Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Missouri's Ben Askren nominated for ESPY

COLUMBIA, Mo. - Two-time wrestling National Champion Ben Askren of Missouri was nominated for a 2007 ESPY in the category of Best Male College Athlete as announced today by ESPN.

Co-presented by HUMMER and Under Armour, the 15th annual celebration will air on ESPN Sunday, July 15, at 8 p.m. (CT). Fans can vote for Askren, as well as other individuals nominated in one of 38 categories, Monday, June 25, through 10:59 p.m. (CT) Saturday, July 7 at A total of 170 individuals were nominated for a 2007 ESPY.

Vote for Ben Askren here

Askren, Missouri's first wrestling national champion and four-time All-American, finished his senior campaign with a spotless 42-0 record that included 29 wins by fall, a school single-season record. Of Askren's 29 falls, 23 were recorded within the first period. In addition, Askren also managed to set Missouri's career falls mark at 91.

Throughout the 2006-07 campaign, Askren earned five tournament titles including his third Big 12 title at 174 pounds. Named the Most Outstanding Wrestler at the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational and Southern Scuffle, Askren was also awarded the Gorrarian Award at the Cliff Keen Invitational for most pins in the tournament.

The three-time Tiger team captain, closed his collegiate career with a 153-8 mark that included a stretch of 87 consecutive wins dating back to the start of his junior season.

One of four individuals nominated for Best Male College Athlete, Askren stands in the category alongside Texas forward Kevin Durant, Ohio State center Greg Oden and Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith.

Hosted by Jimmy Kimmel and ESPY nominee LeBron James, the annual award show will be held at Hollywood's Kodak Theatre.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.