Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Four Adams State wrestling teams ('72, '73, '75, '76) elected to RMAC Hall of Fame

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (RMAC) commissioner Joel Smith has announced that six individuals and four teams will be inducted into the 2007 RMAC Hall of Fame.

The class includes the 1972, 1973, 1975 and 1976 Adams State Wrestling NAIA national championship teams will be inducted.

1972 Adams State Wrestling Team

Coached by Gene Moses, the 1972 Adams State Wrestling Team won the NAIA National Championship at the Oregon Institute of Technology. It was the Grizzlies (then Indians) 3rd national title in wrestling, and started a run of four national championships in a five-year time span. Gene's son Doug was the national champion in the 142-pound weight class. Doug Moses went on to be the long-time head wrestling coach at the University of Southern Colorado and is now the head wrestling coach at New Mexico Highlands. Chuck Jean also claimed the national championship in the 177-pound weight class. Jean was named the Outstanding Wrestling of the Tournament. Ken Taylor was the captain of the team, finishing second in the nation while earning All-American honors. Taylor is a long-time High School wrestling coach in Colorado, and currently at Rocky Mountain H.S. in Fort Collins.

1973 Adams State Wrestling Team

Led by new Head Coach Louie Long, Adams State went back to back, winning the 1973 NAIA National Wrestling Championship at Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa. Chuck Jean also went back-to-back, claiming the 177-pound individual national championship. In all, Jean achieved the rare feat of winning four national championships. In 1969 and 1970, Jean claimed the Division I national title at 177, before leaving Iowa State for the Army. Mike Allison was the national champion in the 190-pound weight class. Allison went on to become the wrestling coach at Montezuma-Cortez High School.

1975 Adams State Wrestling Team

Adams State Wrestling made it three national championships in four years as they captured the 1975 NAIA National Wrestling Championship at Morningside College. In '75, Dr. Richard Ulrich was the head coach. Craig Kelso captured the individual National Championship in the 190-pound weight class, his son Joe, is currently a wrestler at Adams State. Ray Luna and Tom Cortez also earned All-America honors. Cortez is now the wrestling coach at Brighton High School. Ron Buffo has the unique distinction of being a part of three-national championship teams in '72, '73 and '75.

1976 Adams State Wrestling Team

Now called a dynasty, the Adams State Wrestling made it four national championships in five years, winning the 1976 NAIA National Championship at Edinboro University in Pennsylvania. Kelso went back to back, winning the 190-pound national title. Jim Wood was also an individual national champion in the 142-pound weight class. Henry Flores, John Flores and Tom Jean all earned All-American status. Coach Ulrich collected his second national championship in just three years as a head coach. He would earn another national title in 1980 as well. Dr. Ulrich went on to Puget Sound University as the Athletic Director, and remains that school's golf coach.

The other inductees are DeMarcos Anzures (Metro State basketball), Jon Baskin (Mesa State basketball), J.W. Campbell (Western State administrator), Pam DeCosta (Mesa State basketball) Bill Noxon (Western State football coach) and Byron "Whizzer" White (Colorado football).

The sixth annual Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Hall of Fame ceremony will be on Saturday, July 14, at the Silverwood Hotel and Conference Center at 505 Popes Bluff trail in Colorado Springs. Social hour will begin at 5 p.m. (MST), followed by dinner at 6 p.m. and the banquet at 7 p.m. To reserve a room at the Silverwood Hotel and Conference Center, call (719) 244-3858. For more information on the Hall of Fame ceremony, go to

The 2007 RMAC Hall of Fame class was chosen by a selection committee, comprised of Patti Arnold (Grand Junction Daily Sentinel), Eric Danner (RMAC), Marv Kay (Colorado School of Mines), Todd Kelly (CSU-Pueblo), Con Marshall (Chadron State College), Joan McDermott (Metropolitan State College of Denver), Sarah Meier (RMAC), Brad Smith (Chadron State College), Duane Smith (Fort Lewis College), and Joel Smith (RMAC).

Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.