Kids Nationals Special Section" /> Kids Freestyle Nationals conclude with 10 wrestlers claiming Triple Crown | - USA Wrestling Kids Nationals Special Section">
Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Kids Freestyle Nationals conclude with 10 wrestlers claiming Triple Crown

GREEN BAY, Wis. - A total of 10 young wrestlers won the coveted 2007 Kids Triple Crown awards after capturing freestyle titles at the ASICS Kids National Championships at Brown County Arena on Saturday.

The Triple Crown is awarded to any wrestler who wins USA Wrestling national titles in all three styles of wrestling in the same season: folkstyle, Greco-Roman and freestyle.

The Triple Crown program was created in 1997, and the total number of Triple Crown winners has now climbed to 100. The record is 12 winners in one year, accomplished in both 2004 and 2006.

There were four wrestlers in the Midget division (ages 9-10) to capture the Triple Crown:
* Mark Hall II of Michigan (87)
* Lance Benick of Minnesota (95)
* Zach Wolf of Wisconsin (120+)
* and Jacob Marnin of Iowa (120++).

The four Triple Crown winners in the Novice age group (ages 11-12) included:
* Adam Drain of Iowa (100
* Michael Johnson, Jr. of Illinois (112)
* Mitch Sliga of Indiana (130)
* Nick Cobb of Texas (140).

There were two Schoolboy wrestlers (ages 13-14) to capture the Triple Crown this year
* Devin Peterson of Wisconsin (145)
* Zack Rutt of Minnesota (185).

This was the second Triple Crown for Sliga, as he won his first Triple Crown award in 2005. Sliga needed three periods to defeat Sage Hecox of Illinois by score of 0-8, 8-0, 7-0 in the final match of the bracket in order to secure his freestyle championship.

Three wrestlers entered the day with a chance to win the Triple Crown but were defeated during the competition on Sunday and did not win their divisions: Austin Reynolds of California (Midget 112), Dylan Lucas of Florida (Novice 70), and Alfredo Rodriguez of Michigan (Schoolboy 80).

There were just two wrestlers who were able to repeat as Kids National freestyle champions. They were Zac Hall of Michigan (Novice 80), and Sam Brancale of Minnesota (Schooboy 70).

There were 34 double champions, winners of both the freestyle and Greco-Roman tournaments this weekend in Green Bay. This includes all of the 10 Triple Crown winners, plus 24 others who won both styles.

The other double champions in the Midget division included Ozzy Lugo of Florida (50), Gregory Shack III of Alaska (55), Brock Benitz of Wisconsin (60), Ty Lucas of Florida (65), Zachary Volk of Washington (80), and Alec Sampson of North Dakota (120).

Other double champions in the Novice division were Grant Boggs of Montana (65), Zac Hall of Michigan (80), Bryce Brill of Illinois (85), Austin Worachek of Wisconsin (95), Keaton Subjeck of California (105), Dominic Flock of Wisconsin (112), and Sam Stoll of Minnesota (140).

Also winning double titles in the Schoolboy division were Sam Brancale of Minnesota (70), Corey Keener of Pennsylvania (75), Earl Hall of Florida (85), Jarod Donar of Wisconsin (100), Ben Morgan of Minnesota (110), Jared Kust of Wisconsin (115), Tyrell Galloway of Nebraska (120), Zak Benitz of Wisconsin (130), Mike Ettore of Florida (165), Jordan Olgin of California (205), and Trystan Palmer of Oregon (250).

It should be noted that this is the third consecutive year that Michigan's Zac Hall has won the double freestyle and Greco-Roman national championships. In the six tournaments, Hall is undefeated.


Midget Champions
50 - Ozzy Lugo (Florida)
55 - Gregory Shack III (Alaska)
60 - Brock Benitz (Wisconsin)
65 - Ty Lucas (Florida)
70 - Nick Reenan (Texas)
75 - Dominic Sutermeister (Michigan)
80 - Zachary Volk (Washington)
87 - Mark Hall II (Michigan)
95 - Lance Benick (Minnesota)
103 - John Norton (Michigan)
112 - Joe Marcano (Florida)
120 - Alec Sampson (North Dakota)
120+ - Zach Wolf (Wisconsin)
120++ - Jake Marnin (Iowa)

Novice Champions
60 - Jabari Moody (Illinois)
65 - Grant Boggs (Montana)
70 - Noah Teaney (Missouri)
75 - Nicholas Anderson (New Jersey)
80 - Zac Hall (Michigan)
85 - Bryce Brill (Illinois)
90 - Dylan Milonas (New Jersey)
95 - Austin Worachek (Wisconsin)
100 - Adam Drain (Iowa)
105 - Keaton Subjeck (California)
112 - Dominic Flock (Wisconsin)
120 - Michael Johnson, Jr. (Illinois)
130 - Mitch Sliga (Indiana)
140 - Sam Stoll (Minnesota)
140+ - Nick Cobb (Texas)

Schoolboy/girl Champions
70 - Sam Brancale (Minnesota)
75 - Corey Keener (Pennsylvania)
80 - Tyler Fraley (New Jersey)
85 - Earl Hall (Florida)
90 - Eddie Klimara (Illinois)
95 - Zachary Horan (Pennsylvania)
100 - Jarod Donar (Wisconsin)
105 - Jason Tsirtsis (Indiana)
110 - Ben Morgan (Minnesota)
115 - Jared Kust (Wisconsin)
120 - Tyrell Galloway (Nebraska)
125 - John Sims (Indiana)
130 - Zak Benitz (Wisconsin)
145 - Devin Peterson (Wisconsin)
165 - Mike Ettore (Florida)
185 - Zack Rutt (Minnesota)
205 - Jordan Olgin (California)
225 - Eric Mason (Kansas)
250 - Trystan Palmer (Oregon)
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.