Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Northern Iowa Wins West Regional Championships

LARAMIE - University of Northern Iowa wins its 14th consecutive West Regional Championship with a ten point lead over runner-up Fresno State University. The Panthers scored 97 total points, with the second place Bulldogs garnering 87, the host University of Wyoming finished third with 78.5 points. Air Force Academy scored 54 for a fourth place finish. Eastern Illinois University and Marquette round out the six team competion with 12.5 points and 9 points respectively. It was a tight race for the title, as #18 ranked Northern Iowa and #15 ranked Fresno State were tied with 83 points each after the 157 pound finals match. The champions of each weight class earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Divison 1 National Championships in Iowa City,Iowa, on March 15-17. The West Regional teams have a right to send an additional ten competitors to the national finals and the West Regional Coaches met following the conclusion of the matches to select the ten wild card spots this evening. In addition to the 20 NCAA qualifiers, the coaches also selected two alternates to go to the national finals. True second place matches were wrestled after the championship and consolation finals were completed, in cases where the third place finisher had not wrestled the championship runner-up. However, true second place matches had no affect on the final team scores. The West Regional Coaches made three special selections at the conclusion of the tournament. The West Regional Coaches selected 125 pound champion Stephen Abas of Fresno State University as "Outstanding Wrestler" of the Tournament. 133 pound champion Dylan Long of the University of Northern Iowa was selected as the West Regional "Rookie of the Year." University of Wyoming Head Coach Steve Suder was voted as the West Regional "Coach of the Year." FINAL RESULTS: 125: 1. Stephen Abas (FSU) pin Eric Dunmire (UNI), 6:21. 3. Heath McKim (AFA) dec. John Faczak (WYO), 7-4. 133: 1. Dylan Long (UNI) maj. dec. Derrick Hayes (FSU), 14-2. 3. Andrew Peters (AFA)dec. Kelly McConville (WYO), 3-2 2OT (Technical Violation by McConville in the Tie-Breaker). 141: 1. Ralph Lopez (FSU)dec. Mark Rial (UNI), 5-4. 3. Thad Trujillo (WYO) maj. dec. Ryan Montanez (AFA), 10-2. True 2nd: Mark Rial(UNI) dec. Thad Trujillo (WYO), 5-0. 149: 1. Scott Frohardt (AFA) dec. Mark Hamrick (WYO), 6-1. 3. Keith Weber (UNI) dec. Jim Medeiros (FSU), 9-6. 157: 1. Nathan Vasquez (FSU) dec. Levi Prevost (WYO), 6-4 OT. 3. Timothy Huxel (AFA) dec. Frank DeFilippis (EIU), 2-1 2OT. True 2nd: Timothy Huxel (AFA) dec. Levi Prevost (WYO), 6-4. 165: 1. Nate Lawrenz (UNI)maj. dec. Peter Butville (MAR), 16-7. 3. Justin Christenson (WYO)dec. Alex Pelbath (AFA), 5-4. True 2nd: Justin Christenson (WYO) dec. Peter Butville (MAR), 6-1. 174: 1. Steven Schenk (WYO) dec. Louis Taylor (EIU), 5-3. 3. Eric Brown (UNI)dec. Terry Parham (AFA), 7-4. True 2nd: Louis Taylor (EIU) dec. Eric Brown (UNI), 5-3. 184: 1. Kyle Hanson (UNI) dec. Jason Rossotti (FSU), 7-3. 3. Samuel Sheretz (AFA)dec. Kevin Kessner (WYO), 6-4. True 2nd: Samuel Sheretz (AFA) dec. Jason Rossotti (FSU), 6-3. 197: 1. Craig Rumsey (WYO)dec. Jason Payne (UNI), 4-2. 3. Tom Gohde (FSU)pin Ryan Kaiser (AFA), 6:17. HWT: 1. Paul Hynek (UNI) medical forfeit by Billy Blunt (FSU). 3. Kevin Hoy (AFA) dec. Brad Steele (WYO), 8-2. NCAA Division I National Championships Qualifers: 125: Stephen Abas (FSU) - 1st Eric Dunmire (UNI) - 2nd 133: Dylan Long (UNI) - 1st Derrick Hayes (FSU) - 2nd 141: Ralph Lopez (FSU) - 1st Mark Rial (UNI) - 2nd 149: Scott Frohardt (AFA) - 1st 157: Nathan Vasquez (FSU) - 1st Timothy Huxel (AFA) - 2nd Levi Prevost (WYO) - 3rd 165: Nate Lawrenz (UNI) - 1st 174: Steven Schenk (WYO) - 1st Louis Taylor (EIU) - 2nd Eric Brown (UNI) - 3rd 184: Kyle Hanson (UNI) - 1st 197: Craig Rumsey (WYO) - 1st Jason Payne (UNI) - 2nd HWT: Paul Hynek (UNI) - 1st Billy Blunt (FSU) - 2nd Kevin Hoy (AFA) - 3rd Alternates: Mark Hamrick (WYO) - 2nd at 149 Samuel Sheretz (AFA) - 2nd at 184
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.