Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

North Carolina wrestlers hand out season honors

Matt Kenny wins Most Outstanding Wrestler award at team's annual banquet CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - The University of North Carolina wrestling team handed out awards for the 2000-01 season at its annual banquet Wednesday night. Junior heavyweight Matt Kenny won the Outstanding Wrestler award after capturing his third Atlantic Coast Conference title last season. Kenny finished the season 17-4 with eight of his wins coming by pin. Another of Carolina's ACC champions, Corey Bell (174 pounds), was honored with the Coach's Award for Leadership and Mental Toughness. Bell won four ACC titles while at UNC and is one of only three Tar Heels ever to accomplish this feat. Redshirt freshman Chris Collins (125 pounds) won the team's Most Improved Wrestler award as well as the Most Improved G.P.A. award. Collins finished the season 13-11 overall, 3-2 in ACC competition, and was named ACC Wrestler of the Week on Feb. 12. Junior Clint Osborn (197 pounds) was honored with the Leadership, Academics and Outside Activities award, while heavyweight Ryan Adams won the Outstanding Freshman award. Junior Jason Wilson (165) earned the award for Contribution by a Non-Scholarship Athlete, and redshirt freshman John Paul Igoe (133) won the Most Improved Work Ethic award.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.