Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

University of Northern Iowa leads West Regionals

LARAMIE - After two sessions, the University of Northern Iowa leads the West Regionals with 77 points, followed closely by the University of Northern Iowa with 72 points. The University of Wyoming is in the chase for the West Regional title at third place with 67.5 points. Four place Air Force Academy follows with 41.5 points while Eastern Illinois University has 13.5 points. Marquette is in sixth place with 9 points. University of Northern Iowa sends seven wrestlers to the championship finals, followed by Fresno State University with six, University of Wyoming with four, Air Force Academy, Eastern Illinois, and Marquette each send one to the finals. In the consolation finals, Air Force Academy leads the teams with nine grapplers, the University of Wyoming with six. University of Northern Iowa and Fresno State both have two wrestlers battling it out for third place. Eastern Illinois University fills out the match ups with one, while Marquette has no one in the consolation finals. The final session begins at 7p.m. with the Parade of Champions in the Arena-Auditorium followed by the championship finals on mat one and the consolation finals on mat two. The champions of each of the 10 weight classes receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Division 1 National Championships in Iowa City, Iowa, on March 15-17. The coaches of the West Regional teams will select 10 wild cards to also compete in the national finals. Matchups for Championship Finals: 125: Stephen Abas (FSU) vs. Eric Dunmire (UNI) 133: Derrick Hayes (FSU) vs. Dylan Long (UNI) 141: Mark Rial (UNI) vs. Ralph Lopez (FSU) 149: Scott Frohardt (AFA) vs. Mark Hamrick (WYO) 157: Nathan Vasquez (FSU) vs. Levi Prevost (WYO) 165: Peter Butville (MAR) vs. Nate Lawrenz (UNI) 174: Steven Schenk (WYO) vs. Louis Taylor (EIU) 184: Kyle Hanson (UNI) vs. Jason Rossotti (FSU) 197: Jason Payne (UNI) vs. Craig Rumsey (WYO) HWT: Paul Hynek (UNI) vs. Billy Blunt (FSU) Matchups for Consolation Finals: 125: Heath McKim (AFA) vs. John Faczak (WYO) 133: Kelly McConville (WYO) vs. Andrew Peters (AFA) 141: Thad Trujillo (WYO) vs. Ryan Montanez (AFA) 149: Keith Weber (UNI) vs. Jim Medeiros (FSU) 157: Timothy Huxel (AFA) vs. Frank DeFilippis (EIU) 165: Alex Pelbath (AFA) vs. Justin Christenson (WYO) 174: Terry Parham (AFA) vs. Eric Brown (UNI) 184: Kevin Kessner (WYO) vs. Samuel Sheretz (AFA) 197: Ryan Kaiser (AFA) vs. Tom Gohde (FSU) HWT: Kevin Hoy (AFA) vs. Brad Steele (WYO)
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.