Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Robinson and Heffernan named NWCA Coaches of the Year

The National Wrestling Coaches Association is proud to announce J Robinson of Minnesota as the NWCA Head Coach of the Year and Jim Heffernan of Illinois as the NWCA Assistant Coach of the Year for the 2000-01 season. J Robinson guided Minnesota to their first ever NCAA Championships at the University of Iowa. The Golden Gophers had a record setting performance with ten All-Americans en route to capturing the NCAA title. Minnesota finished the season as the number one ranked dual team with 20-1 record and captured titles at the Cliff Keen/NWCA National Duals and the Big Ten Championships. Robinson's team also excelled off the mat as they placed three wrestlers on the NWCA All-Academic Team. Jim Heffernan was very instrumental in steering Illinois to one of best years in school history with NCAA fifth place finish. Illinois placed three wrestlers in the finals with Adam Tirapelle and John Lockhart both winning titles. Their dual mark was 12-2 and they edged Iowa for second place in the Big Ten Championships. Illinois had the distinction of placing three wrestlers on the NWCA All-Academic first team. NWCA President Roger Reina commented on the two deserving recipients, "Assistant Coach Jim Heffernan, and Illinois Wrestling, continue to produce at the highest levels and are very deserving of our Association's recognition. J. Robinson has produced tremendous results in all areas of Minnesota's program, topped off by a thrilling NCAA Team Championship this year. Congratulations are in order on behalf of the NWCA Board of Directors to these two standout coaches." Robinson and Heffernan will be honored at the NWCA Convention in Chicago, Illinois on August 11 and at the 2002 NCAA Championship banquet in Albany, New York.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.