:

Also follow the tournament on the Russian Wrestling Federation website. Use Google Translate to read it in English at:

At Krasnoyarsk, Russia, Jan. 28

Friday medalists (from Russian Wrestling Federation)

Men’s freestyle

55 kg/121 lbs.
Gold - Jamal Otarsultanov (Russia)
Silver - Alexander Bogomaev (Russia)
Bronze - Shinichi Yumoto (Japan)
Bronze - Rustam Ampar (Russia)

74 kg/163 lbs.
Gold - Saba Hubezhty (Russia)
Silver - Kakhaber Hubezhty (Slovakia)
Bronze - Muslim Dada (Russia)
Bronze - Zamir Ampazhev (Russia)

Women’s freestyle

59 kg/130 lbs.
Gold - Anna Polovneva (Russia)
Silver - Zhargalma Tsyrenov (Russia)
Bronze - Galina Dolzhenko (Russia)
Bronze - Olga Butkevich (Great Britain)

67 kg/147.5 lbs.
Gold – Darima Sanzheeva (Russia)
Silver - Julia Bartnovskaya (Russia)
Bronze - Oksana Nagornykh (Russia)
Bronze - Anastasia Schavlinskaya (Russia)

U.S. men’s freestyle results on Friday

55 kg/121 lbs. – Obe Blanc, Stillwater, Okla. (Gator WC)
WIN Amarhuu Gaadan (Mongolia), 3-1, 4-0
WIN Nariman Israpilov (Russia), 0-6, 4-1, 5-0
LOSS Petr Sivtsev (Russia), 5-0, 1-2, 0-2

74 kg/163 lbs. – Trent Paulson, Ames, Iowa (Sunkist Kids)
LOSS Islam Tsoroev (Russia), 5-7, 3-0, 0-6

U.S. first round draws on Saturday

60 kg/132 lbs. – Shawn Bunch, Columbus, Ohio (Gator WC)
vs. Kenichi Yumoto (Japan)

66 kg/145.5 lbs. – Brent Metcalf, Iowa City, Iowa (New York AC)
vs. Elydar Majmutdinov (Russia)

60 kg draw
1. Ilyias Bekbulatov (Russia)
2. Nomchar Eisaayhan (Mongolia)
3. Todjiddin Hodjaev (Tajikistan)
4. Opan Sat (Russia)
5. Radoslav Velikov (Bulgaria)
6. Shawn Bunch (USA)
7. Kenichi Yumoto (Japan)
8. Alybert Kairhanov (Russia)
9. Noiryuki Takatsuka (Japan)
10. Erjank Abdulgulov (Kyrgyzstan)
11. Alexandr Kontoev (Belarus)
12. Mirzhan Ashirov (Kazakhstan)
13. Ahmed Chakaev (Russia)
14. Mandoxnoran Ganzorig (Mongolia)
15. Bahram Ermatov (Uzbekistan)
16. Andrey Perepelitsa (Moldova)
17. Viktor Tsyndymeev (Russia)
18. Nemehbayar Batsayhan (Mongolia)
19. Khishignyam Undrahbayar (Mongolia)
20. Uulu Ulan Nazirbek (Kyrgyzstan)
21. Farkhad Urazymbetov (Uzbekistan)
22. Naranbaator Bayar (Russia)
23. Viktor Banzaraktsaev (Russia)
24. Shihsaid Djalilov (Russia)
25. Hayot Sayfullaev (Uzbekistan)
26. Rasul Murtazaliev (Russia)
27. Soslan Aziev (Russia)
28. Ayal Anisimov (Russia)
29. Aslan Dohov (Russia)

66 kg draw
1. Takafumi Kodzima (Japan)
2. Ibrahim Nuriddinov (Uzbekistan)
3. Adam Batirov (Russia)
4. Unurbat Purevshav (Mongolia)
5. Ilya Ivashko (Russia)
6. Anatolyi Guidea (Bulgaria)
7. Ihtior Navruzov (Uzbekistan)
8. Zaur Efendiev (Russia)
9. Alimchan Mamuev (Russia)
10. Israil Kasumov (Russia)
11. Akraman Guisgov (Russia)
12. Gadji Abdulbaev (Russia)
13. Vladimir Vilymov (Russia)
14. Bair Bazarov (Russia)
15. Adilem Romanov (Kyrgyzstan)
16. Andrey Sementsov (Russia)
17. Magomedmurad Gadzhiev (Russia)
18. Samad Omarov (Kazakhstan)
19. Rasul Dzhukaev (Russia)
20. Amir Berukov (Russia)
21. Magomed Aziev (Russia)
22. Azamat Bulatov (Russia)
23. Merbek Abdylbaev (Kyrgzstan)
24. Azamat Omurzhanov (Kazakhstan)
25. Felix Urduhanov (Russia)
26. Tatsuhiro Yoneitsu (Japan)
27. Brent Metcalf (USA)
28. Elydar Najmutdinov (Russia)
29. Zaur Bataev (Russia)
30. Maomedadji Abakarov (Russia)
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.