Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Rulon Gardner wins the 71st Annual Amateur Athletic Union James E. Sullivan Memorial Award, sponsore

Olympic Gold Medalist Defies the Odds to Win Special Award (Orlando FL-April 16, 2001) - The Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) today announced that Rulon Gardner has won the 71st Annual James E. Sullivan Memorial Award, Sponsored by LamisilAT. The Olympic Gold medalist in Greco-Roman wrestling will be honored tonight during a ceremony in New York City. "Rulon Gardner exemplifies all of the qualities that the AAU Sullivan Award represents," said Bobby Dodd, AAU President. "He defied all the odds and brought home the Olympic gold by defeating the great Russian wrestler, Aleksandr Kareline, something no man has done in 13 years. We know he will be as successful at the 2004 Olympic Games or wherever the future leads him." Rulon Gardner, Univ. of Nebraska graduate and Greco-Roman wrestler in the 130 kg (286 lbs.) division, won the gold medal in the 2000 Olympic Games by defeating previously unbeaten Aleksandr Kareline of Russia. He won five matches on the way to the Olympic gold, and led the U.S. Greco-Roman team to a third place finish in the medal count - highest ever in U.S. wrestling history. Some of the other achievements Rulon garnered this past year were: 2000 Olympic Team Trials Champion, 2000 U.S. Nationals Champion; 2000 Pan American Championships Champion; 2000 Dave Schultz Memorial International Champion; Granma Cup Champion; and compiled a 24-2 record. He was selected by his peers at the Olympics to carry the American flag during the Closing Ceremonies in Sydney. "It is an honor for me to have been selected as this year's recipient of the AAU Sullivan Award Sponsored by LamisilAT," siad Rulon Gardner. "I was up against a quality group of individuals and fellow Olympic gold medalists and to be recognized as the top U.S. amateur athlete is a humbling experience. I feel very blessed to have had such wonderful people around me as well as the support of my country when the odds were against me." "The Lamisil brand team congratulates Rulon on his tremendous accomplishments during the past year. He is an inspiration to all young athletes to achieve their goals," said MJ Weldon, Marketing Director for LamisilAT at Novartis Consumer Health. "We want to recognize and congratulate all of the finalists for their athletic achievements. The LamisilAT team is honored to be affiliated with such remarkable men and women on behalf of the AAU Sullivan Award. The AAU James E. Sullivan Memorial Award recognizes athletes who have achieved athletic excellence, exhibit leadership, character, sportsmanship and the ideals of amateurism. It has been presented annually by the AAU since 1930 as a salute to founder and past president of the AAU, and a pioneer in amateur sports, James E. Sullivan. The winner of the AAU Sullivan Award receives a bronze replica of the original trophy that depicts the figure of a runner carrying a laurel branch mounted on a black pedestal. Past winners include last year's recipients Kelly and Coco Miller, Carl Lewis (1981), William "Bill" Bradley (1965), Greg Louganis (1984), Peyton Manning (1977) and Bonnie Blair (1992). Gardner becomes the third wrestler to win the Sullivan Award, joining freestyle stars John Smith (1990) and Bruce Baumgartner (1995). The Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) is one of the largest, non-profit, volunteer, sports organizations in the United States. A multi-sport organization, the AAU is dedicated exclusively to the promotion and development of amateur sports and physical fitness programs for all ages. Nearly 500,000 participants and over 50,000 volunteers share our philosophy of "Sports for All, Forever." Divided into 58 distinct associations, the AAU sanctions more than 34 sports programs, 250 national championships and over 10,000 local events across the United States annually. For more information on the AAU please visit our website at The AAU James E. Sullivan Memorial Award is sponsored by LamisilAT Cream, the best way to cure your athlete's foot. LamisilAT Cream is manufactured and marketed by Novartis Consumer Health, which is headquartered in Summit, New Jersey, and is a leading consumer pharmaceuticals and food company. The Division includes Gerber Products Company, Novartis OTC (over-the counter medicines), Health and Functional Nutrition and Medical Nutrition. Focusing on consumer needs and preferences, each NCH Sector provides well-known, high-quality products to enhance overall health and well-being for millions of American consumers each day.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.