Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Delaware, Hofstra, Drexel, Towson to join the CAA Effective July 1, 2001

Richmond, Va. - Colonial Athletic Association Commissioner Thomas E. Yeager today announced that the University of Delaware, Drexel University, Hofstra University and Towson University will become CAA members effective July 1, 2001. The quartet will partner with George Mason University, James Madison University, UNC Wilmington, Old Dominion University, Virginia Commonwealth University and the College of William & Mary to form a 10-team conference. "We are thrilled to be able to expedite the process and incorporate these schools sooner than originally announced," noted Yeager. "The CAA is looking forward to their contributions and we are excited about the future of the conference as this group moves forward." Due to the timing of this transition, the four newcomers, who are all currently members of the America East Conference, will remain as associate members and compete in America East in the fall in men's and women's soccer, field hockey and volleyball. (As previously agreed, Delaware and Hofstra will compete in CAA volleyball in the fall of 2001). With their arrival, the CAA will add championships in men's lacrosse and softball in the spring of 2002, bringing the total number of sports sponsored by the conference to 20. Initially, it was announced at a press conference on December 13, 2000, that the four schools would be joining the CAA for the 2003-2004 academic year. As a result of ongoing discussions between the two conferences, the transition plans accelerated. Editor's note: Hofstra and Drexel sponsor varsity wrestling, and currently compete in the East Coast Wrestling Association.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.