Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Eight returning champions lead powerful Junior Nationals freestyle field

FARGO, N.D. - Led by eight returning champions and seven runners-up, the field at the ASICS/Vaughan Junior Nationals is one of the best in recent years. Action began with the Wednesday morning session at the FargoDome.

The 140-pound division will feature two returning champions, Michael Mangrum of Washington and Kellen Russell of New Jersey. Mangrum was the champion at 125 pounds last year, while Russell captured the 130 gold medal.

Other champions back from last year include Ben Sergent of Ohio (112), Zachary Sanders of Minnesota (119), Albert White of Illinois (145), Kirk Smith of Idaho (171), and Dom Bradley of Missouri (275).

Boris Novachkov of California (125), a 2005 Junior Nationals double champion champion at 98 pounds, is seeking another double title as a senior. Novachkov was a Greco-Roman champion on Monday night. He placed third last year in freestyle.

All of these returning champions won their matches during the morning session.

Also in the field are seven runners-up, including two at 112 pounds, Donte Butler of Missouri and Jon Morrison of Illinois. Butler was second at 112 pounds in 2006, while Morrison won the silver at 98 pounds.

The other returning runners-up are Tyler Graff of Colorado (130), Jake Deitchler of Minnesota (145), Sonny Yohn of Colorado (189), Jared Platt of New Jersey (189) and Cameron Wade of Ohio (275). Deitchler was a Junior Greco-Roman champion on Monday, and was named Greco-Roman Wrestler of the Year by Greco-Roman Team USA.

The depth of the field is substantial, with 47 All-Americans from last year seeking to place here once again.

The 125-pound class may be among the toughest. Not only is Novachkov in the field there, but returning All-Americans Dan White of New Jersey, Andy Pokorny of Nebraska, John Trumbetti of New Jersey and TJ Wunnicke of Wisconsin are in the draw. Past Cadet national champions Matt McDonough of Iowa and Anthony Valles of New Jersey are also in the weight class.

There has been time changes for the Junior Freestyle Nationals. The Wednesday night session has been changed to end an hour earlier at 9:00 p.m. On Thursday, instead of three session, there will only be two sessions. The first session will be held from 9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. and the championship finals session will be held from 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.