Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

McMann and Pirozhkov win gold at Klippan Ladies Open

KLIPPAN, SWEDEN - 2004 Olympic medalist Sara McMann (Iowa City, Iowa/Sunkist Kids) and Elena Pirozhkov (Colorado Springs, Colo./Gator WC) won gold medals at the 2007 Klippan Ladies Open, March 2-4.

McMann beat Monika Rogien of Poland, pinning her in the second period to win her first match. She also beat teammate Vanessa Oswalt 4-0, 3-3 in the semifinals. In the championship round, she defeated Agoro Papavassiliou of Greece.

Pirozhkov beat Maja Erlandsen of Norway 3-0, 5-0 and Julia Bartsnouskava of Russia 3-1, 3-0 in her first two matches. In the finals, she defeated Emma Weberg of Sweden.

More information will be posted as it becomes available.

Klippan Ladies Open
At Klippan, Sweden, March 2-4

Individual Results

48 kg/105.5 lbs.
1. Anne Chaterine Deluntsch (France)
2. Iwona Sadowska (Poland)
3. Valentina Kvasova (Russia)
3. Sofia Mattsson (Sweden)

51 kg/112.25 lbs.
1. Ai Shimizu (Japan)
2. Sachiko Suzuki (Japan)
3. Myriam Prost (France)
3. Alena Adashinskaya (Russia)

55 kg/121 lbs.
1. Anna Gomis (France)
2. Sofa Poubouridou (Greece)
3. Sylvia Bilenska (Poland)
3. Johanna Mattson (Sweden)

59 kg/130 lbs.
1. Ida Therese Karlsson (Sweden)
2. Galina Legenkina (Russia)
3. Meryem Selloun (France)
3. Gudrun Hoie (Norway)

63 kg/138.75 lbs
1. Sara McMann (USA)
2. Agoro Papavassiliou (Greece)
3. Monika Rogien (Poland)
3. Helena Allandi (Sweden)

67 kg/147.5 lbs.
1. Elena Pirozhkova (USA)
2. Emma Weberg (Sweden)
3. Julia Bartnovskaya (Russia)
3. Paulina Grabowska (Poland)

72 kg/158.5 lbs.
1. Alena Starodubtseva (Russia)
2. Jenny Fransson (Sweden)
3. Marina Gastl (Austria)
3. Maria-Louiza Vrioni (Greece)

U.S. Performances

48 kg/105.5 lbs. - Clarissa Chun, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Sunkist Kids), 5th

WIN Chihiro Nonaka (Japan), 2-1, 7-1
LOSS Anne Declutch (France), Pin 4-1, 1:30
WIN opponent not identified
LOSS Sofia Mattsson (Sweden)

55 kg/121 lbs. - Sharon Jacobson, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Gator WC), dnp
LOSS Sylvia Blinks Bilenska (Poland), 0-2, 5-0, 0-3

55 kg/121 lbs. - Chelynne Pringle, Hugo, Minn. (Minnesota Storm), dnp
WIN Sarka Andrlova (Czech Republic), 1-0, 2-0
LOSS Sylvia Bilenska (Poland), 2-3, 2-4

59 kg/130 lbs. - Leigh Jaynes, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Gator WC), dnp
WIN Agnese Gaile, (Latvia), Pin 1:26
LOSS Gurdon Hoxie (Norway), Pin, 3-3, 1:47

63 kg/138.75 lbs. - Sara McMann Iowa City, Iowa (Sunkist Kids), 1st
WIN Monika Rogien (Poland), Pin, 1-0, 1:45
WIN Vanessa Oswalt (USA), 4-0, 3-3
WIN Agoro Papavassiliou (Greece)

63 kg/138.75 lbs. - Vanessa Oswalt, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Gator WC), 5th
WIN Nadia Meier (Switzerland), 2-0, 3-0
LOSS Sara McMann (USA), 0-4, 3-3
LOSS Monika Rogien (Poland)

67 kg/147.5 lbs. - Elena Pirozhkov, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Gator WC), 1st
WIN Maja Erlandsen (Norway), 3-0, 5-0
WIN Julia Bartsnouskaya (Russia), 3-1, 3-0
WIN Emma Weberg (Sweden)

Team Standings
1. Sweden, 64 pts.
2. Poland, 54 pts.
3. France, 53 pts.
4. Russia, 49 pts.
5. USA, 35 pts.
6. Greece, 32 pts.
7. Japan, 23 pts.
8. Austria, 21 pts.
9. Norway, 17 pts.
10. Latvia, 10 pts.
(of 19 teams)
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.